Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Star of the Morning

10 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I find myself craving for new fantasy books lately. I never would have found out about this book if it weren’t for Angie. She did a Retro Friday review of Star of the Morning and I’ve been curious about it ever since. What’s funny is that it’s always out of stock in Fully Booked but I’ve seen the other books in the series in some other branches. I hope they replenish their stocks soon because I want a copy of this.

Here’s the summary from Lynn Kurland’s website:

Darkness covers the north, since the black mage has begun his assault on the kingdom of Neroche. Legend has it that only the two magical swords held by Neroche’s king can defeat the mage. Now the fate of the Nine Kingdoms rests in the hands of a woman destined to wield one of those blades… In this land of dragons and mages, warrior maids and magical swords, nothing is as it seems. And Morgan will find that the magic in her blood brings her troubles she cannot face with a sword – and a love more powerful than she has ever imagined.

Maybe I should be thankful that the books that I really want are still out of stock because it keeps me from buying anything. I still haven’t bought any books this year, yay! I plan to hold back at least until January ends so I can say that I didn’t buy any books for a month.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist? Also, I’m curious, how many books have you bought this year?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Want Books: Star of the Morning

  1. I really liked this one! I hope you get a chance to read it soon! 😀

  2. “Star of the Morning” was absolutely wonderful. I hope you can get it soon! The characters are really compelling, and the author did a really great job with the world-building and magical bits.

    • Hi Terri, you guys are making me want this book more with your positive comments. I’m glad to know that it’s a really good book and that several people recommend it. 🙂

  3. Oh I love this series! Very fun. Angie sent this home with me one day of course. 🙂 It’s light on the fantasy and instead focuses on the romance, which is very sweet.

    • I saw your review on Goodreads! I’ll pick this up when I feel like reading something romantic. I guess it focuses more on the romance because it looks like Lynn Kurland writes books that fall under that genre. It’s good that she decided to try out fantasy for a change.

  4. I think I was in the minority with this book in just finding it OK (I really liked the humor, but the last part of the book didn’t do it for me). I’m wondering if I should give it a reread though because of Angie’s review and all the positive comments. It’s been 3 years. Or at least see how I like the second book.

    • Aww really, you didn’t like it that much? I’m still interested in giving it a try since the others seemed to really like it. Yes, maybe you should do a reread and give the second book a try? I’m curious about what my reaction will be given that you didn’t love this one.

  5. Hmmm. Lynn Kurland! Another favorite author of mine.My first encounter with this series was via a short story collection that also had a Patricia McKillip story in it (The Gorgon in the Cupboard). Honestly though, I prefer reading her straight time travel romances (gotta love those MacLeods and De Piagets!) over her fantasy books. They’re humorous and they don’t take themselves too seriously, which make them the perfect lazy Sunday reads. ^_^;;

    • I haven’t read any of Lynn Kurland’s books and I thought this would be a good introduction since I”m a fantasy fan. 🙂 I’ll try to check out the time travel romances after I read this one.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

