Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood

I read Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood as part of the The Aussie YA Book Challenge hosted by Nic of Irresistible Reads and Nomes of Inkcrush. It’s also one of the books that I asked my friend who came from Australia to get for me.

Here’s the summary from Fiona Wood’s website:

Fourteen-year-old nerd-boy Dan Cereill is not quite coping with a reversal of family fortune, a mother with a failing wedding-cake business, a just-out gay dad, and an impossible crush on Estelle, the girl next door.

His entire life is a mess, but for now he’s narrowed it down to just six impossible things

Six Impossible Things is a loose Cinderella retelling, written from a guy’s perspective. I don’t think I read enough male POV books and I enjoy reading retellings. As if that isn’t enough to convince me to read this, Aussie book bloggers have been raving about this book in their reviews. Dan feels like his life has fallen apart when his parents split because his gay dad suddenly decides to come out of the closet and admit that the family business is also bankrupt. Dan even wants to say “Guys, please, one life-changing shock at a time.” out loud because of all the changes in his life. The only positive thing is he now lives next door to the unattainable one, Estelle. He even transfers to her school. Dan is determined to change his image at his new school, he doesn’t want to be known as geeky and smart anymore and he wants to hang out with the cool crowd. Things don’t go exactly as he planned.

This is such a quirky and fun novel to read, the writing is beautiful and the characters are so distinct. Dan is utterly charming in an offbeat and nerdy way. He’s smart, sensitive and tries to be as honest and good as he can be. Yay for good guys! It was interesting being inside Dan’s head because like I said, I don’t get to read enough books with male protagonists narrating the story. He’s also an introspective type so he’s more quiet than outgoing. I loved that the book showed his weaknesses like fainting whenever he sees or imagines something gross like raw eggs. Instead of being unfavorable, those vulnerabilities actually added to his charm. Even though things don’t work out the way he wanted them to, he did gain a couple of friends along the way and they’re all unique and original, even Howard the dog. The book isn’t all about the romance even if Dan has a major crush on Estelle although the development of their friendship is a major highlight for me. I love that the attics of their houses are connected and they’re the only ones who know about it. This delightful book is about growing up and changing as you learn how to cope and adapt with the problems that life throws your way. I’ve heard that this book already has a US publisher but there’s no set date on when it’s going to be published. If you can order a book from Australia or have someone buy it for you then I highly recommend that you get this one. It’s a great contemporary YA debut and I can’t wait to read more of Fiona Wood’s work. I just have to worry about how I’ll get it when the time comes.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Inkcrushinterview with Fiona Wood
Persnickety Snark
Irresistible Reads
Hey! Teenager of the Year
The Tales Compendium

14 thoughts on “Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood

  1. ‘a quirky and fun novel to read, the writing is beautiful and the characters are so distinct’ – wonderfully said. So glad you loved this. It definitely one of my favourite reads. Have you read Beatle Meets Destiny? If not I think you would like it too πŸ™‚

    • Nic, I’m really enjoying the Aussie YA challenge so far. πŸ™‚ Beatle Meets Destiny is already on my wishlist! It’s not available locally so I may have to order it from the Book Depository. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Dan Cereill is actually an anagram for Cinderella, maybe I should have mentioned that in the review? What I liked about this book is that we get a boy Cinderella. πŸ™‚ I hope this gets published in the US soon!

  2. Pingback: Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood | Janicu's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Six Impossible Things | One More Page

  4. Pingback: Aussie YA Reading Challenge « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Best of 2011 « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Want Books: Wildlife | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Wildlife by Fiona Wood | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Cover News: Cloudwish and In-between Days | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

