Movie Review: Tangled

I know I usually don’t post anything non-book-related here on the blog but I couldn’t help but bring up Disney’s Tangled since I thoroughly enjoyed watching it yesterday. A fairy tale retelling with a thief as one of the main characters? Definitely my kind of thing. I’ve been waiting for this movie to be shown here in the Philippines since last year so when I found out that there’s an advanced screening yesterday, I headed off to watch it right after work. I grew up watching Disney’s princesses films so I have a soft spot for those and I’ll watch any princess film that they produce on the big screen.

I’m sure we’re all familiar with Rapunzel’s tale so there’s no need for me to fill you in. I like where Disney went with this retelling, coming up with a reasonable explanation for why Rapunzel was stolen as a baby and kept locked in a tower. Both the main characters – Rapunzel and Flynn – are fully fleshed out and very easy to like. Rapunzel is determined to be capable even if she doesn’t know much about the outside world and she manages to do just that, using her hair as a lasso (somewhat similar to Shannon Hale’s Rapunzel’s Revenge) and her frying pan as her weapon of choice. I’m thrilled by Disney’s choice of a male protagonist because as I’ve said often enough here on the blog, I have a certain fondness for thieves. Don’t get me wrong, princes are appealing and all but charming thieves have more character. There were moments of hilarity, typical in a film for kids, and I found myself chuckling along with the rest of the audience. But overall, I find the whole movie heartwarming and I’m sure there are a lot of things in the movie that adults will also find enjoyable. I highly recommend this film to anyone who’s interested in a fun and feel good movie, especially if you’re a fan of fairy tales. Tangled will be shown in cinemas in Manila by February 2.

Oh and here are the characters promoting reading because of a Read.gov campaign:

Aww isn’t that cute? Click here to watch the trailer, in case you haven’t seen it. LOL at the smolder.

Now I’m more curious about fairy tale retellings of Rapunzel. I’ve only read Zel by Donna Jo Napoli so if you have other suggestions, please let me know.

23 thoughts on “Movie Review: Tangled

    • Hey Charlotte, I didn’t know there’s a retelling of Rapunzel in that one! I’m going to try and read that soon. What’s your favorite McKinley short story that’s in there? I think mine is in Door in the Hedge.

  1. Have you read Shannon Hale’s Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack? They’re graphic novels that actually have a couple of things in common with Tangled, including a rogue/thief companion for Rapunzel!

    • Hey Angela, I mentioned Shannon Hale’s Rapunzel’s Revenge above but I haven’t read it yet. I know that both the Rapunzels in that one and in the movie use their hair as a lasso. Oooh she also has a rogue/thief companion? Sounds interesting!

  2. I love this movie. I have taken my daughter to see it twice (because she love it so much, has nothing to do with me wanting to see it). πŸ˜‰ I think Disney finally got just the right kind and amount of darkness in it for a fairy tale. Plus Flynn is awesome. Definitely my favorite Disney hero now.

    • (because she love it so much, has nothing to do with me wanting to see it) -> You keep telling yourself that. LOL.

      I hope Disney comes up with more fairy tales! I know they announced that they’re not going to make any more princesses films but I hope they change their mind because of Tangled.

  3. Oh, I want to see this so bad! But I have to wait until it comes to the cheapie theater. Otherwise, we will have to pay about $40 for four people, as opposed to $12. Huge difference and worth waiting a few weeks.

  4. Oh I like this review! You should do more movie reviews. I didn’t really want to see this movie, but you are the second person to tell say it was fantastic. I am in need of something fun and light-hearted so maybe I’ll head to the movie theater and go see it. πŸ™‚

    • Carin, I don’t get to watch a lot of movies so I’m not much of a movie buff. LOL I don’t think I can do movie reviews well. I hope you get to watch this because I have a feeling it will lighten up your spirits a bit. πŸ™‚

    • Chris, watch this when it gets shown in local cinemas! I hope you get to read Rapunzel’s Revenge too although I don’t think I’ve seen it in local bookstores.

  5. Pingback: The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

