Want Books: The City in the Lake

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

When it comes to choosing books to buy, I usually go with book blogger recommendations. So when Ana and Thea of The Book Smugglers reviewed The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier, I was immediately curious. Check out what Thea had to say about the book:

For fans of Juliet Marillier, Patricia McKillip, Robin McKinley, and Sharon Shinn, looking for that next fix of luscious, romantic, flawless fantasy? Look no further – Rachel Neumeier’s The City in the Lake is for you.

I’m a fan of the writing of all of the authors that she mentioned. After reading the review, I called Fully Booked and it’s available there so yay! I had a copy reserved and I hope I’ll be able to get it soon. I’ve been looking around the local bookstores, trying to decide what to buy with the gift cards that I currently have and I’m excited to buy a new book (as always).

Here’s the summary from Rachel Neumeier’s website:

The Kingdom’s Heart is the City. The City’s heart is the King. The King’s heart is the Prince. The Prince is missing.

Ever since the Prince disappeared, nothing has been right in the Kingdom. Something has disturbed the strange, old magic that whispers around its borders … something cunning and powerful. And the disturbance extends to the farthest reaches of the Kingdom, including the idyllic village where Timou is learning to be a mage under her father’s tutelage.

When Timou’s father journeys to the City to help look for the Prince, but never returns, Timou senses that the disturbance in the Kingdom is linked to her – and to the undiscovered heritage of the mother she never knew. She must leave her village, even if it means confronting powers greater than her own, even though what she finds may challenge everything she knows. Even if it means leaving love behind.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

13 thoughts on “Want Books: The City in the Lake

    • Charlotte, your review made me want to get the book more! I’m glad that you recommend it as well, I have a feeling I will really enjoy reading this one.

  1. Urk. I saw this book going for 100 pesos hardbound on the sale table during the last day of the recent Powerbooks sale last month. I should have gotten it! 😦

      • There were like 3 or 4 copies all sealed. Unfortunately, when I returned the first week of March, the sale table had been cleared out already. Powerbooks doesn’t seem to extend the displays for their markdown books like they used to anymore. 😦

      • I did but hadn’t read it until now. Wow. And I just got a copy from the library today! *happy* Any book that gets Marillier/Shinn comparisons, I’m so there. 🙂

      • Yay, you were able to borrow a copy from the library! I bought a copy after the Filipino Book Bloggers meet up although I’m not sure when I’ll be able to read it. If you get to read it before I do, let me know what you think. 😀

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

