Crazy for You by Jennifer Crusie

It’s funny because I claim to be a Jennifer Crusie fan and I’ve read several of her books but I don’t think I’ve ever posted a review here on the blog. Whenever I feel unenthusiastic about reading any of my books, I go for a Crusie because I know that it will get me out of a slump. It might not be obvious because I’m still posting reviews and discussion posts but when it comes to reading, I’ve been somewhat lazy the past couple of weeks. I knew I could jumpstart my reading with Crazy for You.

Here’s the summary from Jennifer Crusie’s website:

Quinn McKenzie has always lived what she calls a “beige” life. She’s dating the world’s nicest guy, she had a good job as a high school art teacher, she’s surrounded by family and friends who rely on her, and she’s bored to the point of insanity. But when Quinn decides to changes her life by adopting a stray dog over everyone’s objections, everything begins to spiral out of control. Now she’s coping with dog-napping, breaking and entering, seduction, sabotage, stalking, more secrets than she really wants to know, and two men who are suddenly crazy… for her.

Quinn has always been known as the calm one and someone who can be counted on in moments of crisis. But now she’s bored with her life and she wants to be more like her adventurous sister, Zoe. She doesn’t necessarily want to shake things up, she just wants a small thing: to adopt a stray dog. Little does she know how that dog will cause so many changes, not just in her own life, but in the lives of everyone close to her as well. It was easy to relate to Quinn and how she felt like there’s nothing new or exciting in her life anymore. I think most people come to that point at least once in their lives (as evidenced by how Quinn’s best friend and mother were influenced to reevaluate their lives when Quinn did). I guess that’s why people decide to try out new things like maybe a hobby. In Quinn’s case, she just wants her own pet. Also, yay for Quinn being a fellow dog-lover. 😀

What I like about Jennifer Crusie’s novels is that even though she writes contemporary romances, the focus of her stories are still the characters. All of her characters are fully fleshed out, even the secondary ones. In most chick lit or romance books, physical appearances often become important aspects of the attraction between the hero and heroine. I noticed that in the Crusie books that I’ve read, it’s more about who the characters are rather than what they look like. It’s the personalities that stand out more than anything else. Also, most of them are pretty quirky characters so there’s a lot of humor in Crusie’s books. If you’re a fan of chick lit or contemporary romances and you’ve never given Jennifer Crusie a try, you really should pick up one of her books. Aside from Julie James, she’s my only other favorite author in the genre. I’m saving up the rest of her books for whenever I feel like I need a pick-me-up. I know a lot of people are familiar with Crusie’s work so to those who’ve read her books, what are your favorites?

Other reviews: (manually generated)
See Michelle Read
Books from the Addict
Books, Books and more Books

6 thoughts on “Crazy for You by Jennifer Crusie

  1. I have not read anything by this author, though I do have some if her books on my wishlist. Crazy for You sounds like a fun read. I need a light novel like this, right now.

    • Hey Misha, if you’re new to Jennifer Crusie, then I recommend Bet Me because that’s my favorite out of all her books. Welcome to Temptation is really good as well.

  2. The next time I’m in the mood for light romance I will giver this author a try. I don’t read much chick lit because I prefer character driven stories and there is not much of that to be found in chick lit. I’m happy to have a recommendation to go with now.

    • Brandy, I think I initially got the recommendation from the LJ community Athanarel and I didn’t give it a try until last year when I saw that other book bloggers were reading her books. I don’t read a lot of chick lit either but I’m always on the look out for good ones.

  3. OMG, I freaking love this book. I thought that the romance that blossomed between Quinn and Nick was too cute for words and I wanted my very own Nick. This is one of my comfort reads that I re-read every few years, it’s always good to go back and read this one. Jennifer Crusie sure knows how to write those contemporary romances that stay with you long after you’ve put the book down.

    • Bet Me is still my favorite Crusie but I’ve enjoyed reading the rest of her books. I think there are still a couple of books in her backlist that I haven’t gone through – I’m saving them up for when I feel like a reading slump is about to happen. She’s one of my favorite discoveries last year and I’m glad she has a huge backlist. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

