Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Clockwork Heart

11 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti is a steampunk-ish novel that got some pretty great reviews in the blogosphere. I don’t read a lot of steampunk but I’m curious about the subgenre and they say this one is easy to fall into. Unfortunately, it looks like the book is out of print. I’m not exactly sure but it’s not available in either Amazon or the Book Depository. If you have an idea of where I can get an inexpensive copy of this book (preferably a store with international shipping), please let me know.

Here’s the summary from Dru Pagliassotti’s website:

Taya soars over Ondinium on metal wings. She is an icarus — a courier privileged to travel freely across the city’s sectors and mingle indiscriminately among its castes. But even she can’t outfly the web of terrorism, loyalty, murder, and intrigue that snares her after a daring mid-air rescue. Taya finds herself entangled with the Forlore brothers, scions of an upperclass family: handsome, brilliant Alister, who sits on the governing council and writes programs for the Great Engine; and awkward, sharp-tongued Cristof, who has exiled himself from his caste and repairs clocks in Ondinium’s lowest sector. Both hide dangerous secrets, in this city that beats to the ticking of a clockwork heart…

What book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Tina of One More PageRival by Sara Bennett Wealer
Tin – Behind the Mist by M.J. Evans

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Want Books: Clockwork Heart

  1. Ooh, entangled between two brothers^^. This book sounds great. The cover’s pretty cool too.

    I’m a sucker for unicorns that’s why I’m curious about Behind the Mist by M.J. Evans. It is about two teens who along with an extraordinary horse are led into an adventure into the land of unicorns. Here horses kind of have to earn their horns and achieve that unicorn status. The antagonist here is an evil unicorn. It’s kind of hard to imagine an “evil” unicorn though^^. In my head I seem to echo Agnes of Despicable Me movie when (referring to a stuffed unicorn)she said: “It’s so fluffy, I’m gonna die!” 😛

    • I included your pick in the roundup. Oh you’re a unicorn fan! Have you read The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle? I’ve had my copy for a while but I haven’t had a chance to read it. They say it’s really good. And if you’re looking for evil unicorns then you should definitely check out Rampant by Diana Peterfreund because they’re portrayed as violent beasts in that book.

      • I have not been familiar with both books, but I checked them out. The Last Unicorn seems like the good old classic fantasy that I will surely love. (Did you know there is an old animated film of this with some of the voices lent by Jeff Bridges, Mia Farrow, Christopher Lee & Allan Arkin?)Rampant on the other hand presents such a unique concept of killer unicorns and a unicorn slayer (reminds me of Buffy the vampire slayer), this is hardcore^^! Two more books for my unicorn fix! Yay! Thanks Chachic! 😛

  2. Let me send you my copy-seriously, I don’t mind! 🙂

    • Aww Holly, seriously? I don’t want to impose. What did you think of it, by the way?

      • I won it in a giveaway forever ago but haven’t read it yet. I can always get a copy from the library or borrow it from Angie so I really don’t mind sending my copy to you. 😀

      • Both you and Janice are offering to send me a copy (see her comment below). 😀 Since you haven’t read it maybe it’s better if I get one from her? Wait, I’ll tweet you guys.

  3. Oh my god. No copies on Amazon? You need this book. I lurved this book. I have bookmarks in all my favorite parts. Really.

  4. Pingback: In My Mailbox: Clockwork Heart « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

