Chachic's Book Nook

Knife by R.J. Anderson

14 Comments

Knife by R.J. Anderson was published as Spell Hunter in the US and is the first book in the Faery Rebels series. I got the UK edition because I think it looks much better than the US one and the UK covers for all the books in the series match. The picture below doesn’t do the cover justice because it’s a lot nicer in person – the blue stands out against the black and the print is shiny. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, especially from Sounisians because I believe R.J. Anderson is a member of that LJ community.

Here’s the summary from R.J. Anderson’s website:

There are humans at the bottom of the garden, and a glimpse inside their forbidden House convinces the fierce young faery hunter known as Knife that they have knowledge that could help her dying people.

But if the human world has so much to offer, why is the faery Queen determined to keep her people away from it? Is there a connection between the House and the faeries’ loss of magic? And why is Knife so drawn to the young Paul McCormick — that strangest of creatures, a human male?

I know there are a lot of YA faery series out there – I’ve given several a try but I stopped with just the first book in most of them because I feel like they weren’t for me. Knife was different because I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and I’m glad that I already have a copy of Rebel. Ever since Bryony was a young faery, she’s had this longing to go outside the Oak to discover what’s out there. In this series, fairies are small creatures so they’re scared of crows, foxes and even cats and dogs. Humans are viewed as monstrous creatures intent on harming them. However, Bryony doesn’t understand why her people aren’t brave enough to fight back. She gets the chance to prove herself when she’s apprenticed to the Queen’s Hunter – the person responsible for protecting the Gatherers who reluctantly leave the Oak to collect food. The Hunter also provides whatever meat, skins and fur that she can acquire. When Bryony takes over the position of Queen’s Hunter, she chooses to change her name to Knife.

I really liked the faery world created by R.J. Anderson and I think it’s my favorite so far out of all the faery series that I’ve read. It was interesting to note the similarities and differences in this world and other faery lore. I can’t reveal much without mentioning spoilers but I really liked how the faeries’ magic worked. Knife is such a feisty heroine. She’s inquisitive even as a child and she questions the rules of the Oak. There’s a mystery behind that and why her people lost most of their magic and Knife is determined to find out more about it. She’s different from all the other fairies because she’s not content with the status quo. She’s willing to take risks even if it involves endangering herself. It was fun to see everything through Knife’s eyes as she tentatively explores the world beyond the Oak and the humans that live in the House. I really liked how the friendship between Knife and Paul, a human teen, developed – initially, they were just curious about how different they are from each other but eventually, they connect and bond over common interests like their fascination with art. I highly recommend Knife to fans of faery stories and MG/YA fantasy readers. Like I said, I’m looking forward to reading Rebel and I have a feeling I’ll be purchasing Arrow soon (I’ve seen it in local bookstores).

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Reading Vacation
The Story Siren
Random Musings of a Bibliophile
Angieville
Steph Su Reads

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “Knife by R.J. Anderson

  1. I’m with you on the cover – the UK one is much nicer! I have the US cover, but I probably wouldn’t have gotten it if you hadn’t mentioned before that it was the same as Knife.

    I’ll definitely bump this up my TBR. I’m always up for a good faery book.:)

    • The US and the UK editions look like different books, don’t they? They have different titles and covers. I’m glad that the UK edition is now more accessible because of the Book Depository. 🙂 I was actually surprised when I saw Arrow in Fully Booked.

      Oh yeah, I remember that you like faery stories. I hope you get to read this soon!

  2. I bought this while I was in England just to get the better cover. When I told the clerk, she said, “You just said the right thing,” and gave me a couple of bookmarks featuring the cover art.

    I still need to get REBEL and ARROW, however.

    • I’m jealous of those bookmarks that you got! They’re probably really pretty. But I’m glad I have the UK edition of Rebel and I’m planning to get a copy of Arrow soon. 🙂

  3. I really like the world R.J. Anderson has created with these fairies too. The scope is larger and extends to all the fairies in England in the next two books.

    • Hey Brandy, I know you’re a fan of this series. I remember how enthusiastic your review of the first two books was. I really should pick up Arrow already so I could read it right after Rebel. I am glad that the books in the series have different main characters so they don’t have cliffhanger endings.

  4. Pingback: Want Books: Arrow « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Oh, I do love the cover for the UK edition. And the title as well. You’re right about fairy novels-they’re very hit or miss and right now I’m kind of burned out on them.

    • I really love the UK editions for the books in this series, so pretty!

      There are so many faery stories out there that you just get burned out by all of them, kind of like vampires too. If you’re ever in the mood for a faery tale again, I hope you give R.J. Anderson’s books a try. 🙂

  6. This sounds interesting, Chachic! Is it on the younger side of the YA spectrum?

  7. Pingback: Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Retro Friday: Blackbringer by Laini Taylor « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

