Want Books: Cracked Up to Be

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Holly’s recent review of Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers reminded me that I’ve never read anything by this author and I don’t know why because I’ve heard nothing but good things about her. I believe Cracked Up to Be is her first novel so I thought it would be a good idea to start with this one. It doesn’t hurt that I’m liking this cover, I think it’s a good one for a contemporary YA novel. The greens are pleasant to look at. I haven’t even checked if Courtney Summers’ novels are available in local bookstores. Must do that soon.

Here’s the summary from Courtney Summers’ website:

When “Perfect” Parker Fadley starts drinking at school and failing her classes, all of St. Peter’s High goes on alert. How has the cheerleading captain, girlfriend of the most popular guy in school, consummate teacher’s pet, and future valedictorian fallen so far from grace? Parker doesn’t want to talk about it. She’d just like to be left alone, to disappear, to be ignored. But her parents have placed her on suicide watch and her counselors are demanding the truth. Worse, there’s a nice guy falling in love with her and he’s making her feel things again when she’d really rather not be feeling anything at all. Nobody would have guessed she’d turn out like this. But nobody knows the truth. Something horrible has happened, and it just might be her fault.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Holly of Book Harbinger – The Returning by Christine Hinwood and some other books

10 thoughts on “Want Books: Cracked Up to Be

  1. this was my first courtney summer and i think its my fave even though i get why lots of people like some girls are better.

    i think you would enjoy this one Chachic 🙂

  2. I found a copy of Some Girls Are in Fully Booked Gateway. 🙂 I remember buying it after reading Holly’s review. I’m sure you’ll be able to find Cracked Up To Be in one branch somewhere. 🙂

  3. Tina bought Some Girls Are after reading my review? *beaming* Awesome.

    Nice pick! I do think you should read this and/or Some Girls Are. Good stuff. 🙂

    • LOL Holly, you shouldn’t be surprised – look, I featured this one in my Want Books post because of your review. I hope I get to read a Courtney Summers book soon. 🙂

  4. Courtney Summers is one of my absolute favorite authors! I haven’t done many reviews (the few I’ve done are on my tumblr and Goodreads) and CUTB was my very first “on another blog” review. I LOVE her work. And I hope you get to read it soon!

    • I really should hunt down copies of her books. I still haven’t gotten around to looking for them because of the huge TBR pile. I don’t know why I wasn’t that aware of her books when it seems like there are a lot of fans out there.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

