Chachic's Book Nook

Comments and Such

39 Comments

Image from We Heart It

Let’s face it, most (if not all) bloggers love comments. Comments are like candy. We work hard on the posts that we put up and comments show that other people appreciate that effort. Also, it feels good to know that others out there feel just as strongly, whether it be positive or negative, about certain books. I love getting comments and it makes me sad when some of my posts don’t receive any. I feel like no one’s interested in that post even though I know that followers probably read it on their Google Reader but didn’t feel the need to say anything. Sometimes, it’s hard to come up with something better than “Great review! Thanks for sharing!” and I understand why people would rather not leave comments. Also, I know there are lurkers out there who are more comfortable with just following the blog and I’m okay with that.

I love leaving comments in other people’s blogs as well. Once I start following a certain blog, I usually leave a comment whenever that blogger features a book that I’ve read or I’m interested in. I don’t even know how many blogs are in my reader but I enjoy browsing through new posts every day. It makes my day when I comment on a certain blog and then the blogger returns the favor by checking out my blog and leaving a comment in one of the posts. I try to do that as well when someone new comments on my blog, I drop by their own blog too. Do the rest of you do that as well?

I reply to all of the blog comments in my blog, both in reviews and discussion posts. I know that not all book bloggers do this but one of the reasons why I chose WordPress was for the threaded comments. I think it encourages discussion and even non-bloggers leave comments from time to time. I’m curious if that’s really true, are you more likely to leave a comment when you know that the blogger will reply? Some of my favorite bloggers do that and I go back to their posts to check their replies just to know what else they have to say.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

39 thoughts on “Comments and Such

  1. Now, how could I not comment on this post? -grin-

    I am afraid I don’t blog consistently enough to have a following, but I have been thrilled with the few comments I have received. I do make a point of always responding to them.

    When I comment, I always click the follow-up option to see if anyone comments on my comment. That makes it more of a conversation.

    I don’t think I have ever left a negative comment. I don’t deal well with drama and some people seem to think it is okay to say things online they would never say face to face. If I don’t like something, I just ignore it.

    • I was hoping that a post about comments will encourage followers to comment. 😀

      It’s so much fun to receive comments, right? I don’t know if I should be glad that I only get a handful of comments per post so it’s not that hard to reply to them or if I’d be happier with more comments.

      Me too, I try to stay away from all the drama. I want my blog to be a happy place and a stress reliever from real life so I don’t do negative comments either.

      • At one time, I kept a record of the comments I made.

        Although I liked it, I found that I was not commenting on sites because of the extra step of recording it.

        I gave it up after about a year.

      • I don’t think I’ll be able to keep track of all the comments that I make. I’m not surprised that you gave up doing that. 😛

  2. I’m one of those who have a hard time commenting on something other than “great review”, because most of the books you review are books I haven’t read yet.:)

    One of the things I love about your blog is that you do reply to all comments. I suppose in a way, I’m one of those who appreciates it when a blogger responds to my comments.

    Just wondering though, do you mind it if people just leave the same comments (i.e. thanks for the review) on your reviews?

    • Don’t worry, I don’t mind getting comments like those. It’s just harder for me to reply to them sometimes. I shouldn’t be picky because I do that all the time as well although I usually go with “this review made me add this book to my wishlist” when I comment in other blogs because it’s true.

      I appreciate that you still comment on most of posts, Celina, even though we always exchange emails. 🙂

  3. Commenting is fun. ‘Nuff said. LOL. Actually, when I follow someone’s blog/journal, I usually only reply to the posts where I feel that I’ll be able to contribute to the discussion (and once that discussion’s been started, I have a difficult time slowing down). Sometimes though, even when I don’t know a thing about the topic of the post but it’s something that I feel would interest me given the chance, I do leave a comment tsaying as much.

