Looking for New Adult Lit Recommendations

I think it’s pretty obvious based on what I post here on the blog that I’m a fan of contemporary YA fiction. But what I realized is that I tend to like novels that feature older YA protagonists more than books from the younger YA spectrum. I found out about the term New Adult Literature from Steph Su one day on Twitter and I’ve been curious about books that fall under that genre ever since. New Adult includes books that focus on college students and young professionals – characters who are in their late teens or early twenties. Some of these characters may be studying in universities, getting postgrad degrees, looking for that perfect first job or adjusting to life in general as a new adult. I searched in Goodreads for a list that includes books like these but found none so I created a New Adult Lit list. If you have any recommendations, feel free to add to the list. I’d love to see the list expand with more books. If you don’t have a Goodreads account, just leave a comment with your suggestion.

On a side note, you might want to vote for this list for Politically themed YA novels as well. I didn’t create that list but would love to get more books similar to the ones already listed. I love political intrigue, especially if it’s done in a YA fantasy setting.

11 thoughts on “Looking for New Adult Lit Recommendations

  1. I have never heard of New Adult. Must be a really new idea. I can see that people may want to read about slightly older YA rather than the 14-16 year old protagonists.

    I’m not sure I can offer any suggestions, except The Secret History by Donna Tartt which is a murder mystery at a college with the students as main characters

    • I think it’s pretty new because I tried Googling about it and not a lot of results turned up.

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll go check it out. I think I can’t add a book in a Goodreads list though unless it’s included in my own shelves.

  2. Interesting…haven’t heard the term New Adult Lit. I was going to suggest The Secret Society Girl series (which I hope you get to read soon), but it’s already on the list.

    I think some books that fall under the Chick Lit can be categorized under this too. I just can’t think of anything at the moment, lol.:)

    • LOL yes, the Secret Society Girl books have already been added. I know, I really should read that soon.

      I read an article that said that the New Adult classification is just a way to bring back chick lit and make it popular again, which is interesting. I hope New Adult takes off and becomes just as popular as YA.

      • Haha, really? It does kind of make sense though, since I think there are some people who get turned off by the term Chick Lit. Speaking of which, The Devil Wears Prada is one of the chick lit books I think fits the description of this genre (I haven’t actually read the book though).:D

  3. I have added 7 books to the list! I hope that the SF slant in my choices is OK? I listed the books I could think of where the protagonists were in college or college-aged or late teens, and I put in explanations of why I picked them.

    • No problem! I think some of the other books that are already on the list are fantasy? Thanks for adding books to the list, I didn’t even think to add Cold Magic.

  4. I’m contemplating if I should add DARKSHIP THIEVES to the list. The heroine is supposed to be 19, but she reads as much older, which is what is keeping me back. It’s almost like she’s in her mid to late 20s. OK, I think I won’t add it.

  5. This is not a useful recommendation, but boy, if I had a dollar for every time I re-read the Sue Barton series (mid-20th century of a girl training to be a nurse and her professional life as one) I’d be quite a bit richer. That sort of career story was tremendously popular back then–and then it seems to have fallen off the face of the earth from the sixties on….(at least, I think so!). It’s interesting that New Adult books might be becoming popular again, and probably is a Profound Indication of something…

    • That sounds like an excellent series. Too bad it’s out of print now. 😦 I hope they reprint it. I find it funny that you said the emergence of New Adult books is a “Profound Indication” of something – it probably is!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

