Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Cleopatra’s Daughter

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I can’t even remember who was the first person who recommended Michelle Moran’s books but I do know that she writes interesting historical fiction with strong female protagonists. I have several of her books on my wishlist but it seems like this is one of the better ones, based on reviews and star ratings on Goodreads. I believe her books are available in Fully Booked but I’m still trying to maintain a book diet so hopefully, I can get a copy of this once the number of books in my TBR pile goes down.

Here’s the summary from Michelle Moran’s website:

The marriage of Marc Antony and Cleopatra is one of the greatest love stories of all time, a tale of unbridled passion with earth-shaking political consequences. Feared and hunted by the powers in Rome, the lovers choose to die by their own hands as the triumphant armies of Antony’s vengeful rival, Octavian, sweep into Egypt. Their three orphaned children are taken in chains to Rome, but only two — the ten-year-old twins Selene and Alexander — survive the journey. Delivered to the household of Octavian’s sister, the siblings cling to each other and to the hope that they will return one day to their rightful place on the throne of Egypt. As they come of age, they are buffeted by the personal ambitions of Octavian’s family and court, by the ever-present threat of slave rebellion, and by the longings and desires deep within their own hearts.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Cleopatra’s Daughter

  1. This sounds interesting! 🙂 Cover reminds me of Nobody’s Prize.

  2. I actually read this book last year.
    http://rubylovesadventure.blogspot.com/2010/01/review-cleopatras-daughter-michelle.html

    It’s brilliant – i want to get her new one [Madame Tussaud] and some of the older ones [Nefertiti and The Heretic Queen] but I think the prices are more expensive in Fully Booked than in Book Depository? Not 100% sure tho!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

