Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Early Birthday Edition

45 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

So my birthday isn’t until the end of March but I met up with college friends yesterday and had a joint celebration with my friend whose birthday is today. Here in the Philippines, when it’s your birthday, you treat your friends to lunch or dinner. I know it’s the other way around in the States. The great thing about this set-up is I received several excellent gifts this weekend:

A cute long necklace with an owl pendant, gift certificates from my favorite local bookstore – Fully Booked, a portable book light and the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. All in all, a pretty good haul for an early birthday celebration. What did you get in your mailbox this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

45 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Early Birthday Edition

  1. Oh wow, it IS different over there–I’d be annoyed to take my friends out on MY birthday xD.

    But your gifts are lovely 🙂

  2. It’s the same in my country too.
    Happy Birthday in advance! I hope you get even more books 😀
    Enjoy your gifts!

  3. The Chaos Walking trilogy? Awesome. I hope you get to it soon. The pendant looks cute and GC’s are always nice. Happy Early Birthday!

    • Thanks, Holly! I knew you’d notice the Chaos Walking trilogy right away. I’m very curious about this series because you (and so many other people) loved it. I’m not much of a dystopian fan but I thought it would be a good idea to make an exception for this one.

  4. I LOVE that you’ve started celebrating your bday already 🙂 I had my bday in January but was so sick I couldn’t even eat and I haven’t gotten my presents yet! Everyone is waiting until I’m better before we celebrate.

    I think when finally get out to the shops i’ll pick up some books for myself 🙂

    haven’t read this series but am curious about it! Looking forward to seeing what you think of it!

    • Belated Happy Birthday, Nomes! 🙂 I hope you feel better soon so you can finally celebrate your birthday. And I do hope you receive lots of books as presents.

      Have you read The Hunger Games trilogy? They say that this series is even better so that makes me curious.

  5. Yay Chaos Walking! 🙂

    I’m the only one from my group of friends celebrating a birthday on March, so I’ve got quite a lot of mouths to feed for that day. Haha.

    • Hey, your birthday is in March too! When in March? 🙂 I have several groups of friends so I still have three birthday treats to go and then another one for my family. This is why I usually don’t have money in March!

      • 17th. 🙂 I have to feed my family, my teammates and then my friends, so same here, March is another poor month for me. I don’t mind that much, though. 🙂

      • Yay for March birthdays! 🙂 Oh yeah, forgot to include my co-workers in my count. I think at this point, we’re resigned to our fate. LOL we’re used to paying for meals when our birthdays roll around.

  6. Chaos Walking is one series that I really want to read. So I can’t wait for your review. Happy reading and enjoy your birthday month!

    • Nic, I’m looking forward to reading and reviewing the series! I don’t know when I’ll get around to it though. Thanks for the early birthday greeting. 🙂

  7. Happy early birthday! The Chaos Walking trilogy sounds interesting. I’m not that fond of the covers, but they do have something unique. Enjoy reading!

    Take a look at what I found in my Mailbox this week.

  8. Ooh lovely and Happy Birthday!

    I have The Knife Of Never Letting Go. It really does sound good. I hope you enjoy your books and your weekend.

    • The Chaos Walking trilogy is really a popular series so I’m not surprised that a lot of people have copies of the books. Thanks and I hope you enjoy your books too!

  9. Advanced Happy Birthday Chachic! Great haul of gifts there.:) Maybe the FBB meetup on the 12th should also be your birthday celebration? *hint, hint* LOL, just kidding.:)

    • Thanks Celina! Haha maybe the FBB meet up can be the joint celebration of all Filipino book bloggers who have March birthdays. It’s actually too early to celebrate my birthday, it’s just that last Saturday was the only free weekend that we all had in common.

  10. Advance Happy Birthday! My birthday is in March too, so I also know the feeling of being “poor” on that month. *sweatdrops*

  11. Happy early birthday! I’ve heard the Knife of Never Letting Go is good.
    My IMM

  12. Happy belated B DAY! Hey we do the same in our culture too… we invite people to our B day and pay for the fiesta. Same things if you invite them to movies, resto, etc.

    Well nice packet of books and enjoy the reads 🙂

    • Where are you based, pk reeves? Wow, we don’t do the same thing when it comes to movies and lunch/dinner because if that were the case, we’d run out of money!

      You got a couple of nice books as well, I tried commenting on your blog but I couldn’t find the proper link for it.

  13. Happy early B’day! A fanstastic pile of books! They all look very interesting. Happy reading 🙂
    Check out what’s In My Mailbox

    Mia @GrippedintoBooks

  14. This is the first time I’ve seen that trilogy. But I want that bedside lamp! Haha! While other people in here are commenting about wanting to read the books, I’m here wishing I could have the same lamp! LOL! Advance happy birthday Chachic! It really sucks to be celebrating your birthday and having to pay all of the expenses. GOTTA. MIGRATE. ALREADY. 🙂

    • That lamp is available in Fully Booked, according to my friend. 🙂 I’m so happy to get it because it will come in handy when I read on my Kindle in the dark.

      Thanks for the early greeting! Like I told Tina, I think I’ve gotten used to the fact that I have to treat friends on my birthday.

  15. Happy Birthday in advance, Chachic!

    Can you review the book light? I’ve been eyeing that one for a while now 😀

  16. Hmmm, sounds like I need to move and get a bunch of friends! The tradition of the switched birthday actually sounds really fun! I like that. I’ve never thought that it might be different in other countries. Cool. Your friend gives great gifts by the way!

    • Really, Peep, you wouldn’t mind spending money to treat your family and friends? LOL I think you’re the only one who wants to reverse the process that you have over there. I think I’d like to experience not having to pay for anything during my birthday celebration.

  17. Happy Birthday to YOU!! Wonderful gifts. I seriously hope you love the Chaos Walking series as much as I did. Those books are simply fantastic.

  18. happy birthday, chachic. and thanks for all the books i now want to read after surfing through your site. i still don’t know how i got here but i’m glad i did. have you ever read “the Blue Girl” by Charles de Lint? i figured since you like YA, it’s right up your alley. thanks again.

    • Hey noh, my birthday isn’t until the 29th but thanks for the greeting! I wonder how you found my site? 🙂 I’m glad you did though and I hope you enjoy browsing through the rest of my posts.

      I haven’t read The Blue Girl. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve read anything by Charles de Lint.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