    • I have witnessed how enthusiastic you are when it comes to commenting. 😛 Which is why I think it would be a great idea for you to start a blog. You’d be able to discuss more and interact with other people that way. Thanks for commenting on my posts, by the way. I can’t even remember how you discovered my blog (was it through Celina?) but it’s always good to know someone who likes the same books that I do.

      • Saw your comments in celina’s multiply store, but I think it was a google search for Seer of Sevenwaters that pointed me to the blog.

        LOL. I just love a good discussion. It’s a holdover from my LJ days when my LJ friends and I used to discuss the relative merits of different manga/anime and music. Was a member of several fantasy and fandom-related communities in LJ as well. ^_^;; *sweatdrops*

      • Oh good to know that blog turns up when there’s a search for any of the Sevenwaters books. 🙂

        LOL, I still have my LJ account but I don’t login anymore but I remember those LJ days. Although my friends and I didn’t really discuss much of anything except what was going on in our lives.

  4. Great thread discussion Chachic. I love it when I get comments on my posts. I usually do not comment on the comments that other people leave on my blog. But I am trying to change that. I also visit the person who commented on my blog and check out their blog.

    • Hi Ashley, I know that not all bloggers reply to the comments on their blog but I think it’s a way of showing our appreciation that others took the time out to read our post and say something about it. Although it’s really up to you if you want to reply since it’s your blog. 🙂

  5. I’m a new blog follower but I think this is my first comment on your blog. I try to visit and comment on 5 or so blogs daily. Love that comments make the blog experience more interactive. I visit & comment on all blogs that have taken the time to comment on mine.
    I’m more likely to comment on a book review of a book I’ve read, or one I’m interested in reading.
    Thanks for the discussion topic!

    • Hi thereadingdate, welcome to the blog! Hope you’re liking the posts. 🙂 There are times when I comment on more than 5 blogs per day while there are times when I don’t comment on anything. It really depends on whether there’s anything substantial that I could say.

      Me too, I’m more likely to comment on reviews of books that I’ve read (especially if it’s a favorite) and ones that are on my wishlist.

  6. I love to comment on posts. I admit that I sometimes do the “great post” comment, especially when I’m not sure what to say. But I try to comment on the blogs I read regularly. It’s nice to know that comments are read and taken seriously.

    • Like I said in a reply above, I don’t mind getting those “great post” comments but I just have a hard time trying to come up with a suitable reply. When I can’t think of anything in particular to say but I want to comment, I go with a variation of “great post” like maybe “brilliant review”, “excellent discussion” and so on. 😛

  7. I have something like 200 blogs in my Google Reader, so I don’t comment on all of them.

    Usually I’ll comment on ones where I’ve read the book, or where the content of the post makes me want to read the book.

    It’s not that I don’t appreciate the other posts, it’s just that I don’t feel like a constant stream of “great post” comments from me helps move the conversation forward.

    Plus, I get a ton of spam comments on my neglected professional blog and they’re all of the “Wow, you are such an amazing blogger! Come check out my site selling tennis shoes.” variety, so I tend to feel that praise without additional content looks like spam.

    However, I loooooove getting comments on my own blog. It reminds me I’m not just talking into the void!

    • I do the same thing too. I don’t comment on all of the blogs that I follow, just the posts that I could relate to. Whenever I comment, I try to post something beyond “great post” to show that I’m really interested in what the blogger had to say.

      It reminds me I’m not just talking into the void! -> yes to this 🙂

      I’m trying to access your blog to view your posts but the office is blocking it so I’ll try to drop by when I get home later.

  8. Comments are a bit like candy, not necessary but they always make me smile.

    I usually only comment on a review if I’ve read the book in question and have something I feel is substantial to say. I’ll also comment if the person’s review has made me want to read the book.

    I like commenting on your discussion posts because you begin interesting discussions and there is little chance of them becoming a drama fest. I avoid the drama fest discussions like the plague.

    • Comments are really like candy. Just like books are like chocolates (not candy because I like chocolates more).

      Same here! I usually leave a comment when I’ve already read the book being featured just to share what I thought of it. I also comment when a review convinces me to get the book as soon as I can.

