The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen

I enjoyed reading both Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen so I was looking forward to reading Sarah Addison Allen’s latest book. I have to admit that these books have made me more curious about magic realism.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Emily Benedict came to Mullaby, North Carolina, hoping to solve at least some of the riddles surrounding her mother’s life. For instance, why did Dulcie Shelby leave her hometown so suddenly? Why did she vow never to return? But the moment Emily enters the house where her mother grew up and meets the grandfather she never knew — a reclusive, real-life gentle giant — she realizes that mysteries aren’t solved in Mullaby, they’re a way of life.

Here are rooms where the wallpaper changes to suit your mood. Unexplained lights skip across the yard at midnight. And a neighbor bakes hope in the form of cakes.

Everyone in Mullaby adores Julia Winterson’s cakes. She offers them to satisfy the town’s sweet tooth and in the hope of bringing back the love she fears she’s lost forever. In Julia, Emily may have found a link to her mother’s past. But why is everyone trying to discourage Emily’s growing relationship with the handsome and mysterious son of Mullaby’s most prominent family? Emily came to Mullaby to get answers, but all she’s found so far are more questions.

Sarah Addison Allen’s books usually focus on two main characters who are somehow connected. In The Girl Who Chased the Moon, these characters are Emily and her new neighbor, Julia. When her mother passes away, Emily moves to Mullaby to be with the maternal grandfather she never knew she had. Emily is surprised to discover that the small town doesn’t have a favorable impression of her beloved mother and she doesn’t understand why. While Emily, her mother’s troubled past and her forbidden friendship with mysterious Win Coffey are all interesting, I found Julia’s story much more compelling. I found Emily and Win’s relationship to be similar to most of the YA paranormal romances out there, including Win’s family secret. As a result, I was always eagerly anticipating the scenes that involved Julia. This would probably be a good introduction to YA fans who want to give SAA’s books a try because Emily is a teen.

Julia can’t wait to leave Mullaby. She keeps telling everyone (herself included) that she’s in town only until she could sell the barbecue restaurant that she inherited from her father. She doesn’t have a reason for staying, least of all, her high school love and golden boy of Mullaby, Sawyer. I found Sawyer, with his Southern manners and insatiable hunger for sweets, charming. I can imagine him going, “CAKE! Nom nom nom nom.” Be sure to have food beside you when you read this book because it’s bound to make you hungry. Good thing we had a lot of food at home because of the New Year festivities. Overall, The Girl Who Chased the Moon is just as enchanting as SAA’s other novels and I gobbled it up during the weekend. It’s a story about family, friendship and food (all good things, in my opinion). I love reading SAA’s books and I can’t wait for her latest, The Peach Keeper, to come out this March.

Click on the images below to see my reviews of Sarah Addison Allen’s other books:

Other reviews: (manually generated)
See Michelle Read
Angieville
Dear Author
Write Meg!

19 thoughts on “The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen

  1. You read it already! Haha, it’s funny that you read it before I got the chance to. Thanks for this review, you have convinced me to start on it already. I hope I can find my copy!:)

    • I wanted to read my Book Depository books already so I thought I’d give this a try since I know it’s a good read for the holidays since it’s lighthearted. I hope you you get to read this soon. 🙂

  2. Now I’m curious about her books, too! This reminds me of Lani Diane Rich’s books, particularly The Fortune Quilt and A Little Ray of Sunshine. I read it a few years ago and I think it also is magical realism and chick lit combined. You might like her books, too. 🙂

    • Tina, I hope you give her books a try because they’re really good. 🙂 I have a feeling you’re going to like them. I haven’t heard of the author that you mentioned but I’ll look her up.

  3. Yep, this one was perfectly charming. I, too, much preferred Julia’s storyline so I wished there was more of that. But what was there was great.

    “I can be your home . . . belong to me.” *swoon*

    • Good to know we felt the same way about this book! Hey, I loved that line from Sawyer too. *beams* I would’ve enjoyed having more from Julia’s point of view but you’re right, what was there was great.

      Can’t wait for The Peach Keeper!

    • LOL you really should have food in the house while you’re reading her books. I love how she describes food, you can totally tell that the characters love food.

    • I got my copy from the Book Depository (it’s the edition pictured above) but Celina says that it’s available in National and that’s where she got her copy. I hope you get to read this soon, Chris.

    • I think all of SAA’s novels have lovely covers. I really like this one though because it’s unique. The image above is for the hardcover and it’s printed directly on the cover and not on a dust jacket.

  4. Maybe the YA aspect is why I was so drawn to this one at first, because I really did love that part of the story. But being as I’m also a huge fan of Southern novels I also was completely smitten with Sawyer’s character. So good!

    Lovely review! I really can’t wait for The Peach Keeper either! By the way…have you seen the US paperback cover for this one? It’s so gorgeous!

    • Danielle, I enjoyed the novel as a whole even if I didn’t found the YA aspect that compelling. I’m still going to buy SAA’s other novels when they come out. 🙂

      Yes, I saw the cover saga over at her website. She really has been lucky in all her covers so far.

  5. Pingback: The Girl Who Chased the Moon | | One More PageOne More Page

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

