Want Books: Practical Magic

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I keep saying that I want to read more magic realism books because of Sarah Addison Allen. Aside from SAA, I haven’t had to chance pick up anything else that falls under that genre. I thought it would be a good idea to start with Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman since I remember enjoying the movie when I watched it years ago. I can’t recall the details anymore but maybe I can watch it again after I finish reading the novel. Also, Alice Hoffman has a lot of magic realism books and I’m curious about her writing.

Here’s the summary from Alice Hoffman’s website:

For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been blamed for everything that went wrong in their Massachusetts town. Gillian and Sally endured that fate: As children, the sisters were forever outsiders, taunted, talked about, pointed at. Their elderly aunts almost seemed to encourage the whispers of witchery, with their darkened house and their love concoctions and their crowd of black cats. All Gillian and Sally wanted to do was escape. One would do so by marrying, the other by running away. But the bonds they shared brought them back to each other, and to the magic they couldn’t escape. A delicious novel about witches and real love, family life and everyday spells. A literary incantation.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

9 thoughts on “Want Books: Practical Magic

  1. I really love her work so I’m surprised that I haven’t of this one. Shame on me! xD Hmmm I can’t wait to read Crossed By Aly Condie for one, and Wolfsbane. Wanted to say that I love your blog, not to mention your layout is just ridiculously awesome. Happy reading πŸ™‚

    • Hey Aly, what’s your favorite Alice Hoffman book? I’m surprised that you haven’t heard of this one, not even of the movie?

      Aww thanks for the compliment! I try to keep my blog layout simple and easy to look at.

    • I found and read Practical Magic right after seeing the movie. Keeping in mind Hollywood’s tendency to rewrite a plot till only the characters and the background are the same, both movie and book are excellent in their different ways.

    • Ashley, I’ve been curious about the book ever since I found out that it exists. I’m pretty sure I didn’t know about it when I watched the movie.

      George, that’s good to hear! I can’t remember the movie that much anyway so I wouldn’t have any expectations of the book. I’ll probably just watch it again after I get the chance to read the novel.

      • Do. As I said, they’re both good reads. The book is much more serious than the movie, which becomes a bit of an action-thriller in the last half while the book remains a deep psychological study.

      • That sounds interesting! I really want to read more magic realism books because of Sarah Addison Allen and this one seems similar to the premise of her Garden Spells.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