      I try to stay away from all the drama that happens in the blogosphere and I’m thankful that I’ve never been involved in any of them.

  9. I do gravitate towards blogs that reply to my comments. I think one of the main reasons why I follow book blogs is the interaction among kindred souls.Through book blogs I get the chance to have some book-related conversations (there isn’t any book club/groups here that I may know of and I only know about 3 bookish people & I don’t regularly get the chance to talk to them.)If you love getting comments as a blogger. I love receiving replies as a reader! 🙂

    • That’s one of the reasons why I started a book blog. I love talking about the books that I read and I can’t do that with real life friends because we don’t read the same kind of books. With book blogging, I’ve discovered other bloggers from all over the world who have the same taste in books as I do. Glad to know that you get your bookish fix by commenting on book blogs. 🙂

  10. shoot. I just tried to reply to the comment you just so nicely left at my place, and blogger had a hissy fit. SIGHHHHHHHH.

    • I am laughing at this comment right now, LOL at blogger’s hissy fit! Don’t worry, at least I know that you read my comment. Hope your Mixed-Up Files reading with your son is going well. 🙂

  11. You are correct about comments being blogger candy. I did a review on some Donita K. Paul books and the author herself commented on my review. I was stoked! lol 🙂 anyways, I don’t read many blogs, even though I blog myself. But I love your blogs, though I’m guilty of getting too busy to read them and then having to do a catch up. Keep them coming! I always comment to you on facebook too, cuz sometimes I don’t make it to your blog cuz I’m busy. Sorry.

    • I get giddy when an author replies to any of my posts because that rarely happens and it feels great when you know that an author read your review. What’s more common is a Twitter reply from an author but I still get excited when I receive those. 😀

      Don’t worry about getting to busy to read my posts, they’ll always be there for you whenever you’re available. Thanks for all your comments on the Facebook page.

  12. You hit the nail on the head, sometimes (well… lots of times) I dunno how to reply other than “Thanks for sharing!” and seeing as a couple of people already left the same sentiments just discourages me from posting the exact same thing. So mostly I just comment on the posts I can participate in better.

    Yes, I’m likely to leave a comment if the blogger will reply (it makes me feel that my comment is read and appreciated).

    • Well, like I said in another reply above, you could go for a variation of “thanks for sharing” like “this is really interesting and I’m glad you decided to write a post about it” or “I had fun reading this”, etc.

      In general, I think all bloggers appreciate comments. 🙂

  13. I used to not leave too many comments in blogs even if I’ve read the books they posted about already because I tend to lurk around. I’ve learned to stop lurking, though and leave comments because like you said, it feels really nice to get them. 🙂 I do try to make sure I have something to say in the comments save for the usual “great review!”. It requires a little more time and brain power, but I think it’s always worth it to leave a heartfelt comment. 🙂

    • If you’re a blogger, I think it’s a good idea to comment on other people’s blogs because they get to know you through those comments. 🙂 I was a lurker before I started my blog but as soon as I became one, I comment on all the posts that interest me. Yes, heartfelt comments take time and effort but like I said, comments are like candy. 😀

  14. Love this discussion post, Chachic! I meant to comment a few days ago but didn’t have the time I wanted to put into it.

    I should probably learn to be different, but comments can make or break a day for me sometimes, especially when I spend extra time on a review and then I don’t get a single comment! But I’ve realized that sometimes it’s the posts you’ve spent the least amount of time on that you’ll get the most comments on – so you should enjoy those and realize that lack of comments doesn’t mean your post wasn’t good. Sometimes, in fact, I may get a response from the author through twitter/email/facebook that makes the review so worth it even though no one else commented. 🙂

    I used to lurk a lot too before I had my own blog but things really changed when I realized how much it means to receive comments. If anything it’s a great incentive for leaving them.

    Thanks again for the great post!

