Chachic's Book Nook

Long May She Reign by Ellen Emerson White

8 Comments

Long May She Reign is the final installment in Ellen Emerson White’s the President’s Daughter series. This review might contain spoilers for the first three books so if you’re planning to read them and if you don’t want to know anything, it might be a good idea to skip this. You can check out my review of the earlier three books by clicking the images below.

Here’s the summary from Ellen Emerson White’s website:

Meg Powers is the daughter of the President of the United States. She’s about to enter her first year of college. She’s living through the worst year of her life. In June, Meg was kidnapped by terrorists – brutalized, starved, and left for dead. She was shackled in a deserted mine shaft and had to smash the bones in her own hand to escape.Meg Powers survived the unthinkable, the stuff of nightmares. Her terrorist captor is still at large. But still, she must live each day. Ahead of her is the grueling physical therapy to heal her broken body, and the challenge of leaving the safety of the White House for her freshman year at college.But harder still than the physical and social challenges ahead are her shattered sense of self and her family. Will she ever forgive her mother, the President, for her “can not, have not, and will not negotiate with terrorists” stance – even when it came to her own daughter? And more difficult still, can Meg forgive herself for having the strength, the intelligence, and the wit to survive?

I’m glad I found out about this series (through Angie and Michelle) when all four books are already out. I can’t imagine having to wait for Long May She Reign for several years. At first, I had a hard time getting into Ellen Emerson White’s writing since I have no clue about American politics and that’s a huge aspect of her President’s Daughter novels. Meg eventually won me over as I read the rest of the books in the series. Meg is such an intelligent character with a unique sense of humor and I have a feeling that I would be intimidated by her if I happen to meet her in person. One thing I can say about Ellen Emerson White is that she isn’t afraid for her characters to get hurt. Her writing reminds of Megan Whalen Turner and Elizabeth E. Wein in that sense (if you haven’t read their books, you should go pick them up!) I admit that their books aren’t easy to read because of all the suffering their characters go through but you know that they’re tough and they can eventually overcome any challenges thrown their way. I’m talking about the kind of writing that stays with you days after you finish the book and makes you want to read the rest of the author’s work.

Long May She Reign starts from where the last book left off – Meg is trying to cope with the effects of the physical and emotional trauma that she experienced. She’s not doing a good job because she mostly just sulks in her room. Although after what happened, she deserves to be as grouchy as she wants. However, she can’t take how her attitude is affecting her family so she heads off to Williams, hoping that things will get better while she’s at college. As if being the US President’s daughter doesn’t make it hard enough for Meg to fit in, she’s constantly in pain because of her injuries. Things look up as Meg reluctantly starts to make friends with her Junior Advisor, Susan, and some of the other people in her dorm. She also starts dating Jack, a California playboy who’s surprisingly vulnerable when it comes to Meg. I didn’t like Jack at first because I had my heart set on Preston, the First Gentleman’s press secretary and the family’s close friend, but I ended up liking Jack and Meg’s relationship. Both of them are far from perfect and they make mistakes when it comes to dealing with the other person but I like that Jack is Meg’s equal. Plus, Preston had some wonderful scenes in this book so it’s all good. There’s something about Ellen Emerson White’s writing that makes me want to read more of her stuff. Seriously, I’d like to see a President’s Daughter book that will jump forward in time, maybe if/when Meg and Beth decide to go to law school together. For now, I have to patiently wait for my copies of Romance is a Wonderful Thing and Life Without Friends to get here. Oh and I need to find a copy of Friends for Life somewhere because I’m really curious about Susan.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Angieville
See Michelle Read
The YA YA YAs

Here’s an article about EEW’s writing over at The Savvy Gal. Check out this interview, where EEW says “It’s too early to say, but I suspect there will be more than one sequel and they will not be all from Meg’s point of view” about more books about the Powers family. Yay! I hope there’s more of Preston in those sequels!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Long May She Reign by Ellen Emerson White

  1. I haven’t read this series yet. Thanks a lot for the review! It’s always great to discover new books to read 🙂

  2. So happy this one worked for you. I had waited to long for it to come out, I was ready to dive in and never surface. So happy to be back with the Powers family and EEW’s amazing writing.

    I ❤ Jack. Can't help myself. And I still smile over particular lines from this one, just out of the blue.

    "It lacked congeniality." hehehehe

    • I can’t imagine having to wait that long for this last book! You must have been very excited when it came out. I really wouldn’t mind reading more books in this series. I just hope it doesn’t take EEW 20 years to write another one. 😛

      Jack is hilarious and I like how he’s smart in his own way even if he’s very different from Meg. Maybe if I didn’t get the idea that Preston would be perfect for Meg, I would’ve loved Jack too. LOL.

      Thanks for recommending the series, Angie! Can’t wait to read the rest of EEW’s books.

  3. Yay, you liked it! Can’t wait to meet this Jack. He sounds interesting. Not sure when I’ll get back to it though.

    • I was actually thinking if I should mention Jack in my review since it seems kind of spoilery but then I can’t help but mention him. Read this when you have a lot of free time ahead of you so you don’t get interrupted. 🙂 You’ll probably be busy with the baby in the coming weeks though.

  4. Oh I’m so glad you were able to finish (and enjoy) this series. Meg goes through so much, doesn’t she? I love that restaurant conversation with Preston, and I really like Jack too. Although, I’m rooting for Preston still too.

    • Yep, Meg certainly goes through so much. Just like Gen and Telemakos (the main character in Elizabeth E. Wein’s books). Hey, me too! That restaurant scene is one of my favorites in the book. Don’t you just want to hug Preston in that one? I’m glad that I’m not the only one rooting for Preston. Let’s wait a couple of years and see what EEW comes up with. 😀

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

