Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Graffiti Moon was my Want Books pick last month. I read this book as part of the The Aussie YA Book Challenge hosted by Nic of Irresistible Reads and Nomes of Inkcrush. It’s also one of the books that I asked my friend who came from Australia to get for me.

Here’s the summary from Cath Crowley’s website:

Let me make it in time. Let me meet Shadow. The guy who paints in the dark. Paints birds trapped on brick walls and people lost in ghost forests. Paints guys with grass growing from their hearts and girls with buzzing lawn mowers.

It’s the end of Year 12. Lucy’s looking for Shadow, the graffiti artist everyone talks about.

His work is all over the city, but he is nowhere.

Ed, the last guy she wants to see at the moment, says he knows where to find him. He takes Lucy on an all-night search to places where Shadow’s thoughts about heartbreak and escape echo around the city walls.

But the one thing Lucy can’t see is the one thing that’s right before her eyes.

I knew from the first few lines of the book that it was going to be a good one. The glowing reviews that I’ve seen from Aussie book bloggers about Graffiti Moon probably has something to do with it too. Told from the alternating points of view of Lucy and Ed, and interspersed with poems from Leo, the whole book occurs in just one night. It gives off the same vibe as Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist but while that one focused on music, this one is about art. I admit that I don’t know much about art but that didn’t lessen my appreciation of the book because both Lucy and Ed are quirky, funny and smart in their own way and very easy to relate to. Also, Shadow’s art was described in such an intriguing way to the point that I wanted to see images of his work instead of just visualizing the descriptions. Lucy dreams of meeting Shadow, the graffiti artist, because she admires his work and she feels like she knows him through his art. She has a feeling that he’s nothing like the immature guys that she knows from school. She definitely doesn’t want to celebrate the last night of Year 12 with Ed because they have history and not a very good one at that. They had one disaster of a date that ended with a broken nose, tears and vomit. Not exactly promising, right? Little do they know that they have much more in common than what could be seen on the surface. The secondary characters – their friends Leo, Dylan, Jazz and Daisy – are also fully fleshed out and add interesting and sometimes hilarious situations to the story.

This was a good book to start the new year with. It’s the first book that I finished reading in 2011 and if all of the books that I read within the year are as good as this one, then it’d be an awesome reading year for me. I like how the story unfolded in the span of one incredible night because there really are nights like those – nights when you don’t get any sleep and one crazy thing happens after another. I like how everything came together and how things just made sense. I was rooting for Ed and Lucy right from the start and I wanted them both to have what they wanted. This is the kind of contemporary YA that makes me want to read more from the genre. It’s a lovely story about the lives of young adults on the brink of life-changing situations. Also, would you look at that cover? I think it’s very appropriate to the story. Yay, my Aussie YA reading challenge is off to a good start! I’m sorry that this book isn’t available worldwide because it deserves to be read by more people. I’ve heard that it already has a US publisher but the publication date hasn’t been announced. I’m hoping that Cath Crowley’s other books will also become internationally available because I’m curious about them.

There’s an ebook version of the book over at Borders Australia to anyone who’s interested.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Persnickety Snark – and here’s Adele’s post about the art pieces mentioned in the book
Inkcrush
My Girl Friday
Hey! Teenager of the Year

17 thoughts on “Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

  1. Ever since I read about this book on Inkcrush, I have wanted to read it. But sadly, I can’t find it anywhere! I hope it is available worldwide soon.
    Thanks so much for the great review!

  2. Yay, you liked it! I love the sound of Ed and Lucy and everything happening in one momentous night. And of course the art! Wonder how long I’ll have to wait for it in the US? I should check on shipping from AU.

    • Holly, I have a feeling you’re going to love this one! For one thing, you’ll probably appreciate the art a lot more that I did. I tried searching in the author’s website about the US publication date but I didn’t see anything.

    • I’ve heard that it does already have a US publisher but I haven’t heard anything about a publication date yet. I hope they do it soon so more people could read this. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Want Books: A Little Wanting Song « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. i’m so glad you loved this one ~ and i wish it were available world wide too. love the review you gave it ~ you did a good job getting the feel of the book in your review.

    i really loved this one as i am arty 🙂

    xx

    • Nomes, thank you so much for recommending this one! Because of you, I have several Aussie YA books on my radar. It looks like I’m in a for a treat based on how much I liked this one. 🙂 I really enjoyed reading this and I wish it’s available internationally so that more people can share the enjoyment.

  5. Great review! I loved this story and am a big fan of dual narrations. A Little Wanting Song, Cath’s other books also has dual narration but this time two girls. It is one of my all time favourite books and it is available internationally 🙂

    • Nic, thanks again for hosting this challenge! I like dual narrations too because you get to see both sides of the story. A Little Wanting Song was my Want Books pick last weekend so I’m already on the lookout for it. I haven’t seen it in the bookstores around here.

  6. Pingback: ArmchairBEA: Best of 2011 « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Graffiti Moon | One More Page

  9. Pingback: Aussie YA Reading Challenge « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Best of 2011 « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Just One More Day | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