    • Oh I know what you mean about how comments can make or break a day for you because there are times when I’m like that as well. There really isn’t a way to determine what kind of posts will generate more comments so I think we should just stick to what interests us and hope that other people will find it interesting as well.

      Yes, if a post doesn’t have any comments, it doesn’t mean that it isn’t good. I’ve accepted the fact that blog doesn’t have that many followers so I really can’t get as many comments as other blogs. Also, I love author responses! One of the reasons why I signed up for Twitter. 😀

      I used to lurk too before I started my own blog and then I realized it would be easier to interact with the bloggers that I follow if I had a blog of my own. So glad we both decided to start our own blogs because we wouldn’t have “met” otherwise. 🙂

  15. I really like it when a blog has the “subscribe to replies to this comment” option because I can’t necessarily remember where and when I have commented, I follow so many blogs. But I agree that I like to comment whenever I can and I love getting comments on my own blog.

    • Oh I know what you mean. That’s one thing that I miss about Livejournal, they send you an email when someone replies to your comment. I wish there was something like that for all blog sites.

  16. I agree – comments are definitely like candy. Sometimes I get nervous about my blog because it’s all…well, eye-candy, you know? I know I can go in-depth about design, but sometimes I try to see it from a reader’s perspective…if some of the things I say are really all that comment-worthy.

    But I do love comments. I don’t reply to all comments, but I try most of the time. Sometimes I see other blogs where people will ask questions and I see that the blogger hasn’t responded. That’s really annoying. I understand not replying to a comment, but a question? Really?

    But bloggers stalk their own blogs. They swear up and down that they read every one of their comments. And I have NO DOUBT that they do. But sometimes I feel like bloggers are so obsessed with seeing those comments, it’s like jotting down hash marks on an imaginary scorecard. The bloggers who comment back to their readers have a different sort of presence in my RSS reader. They’re not about the “how many posts can I blast out a week.” They’re there to foster relationship, discussion, and they focus on the quality of the content versus the quantity. And I love that.

    Also, there are some blogs where I’ve commented and I’ve never received a response on their blog, but I get emails responding to my comment or a chat message or a text or a tweet. So some bloggers respond to their commenters differently.

    I just read a really great post from Sommer Leigh’s blog (do you subscribe to her?). She touches on comments and how there are blogs that just aren’t friendly for them. Which is sad, but true. http://sommerleigh.com/archives/3238

    Then there are blogs that I read that are so long and so well-written, by the time I’m done reading them I don’t know what to say. I just want to give the blog post a hug or high five. Sometimes I’ll write something silly in the comments just to say hello, too. There’s no harm in cheerful irrelevant comments, right? 😉

    • Whoa, long comment! Good thing you warned me on Twitter. But I love it though. 🙂 I love getting comments that really answer the questions that I throw out and even encourage further discussion. Your blog is amazing but I know what you mean. There are times when it’s hard for someone like me to comment on your blog because I don’t want to keep saying “Gorgeous cover!” all of the time,

      If I ever get too many comments that I won’t have time to reply to them, I would still reply to the questions. That’s not a problem that I have with my blog right now because I can still manage to reply to all of the comments here.

      LOL at bloggers stalking their own blogs. That is absolutely true! Sometimes, I think that comments matter more than blog stats. I feel worse if I don’t receive a single comment on a post than when my stats are down. And yes, some bloggers come up with quality posts while others are more concerned with posting as often as they could to increase their stats.

      Yep, some bloggers are like that. I’ve gotten some replies through emails and tweets sometimes and I appreciate that too.

      I read the post and I think it’s great. She brought up a lot of valid points. I really don’t like blogs that are too cluttered and take too long to load. That discourages me from commenting or visiting again.

      I agree, no harm in leaving cheerful, irrelevant comments. 😛 They’s still classified as candy.

  17. Pingback: Comments are like candy (or chocolate) | Chachic's Book Nook

  18. Pingback: My Commenting Habits | Chachic's Book Nook

  19. Pingback: Comments are like chocolate | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

