Favorite Literary Couples II

Image from We Heart It

Last year, I did a post about my favorite literary couples for Valentine’s Day and I thought it would be good to make this a yearly kind of thing. Without further ado, here are my favorite couples in fiction since February of last year:

Taylor Markham and Jonah Griggs from Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – These two literally came from opposing camps in their local turf wars so you can say that theirs is a love-hate relationship. Both of them have also experienced heartbreaking moments in their young lives which makes their romance sweeter. The love story between these two isn’t even the main plot of Jellicoe Road but it still resonated with me, especially because I believe what they have is also based on friendship.

Kate Daniels and Curran from the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – The Kate Daniels series is my favorite urban fantasy series and I love how Kate and Curran’s relationship developed. I enjoyed the witty banter and the uncertainty of whether they’d ever end up together. You have to read the whole series to appreciate what goes on between these two.

Gabriel and Rachel from Archangel by Sharon Shinn – When the Archangel Gabriel came looking for the wife that the god Jovah picked for him, he didn’t expect to meet vehement resistance from the feisty Rachel. Another turbulent relationship that I really enjoyed watching unfold. What I liked about Gabriel and Rachel is that they both had to work hard for the relationship even if the god mandated that they should be together.

Liadan and Bran from Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier – I had to include a pair from the Sevenwaters series because all of the books in this series have love stories in their plots. I admire Liadan for fighting for the love that she believed she deserved, even if it goes against the wishes of other people.

Ellie and Lucas from Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra – I bought this on a whim because I wanted to give Filipino chick lit authors a try and I’m so glad I did. I could really relate to Ellie – her twenty-something, corporate lifestyle in the Philippines and her wish to get her own fairy tale romance. I wish I had my own Lucas.

If I decided to list ten couples instead of just five, I would’ve included these pairings:

Sorcha and Red from Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier
Meg and John After from Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols
Laura and Sorry from The Changeover by Margaret Mahy
Anna and Etienne from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Cameron and Jack from Something About You by Julie James

Do you agree with my choices? Who are some of your favorite literary couples? Happy Heart’s Day, everyone. πŸ™‚

32 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples II

  1. I haven’t read any those books…yet. So yeah, to Mt. TBR they shall go.

    My favorite couples:
    Bella & Edward (Twilight)- Yes them. Some fanfictions completely do them justice. They are a lovely couple.

    Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy (Pride & Prejudice) – No need to explain. They just are.

    Zsadist and Bella (Lover Awakened) – The scarred man and the beauty that awakened him out of existence and into life.

    Heathcliff and Catherine (Wuthering Heights) – Okay, so they’re terrible people. I just love terribly flawed characters and these two just happen to have the an all encompassing love for each other.

    Artemis and Acheron (Dark Hunter series) – Speaking of flawed characters. Almost everybody hates Artemis (and want her to die a horrible death). But I adore her because her love for Acheron just might be the only thing that brings out her redeeming qualities. This is a sort of love/hate relationship.

    Benedick and Beatrice (Much Ado about Nothing) – Another love/hate relationship! Fun!
    Claudio and Hero were completed eclipsed by these two.

    Those are my faves (off the top of my head, there’s probably more, idk).

    • Thanks for sharing your list! Elizabeth and Darcy were in my list last year. πŸ™‚ I’m not surprised that they’re included in yours, I have a feeling they’d appear in a lot of lists. This current list is for books that I’ve read in the past year.

  2. Meg and John After! Oh, how I love this couple.

    I also adore Belly and Conrad, or maybe Jeremiah (the series isn’t finished yet and I can’t quite choose between the guys, hehe) from The Summer I turned pretty by Jenny Han.

    • Yay, glad to know we share a lot of favorite literary couples. I’d love to know what you’d think of Sorcha and Red and Liadan and Bran in the Sevenwaters series. Happy Valentine’s, Celina. πŸ™‚

  3. My favorite couples for last year’s reads: Katniss and Peeta!(Hunger Games); Katsa and Po (Graceling);Jonathan and Arabella (Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norell); Sabriel and Touchstone (Sabriel)

    I have heard so much about Kate and Curran and Anna and Etienne. I can’t wait to read about these couples, so I can join you all in “kilig” unison ^^.

    Happy Valentine’s Day! πŸ™‚

    • Ooooh I love Katsa and Po and Sabriel and Touchstone too! I really should read Jonathan Strange soon, I’ve had my copy since 2007. I’m just reluctant to start such a lengthy novel.

      I hope you get to read the Kate Daniels series and Anna and the French Kiss soon. πŸ™‚

    • April, I’d love to know what you think of the Kate Daniels series. I have a feeling you’d like it because I know how you enjoy reading about kick*ss female leads.

      And yes to Jellicoe Road too! I know what you mean, if only we can get paid to read books so we don’t have to go to work. πŸ˜›

    • Thanks Peep! Yep, Taylor and Jonah are perfect for each other. I still remember the scene where Jonah tells Taylor why he was in that train station years ago.

      Have you started on Archangel?

  4. I did a love story/couples post today too. I like your list from last year. I don’t know as many of the couples on this one. I think I need to read those Kate Daniels books I’ve heard so much about.

    • Your love story post is mighty similar to my post last year. πŸ˜€ I hope you get to read the books in this list, Brandy, because they’re all excellent. I just noticed that most of them aren’t YA books though.

  5. Wonderful list Chachic! I love them all – I’m glad you did an update from last year. Liadan and Bran are my fav Marillier couple by a long shot. I just reread that one last month and still loved it to pieces.

    • Michelle, I’m not surprised that you’re familiar with the couples in my list. πŸ™‚ I plan to update this list every Valentine’s. I love the couples in the first two Sevenwaters books and I hope I get to reread them soon.

  6. I am way late in commenting on this Valentine’s post, but I just wanted to say how much I love the couples you chose! I still haven’t read a few of those books (shame on me!), but I agree with every couple I have ‘met’. Great choices! I especially love a few in your extended list. Three cheers for Laura and Sorry! πŸ™‚

    • LOL Violet, you still made the one month mark! I hope you get to read all of the books that I mentioned because they’re excellent – they’re all in my list of favorites.

      Yay Laura and Sorry! More people should be aware of that couple. πŸ˜€

  7. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples III | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

