Chachic's Book Nook

Guest Post at Ian Villar’s Blog

17 Comments

My friend and co-worker Ian Villar has a photo blog. I’ve known him since college and he’s really passionate about being a photographer. It’s funny because he just said out of the blue last week, “I want to take pictures of your bookshelf.” I initially didn’t want to do it because I didn’t want him to go through all the trouble but I’m glad I did because it turned out to be so much fun. Click on this link to see the results as well as my answers to his interview questions. And please give him some love by leaving comments, especially if you want to say something about the pictures. Have I mentioned that I love doing guest posts? πŸ™‚ Thank you, Ian, for taking such wonderful pictures!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Guest Post at Ian Villar’s Blog

  1. I love your bookshelves, Chachic! πŸ™‚ Ang tiyaga mong mag-organize!

  2. Oh wow I love your shelves! So many books! πŸ˜›

  3. I already saw this on Facebook bit I really like the way you organize you bookshelf! By the way, congrats to your new bookshelf! πŸ™‚

    Cheers Chachic! πŸ˜‰

  4. I love your bookshelf. And you got a damn big collection of books. Mine’s not even a fourth of that!! And I don’t have a freakin’ bookshelf! I think my future bookshelf and I shall arrange a special meeting!!

    • I think I only started collecting books in earnest when I started blogging so it’s been a little over a year. You’ll see, you’ll probably get to this point as well. πŸ˜€

  5. LOL. I should show those pics to my mom, she’d flip. And probably not in a good way. Because we have a big house, I’ve never needed to throw stuff away. So, since I’ve been collecting books since I was in second/third grade or so and am still doing it up to now… After Ondoy hit in 2009, my mom had our old bar (yes, for mixing cocktails, and it actually had a counter and high stools to complete the setup)knocked down and converted it into a book room for me. Only, my books are all in boxes since we didn’t have shelves put in. Then again, if we’d had shelved, my books probably wouldn’t have fit in them! ^^;;

    • Wow Kim, you have your own book room? That’s amazing! That’s something that I should’ve asked for when we moved to our current house in 2005. Now, I just have to be satisfied with a big bookshelf in my room. You need to put shelves in your book room and maybe a comfy couch. πŸ™‚ Then take pictures and show us. If our house ever gets renovated, I’d ask for a library/book room.

      • Hehe. I’ll have to save up for that. Could you point my way to the contractor/s who built your shelves for you so I can see if it’s doable or not?

      • Um. Our driver made that bookshelf in our garage. πŸ˜›

      • Ooh, lucky you for having a multi-talented driver! So you only had to pay for materials? Can I hire your driver to do the job for me on the side some day? LOL. πŸ˜›

    • It’s not really that big, since it’s more rectangular than squarish in shape. And since everything’s in boxes piled one on top of another, it’s very difficult to get to the books that are in one of the bottom boxes (lifting all those boxes is hard work!)out. I’ve got the boxes themselves *mostly* cataloged haphazardly to show what books are in them, but still… ^_^

      • Yep, I had some of my books in boxes before I had this shelf made and it’s really hard to look for books that way. You should have shelves made so you can see all your books lined up properly. πŸ™‚

  6. Those photos are so very cool! I love that I can see the details of your books in some. So many great books!
    -Bella

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

