Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Finnikin of the Rock

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Finnikin of the Rock is the last remaining book by Melina Marchetta that I still haven’t read and considering how much I love her work, I should pick it up soon. It’s different from her other books because she branches out from contemporary to write fantasy and I’m curious where she’ll go with this one. I’ve seen mixed reviews so far so I really don’t know what to expect.

Here’s the summary from Melina Marchetta’s website:

At the age of nine, Finnikin is warned by the gods that he must sacrifice a pound of flesh in order to save the royal house of his homeland, Lumatere. And so he stands on the rock of three wonders with his childhood friend Prince Balthazar and the prince’s cousin, Lucian, and together they mix their blood. And Lumatere is safe.

Until the ‘five days of the unspeakable’, when the King and Queen and their children are slaughtered in the palace. And an imposter king takes the throne. And a curse is put on Lumatere, which traps those caught inside and forces thousands of others to roam the land as exiles, dying of fever and persecution in foreign camps.

But ten years later Finnikin is led to another rock to meet the young novice, Evanjalin. A girl plagued by dark dreams, who holds the key to their return to the Land of light…

What about you, what book is on your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Finnikin of the Rock

  1. I have an ARC of this but I’m not sure when (or if) I’ll get to it. I’ve heard mixed things from bloggers and readers I trust as well. Pretty cover though. I think I’d rather read The Piper’s Son as my next Marchetta.

    • Yes, the mixed reviews are probably the reason why it’s taken me so long to read this. But since it’s the last remaining Marchetta out there, I have a feeling I’ll get around to it eventually. I do hope you get to read The Piper’s Son soon, it was just as lovely as Jellicoe for me. 🙂

  2. I’m biased because I loved it, so anyone on the other side of the fence is crazy. How could you not like it? 😛 Awesome pick Chachic. I can’t wait for the nest one in this series.

    • Peep, I wonder why your name shows up as Admin? 😛 I know that you’re one of the bloggers who love this book. I’m curious how different Melina Marchetta’s writing is outside of her contemporary novels.

  3. I have this in my reading stack. My last unread Marchetta book. On my wishlist is the new book from Kirsty Eagar which comes out in August/Sept called Night Beach!

    • Me too, I’m curious about this one because it’s my last unread Marchetta. And I would totally read Kirsty Eagar’s latest if it becomes available internationally.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

