We Love YA: Tina

In We love YA!, a fellow YA-lover is featured and is asked to answer the following questions: Why do you love YA? What are some of your favorite YA books? What can you say to encourage other people to read YA? At end of which, readers are requested to recommend books based on the featured person’s answers.

I know I haven’t had a We Love YA post in a while and I’m sorry for that but I hope to bring it back again this year. Today, Tina of One More Page has graciously answered the three questions for this post. Tina is a fellow Filipino Book Blogger and with regular meet ups and chats over Twitter, I feel like I’ve gotten to know her well. Which is a good thing, in my opinion, because some of our reading tastes overlap and it’s always a good thing when you can talk to people in person about books. Get to know her a little better through her answers today and I hope you drop by to check out her blog too.

Why do you love YA?
I love YA because I am an adult who refuses to move on from being young. Haha, kidding. I love YA because there are so many things to read about it. It’s an all-encompassing genre – you can add everything in it and it comes out different. The fact that there’s an entire section in the bookstore for young adult says a lot. I love that there’s so many books to read under it which can range from serious to funny to sad and magical and maybe even a little bit of everything.

I used to think that I am not a YA reader because I considered all the books I read as “fluff” and prioritize chick lit over anything, but I realized as I read more and more that I really do love YA. Being a part of a good YA book blogger community helps a lot, too. πŸ™‚

What are some of your favorite books/series/authors?
I realized that I’m really big on contemporary YA novels above all other sub-genres I read. It’s only lately that I got to read some fantasy, so those lists would be shorter. πŸ˜€

Contemporary:
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen
Stargirl and Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
Happyface by Stephen Emond
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
Paper Towns by John Green
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson-Burnett
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
The Chic Shall Inherit the Earth by Shelley Adina
Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr

Fantasy/Sci Fi/Speculative Fiction:
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Fire by Kristin Cashore
Feed by Mira Grant
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce
The Giver by Lois Lowry
Unwind by Neal Shusterman

I haven’t read Jasper Fforde’s first YA novel, The Last Dragonslayer yet, but since he’s one of my favorite authors, I’m pretty sure I’ll like that too. And that is a biased opinion. πŸ˜‰

What can you say to encourage other people to read YA?
We were all young adults at one point in our life (some are even young adults still), and I find that there’s pleasure in seeing yourself in the characters in the books and knowing that somehow, you’re not alone. There’s also a satisfying feeling knowing that you know how the characters should act in the face of all the confusion – after all, we’ve been there, and we’ve gone through it, and we’re still okay. With the plethora of YA books out there, there’s bound to be one for you, no matter how old you are. Go and find one (or ask us for recommendations :P).

_________________________________________________________________
Thank you again for doing this, Tina! I should check out your contemporary YA favorites. I finished reading Flipped yesterday and I really enjoyed it. I know I keep saying I’ll read a Sarah Dessen novel and I hope I get around to it soon. Now I get to recommend more books to you. *rubs hands together* Since you’re a big fan of contemporary YA, I’d start out with that genre first with some of my own favorites: Honey, Baby, Sweetheart by Deb Caletti, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley (you can borrow this from me if you want since I know it’s only available in Australia) and anything by Jaclyn Moriarty.

Now on to fantasy books. *cue in devious smile* Let’s start off with the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner because you know I’m such a big fan of Gen. Plus, I know you already have copies of the books but you haven’t read them yet so consider this a not-so-subtle way of pressuring you to pick them up. πŸ˜€ Other recommendations that I’d think you’d enjoy are Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith, The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, the Daughter of the Lioness duology by Tamora Pierce (loved this even more than the Song of the Lioness quartet), the Abhorsen rilogy by Garth Nix (because you love zombies), Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (didn’t you buy this from Fully Booked Shang?), The Changeover by Margaret Mahy, the Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud and the Lion Hunters books by Elizabeth E. Wein. Whew, sorry I got a little carried away with the recommendations. I guess it’s pretty obvious that I love recommending books. What about you, dear followers, based on her answers, what are books that you’d recommend for Tina? πŸ™‚

Click here to view previous We Love YA features and feel free to contact me if you want to do this guest post.

12 thoughts on “We Love YA: Tina

  1. Pingback: We Love YA @ Chachic’s Book Nook | One More Page

  2. I have Jellicoe Road on my TBR already. πŸ™‚ I also have one Deb Caletti (Wild Roses) but I think Honey Baby Sweetheart is the more popular choice for her. Jaclyn Moriarty – one day I will get them, too. I remember I like novels in letters, too, so that should be a plus.

    So many fantasy recommendations! Yes to MWT, and Howl’s Moving Castle, and The Blue Sword too — they’re all waiting for me eagerly. I think I have a schedule for MWT already. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the other ones, I will acquire them one at a time. The question of when I will get to read it is another thing. πŸ˜›

    Thanks again for having me here, Chachic! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, before I forget. I’m glad you like Flipped! And I hope you enjoy reading Dessen, too. I think you have Dreamland already, right? That’s her more serious work, but if you want something lighter and more romantic, This Lullaby is the one for you. And again, my ultimate favorite Dessen, The Truth About Forever. I have yet to find a contemp guy as good as Wes Baker. ❀

    • I also have another Deb Caletti book that I bought on sale but I haven’t read it yet so I’m not sure how it compares to Honey, Baby, Sweetheart. I’ve heard from other people that her writing style is similar to Sarah Dessen.

      Yay, you have copies of those books already! Since we meet regularly with FBB, I seriously wouldn’t mind if you want to borrow books from me. Aaron is already going to borrow Graffiti Moon and Aldrin is going to borrow Tall Story for the next meet up. πŸ˜€

    • Hi Nic! I cannot stop talking about my love for The Truth About Forever. I think more people like This Lullaby, but I think I related more to The Truth About Forever. I’m going to reread that soon as my friend gives me back my copy. πŸ™‚

  3. Hooray for YA!Hi Tina, you need to pump up your fantasy list^^. How about His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, and When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (this may be more on the sci-fi side I think)I second Chachic’s recommendation of Garth Nix (have only read Sabriel though but I plan to get the rest, I’d like to say that the zombies here are pretty safe, at least for my taste, they did not give me nightmares ^^)

    And oh, The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak for some historical fiction. πŸ˜›

    • Tin, should’ve mentioned His Dark Materials but it slipped my mind! That’s another favorite of mine. I really should pick up The Book Thief soon. I still haven’t read my copy.

    • I have to get a copy of HDM too. It’s been recommended to me for the past three years.

      I have The Book Thief in my TBR as well. I’m not really big on historical fiction, but this one seemed very popular. πŸ™‚

  4. I too am happy to see Flipped on the list. Have you seen the movie? I want to but haven’t had a chance yet.

    Can’t wait for you to read MWT and the rest of the Chaos Walking trilogy! Hope it’s soon. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

