Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: January 30

6 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I don’t usually do an IMM post when I only get one book during the week but I decided to make one because Pride, Prejudice and Jasmin Field by Melissa Nathan is the first book that I bought this year! I was trying to see how long I could hold out but my friends and I dropped by Fully Booked Fort yesterday and I was surprised that this book was actually available because it was out of the stock the other times that I inquired about it. I decided to get it because I was worried I might not be able to find copies later on. Does it count as a purchase even if I used a gift card that I received for Christmas? I’m interested in this one because Janice recommends it and Julie James gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. Also, I’ve never read a Pride and Prejudice retelling so I wanted to give this one a try. The only other Pride and Prejudice retelling that I’ve read is Austenland by Shannon Hale.

Here’s the summary from Melissa Nathan’s website:

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a large ego must be in want of a woman to cut him down to size …. Sharp, witty journalist Jasmin lands the role of Elizabeth Bennett in a one-off fundraising play adaptation of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE. Hollywood heartthrob Harry Noble is playing Mr Darcy, and is every bit as obnoxious as Jasmin could have hoped. This is Jane Austen’s matchless love story with added 21st century fizz.

I’m loving all the pink in that cover. I think it goes well with my current layout. What about you, what’s in your mailbox?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: January 30

  1. Pingback: Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME

  2. Yes, it does count! Even if you bought it with a gift card. I’d count it. I’m looking forward to your review on it!

    • LOL okay then, it’s considered counted. My book buying ban has ended although I’m still trying to hold off on getting new books.

      I’m reading it now so I hope I can post a review within the week. 🙂

  3. I’ve been wanting to read this book since Janice’s review, too. I’m anxious to see what you think.

  4. Pingback: Pride, Prejudice and Jasmin Field by Melissa Nathan « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

