Want Books: The Returning or Bloodflower

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve seen other bloggers post about The Returning by Christine Hinwood, which is due to be released April 14 this year. I had no idea that it’s already available as Bloodflower and I’m trying to decide if I should wait for the US hardcover edition or if I should order the paperback. The US edition has a blurb from Megan Whalen Turner, saying “A beautiful representation of love and loyalty and the aftermath of war.” The Bloodflower edition has a blurb from Melina Marchetta saying, “I can’t tell you how much I loved this novel.” So you can see why it’s a tough decision for me, I love both MWT and Melina Marchetta and I like both of the cover designs. I think the US cover is more appropriate because it looks more peaceful and the story is about what comes after war rather than what occurs in battle. Although I may be wrong in that regard since I haven’t read the book. Help me decide by telling me which edition looks better for you. Also, if you’ve read this book, it would be great if you can tell me what you think of it.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Vivid, compassionate and totally absorbing, Bloodflower follows the fortunes of young Cam Attling and all those whose fates entwine with his.

Cam has a hunger, an always-hunger; it drives him from home, to war, from north to south. When he returns from war alone – all his fellow soldiers slain – suspicion swirls around him. He’s damaged in body and soul, yet he rides a fine horse and speaks well of his foes. What has he witnessed? Where does his true allegiance lie? How will life unfold for his little sister, his closest friend, his betrothed, his community, and even the enemy Lord who maimed him?

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Holly of Book HarbingerRaw Blue by Kirsty Eagar

17 thoughts on “Want Books: The Returning or Bloodflower

  1. Melina Marchetta likes this book too? Definitely a must read then! Tough decision but I love both the title and the cover of the US edition. The white and that tree! So pretty.

  2. I’m kinda interested in Bloodflower too. It;s an Aussie one and Melina Marchetta said it was one of her fave reads of the year (whenever it came out…)

    • Oh so it’s an Aussie edition. Maybe that’s why there’s a blurb from Melina Marchetta on the cover. I think it’s great that it’s internationally available. I might wait for the US edition though.

      • It’s been available in Australia for a few years now so I *think* the new edition on TBD is the US one with the same cover design.

  3. I want this book even more now that I know Melina Marchetta likes it as well. If two amazing authors think its awesome, it has to be awesome.

    I like the US cover better I think. This does not happen often but there it is. I have to say Bloodflower is a more intriguing title though.

    • Brandy, you’re right, this book is bound to be awesome. I’m excited to read it because two of my favorite authors have recommended it.

      Yes, Bloodflower is a better title and I wish they kept that for the US edition.

  4. US cover for me. The other cover looks too much like the cover for a historical romance novel. Then again, I should be happy that clinch covers aren’t so popular for romance covers anymore-now those were really disturbing! The starkness of the tree and the lone figure on horseback set against that bluish-grey sky just seem to jive better with the cover blurb you posted though. More symbolic maybe?

    • LOL really? It didn’t even occur to me that the Aussie edition looked like a historical romance novel. Yes, the US cover is more in line with the description of the book that I found. I might pre-order that one from the Book Depository if Fully Booked doesn’t have it in their database.

    • Well, the Aussie edition *would* look like a historical romance cover if they’d used a somewhat brawnier arm on the photo? πŸ˜›

      I’ve notice that there’s been this trend in romance covers to use partial photos of a model’s (or two models’) bodies on the cover art. Usually they just lop off the heads but sometimes they do torso shots (with brawnier, and sometimes less clothed models) like the one on this cover too.

      • Maybe if they featured a naked torso? It doesn’t look like a historical romance cover with just an arm. πŸ˜›

        I think that in general, partial photos are popular nowadays. Sometimes, they cut off the head or even just the eye and forehead area.

    • Ugh. That’s noticed and not notice. I’m a self-admitted grammar nazi. but for some reason I always have typos in blog posts/comments/emails. Probably because I’m too lazy to proofread those? Hee.

  5. Yes, yes! I want this one too. Can’t remember how far back I saw it, but I kept checking bookish sites to see if the release date might have been pushed up.

    • I think the release date is still the same – April 14, 2011. That’s next week already! Hmm maybe I should pre-order from the Book Depository soon.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

