Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: The Peach Keeper

9 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I love Sarah Addison Allen’s books and I’ve reviewed all of them here on the blog. The Peach Keeper is one of my anticipated releases this year. I’ve seen reviews from Angie and Danielle and these just made me want to read it more. It’s been released in the States but as usual, we still don’t have copies in local bookstores. I already have a reservation so I hope it gets here soon because I’m ready to fall in love with one of her books again.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

It’s the dubious distinction of thirty-year-old Willa Jackson to hail from a fine old Southern family of means that met with financial ruin generations ago. The Blue Ridge Madam — built by Willa’s great-great-grandfather during Walls of Water’s heyday, and once the town’s grandest home — has stood for years as a lonely monument to misfortune and scandal. And Willa herself has long strived to build a life beyond the brooding Jackson family shadow. No easy task in a town shaped by years of tradition and the well-marked boundaries of the haves and have-nots.

But Willa has lately learned that an old classmate — socialite do-gooder Paxton Osgood — of the very prominent Osgood family, has restored the Blue Ridge Madam to her former glory, with plans to open a top-flight inn. Maybe, at last, the troubled past can be laid to rest while something new and wonderful rises from its ashes. But what rises instead is a skeleton, found buried beneath the property’s lone peach tree, and certain to drag up dire consequences along with it.

For the bones—those of charismatic traveling salesman Tucker Devlin, who worked his dark charms on Walls of Water seventy-five years ago—are not all that lay hidden out of sight and mind. Long-kept secrets surrounding the troubling remains have also come to light, seemingly heralded by a spate of sudden strange occurrences throughout the town.

Now, thrust together in an unlikely friendship, united by a full-blooded mystery, Willa and Paxton must confront the dangerous passions and tragic betrayals that once bound their families — and uncover truths of the long-dead that have transcended time and defied the grave to touch the hearts and souls of the living.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Kim – The Last Unicorn, Joyce Ballou Gregorian’s Tregana trilogy

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Want Books: The Peach Keeper

  1. I also have my eye on this one! I hope I can keep myself from ordering it online and just wait patiently until it hits the local bookstores. 😛

    • I’ve been checking all three major local bookstores the past few days and they still don’t have it. I already have a reservation in Fully Booked, I hope they get it soon.

  2. I recently got her first book off the tartan fiction table at National, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet (though it looks like it’ll be an easy read). This one sounds interesting too.

    As for books on my wishlist, I am hopelessly wishing for a copy of the deluxe hardcover edition of The Last Unicorn that ROC and B&N released last 2007 (which flew under my radar because I already own a copy of The Last Unicorn), since it contains the sequel short story Two Hearts.

    Another book (well, books actually) that has been on my wishlist for a long time is Joyce Ballou Gregorian’s Tregana trilogy (The Broken Citadel, Castledown, The Great Wheel). I have had the middle book for the past ten years (a Booksale find that caught my eye because the cover artist looked to be the same as the one who did the cover of my old Ace edition of The Blue Sword), but could never find the first or the third book during any of my subsequent Booksale visits. It seems to crop up a lot in people’s great fantasy or top 100 fantasy lists, though it’s been out-of-print for close to two decades already. I think I’m close to acquiring a set in very good condition already, assuming that my aunt in Canada agrees to help me out, that is.

    • Wow, you got a bargain copy of Garden Spells? That’s a great find! I plan to get a hardcover edition of it because I have hardcovers of The Sugar Queen and Girl Who Chased the Moon. I’ll probably get a hardcover of The Peach Keeper as well.

      I included the books that you mentioned in the Want Books roundup. I hope you find a way to get them soon. When there’s an out of print book that I want, I try to ask Celina if she could get it for me. 😀

      • Hehehe. That’s why I love it when National brings out the tartan books tables. But that only works for me if I happen to have chanced upon them the first few days they were on display, since the kind of books that I like aren’t the multiple copies stocked in libraries type.

  3. Angie’s review of this made me want to run out and buy anything by Sarah Addison Allen. I’ve really waited too long. I’m going to start with Garden Spells and get to it as soon as possible. 😉

    • Holly, I hope you get to read one of her books soon! Garden Spells is my favorite out of all of them but I enjoyed reading the others. *waits anxiously to hear what you think of them*

  4. this sounds like my kind of read 🙂 adding it to my wish list 🙂

    I don’t even know what’s on my wishlist at the moment! I have a huge stash of library books I am wading through and trying not to buy anything, haha. so far, I’ve only bought 3 books this year 😀

    • Nomes, have you ever tried reading any Sarah Addison Allen book? I have a feeling you’ll like her! I hope you get to read one of her books soon and that you’ll post a review.

      Me too, I can only keep track of my wishlist through my Goodreads shelf. Wow, you’ve only bought 3 books this year? I’m so jealous! Wish we had good public libraries over here.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

