Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

Since I really enjoyed David Levithan and Rachel Cohn’s book, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, I looked forward to reading their latest collaboration. I also thought that Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares would be a good holiday read since the events of the book happen during Christmastime. This was even one of my Want Books picks last November. The cover pictured below is the Aussie cover and sadly, it’s not available over here. But I like it better than the US hardcover design so that’s what I used.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Ahhh, The Strand. It sounds like a book geek’s heaven. I’d love to be able to go there someday to explore the miles and miles of bookshelves that they have. That is where the story starts, when Dash encounters a red Moleskine notebook in one of the shelves of his favorite bookstore. Throughout the holiday, Dash and Lily send the notebook back and forth together with a set of dares that the other should follow. Lily’s great-aunt calls the situation an “epistolary flirtation” and I think it’s a very apt description. Dash and Lily have very different personalities but they connect easily and are able to share their innermost thoughts through the red notebook. Dash is often described by other people as snarly and he’s an introspective teenage boy who has a remarkable love of words. Lily, on the other hand, is an optimistic, Christmas-loving kind of girl. She’s the baby of the family and that’s probably one of the reasons why she’s so positive about everything. They’re pretty much opposites but they get along well as anonymous correspondents.

I had so much fun reading this book especially during the holidays. I love reading Christmas-themed books during this time even if the book occurs in a totally different setting. I’ve never experienced snow during Christmas and I’ve also never been to New York. I always end up liking so many quotes in a David Levithan-Rachel Cohn collaboration. One of my favorites in this book is this:

“The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”

That one just resonated with me since I was feeling sort of melancholy the past few days as I realized that I’ve drifted apart from a couple of close friends. It doesn’t matter that we’re not as close as we used to be because what matters is that they were a part of my life and they helped shape who I am today. There are so many other amazing lines from this book (you can browse some of them here), which goes to show how good the writing is. I believe this is the kind of book that you can recommend to just about anyone, regardless of reading preferences. It’s very easy to fall into and you start rooting for Dash and Lily to end up together right from the start. There’s also a set of quirky secondary characters that help both Dash and Lily with their dares. This is a really good Christmas read and I hope some of you will give it a whirl. Now, I’m thinking of getting a red Moleskine notebook for myself.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
One More Page
Steph Su Reads
My Girl Friday
Chick Lit Reviews

14 thoughts on “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

  1. and leaving it on a bookstore? > am i completing your last sentence? 😛

    Ugh.. haven’t read this yet, when I went to FB Gateway last Dec 23rd, they already don’t have a copy!!! Boo Me! And yes, you got that right: David Levithan and Rachel Cohn’s collaborations are good source of awesome quotes!!

    • Ha! No, I wasn’t thinking of doing that. I was thinking of using it for myself since I always take random notes. But then again, that’s what a planner is for, right? 🙂 Maybe I should just concentrate on guzzling Coffee Bean drinks so I can have their planner.

      Remember that’s where we were when you found a copy of this book? Try calling up Fully Booked to see if they have copies in other branches. It’s a good read for the holidays but I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading it next year (which starts tomorrow).

  2. This sounds like such a fun read. I ordered a copy from Amazon a few days ago and can’t wait to get it (but it will take a while to get here). 🙂

    • Yay, I’m glad you ordered a copy of this. You’ll get it soon enough. I know you still have a lot on your TBR pile anyway. I don’t remember if you’ve read Nick and Norah?

  3. I knew you’d like it too. 🙂 I had so many quotes noted in this book, it’s crazy. I am very curious about the movie — I hope it lives up.

    On another note: I’m making The Strand one of my must-see places before I die. Of course, I may end up feeling like I’m in heaven if that place is as awesome as it is written here. 🙂

    • Tina, it was so very easy to like! And yes to the lovely quotes. I’m not going to have high expectations of the movie because I was disappointed with Nick and Norah but I’m still going to watch it. 🙂

      I’ve heard of The Strand before and I will definitely visit it when I get the chance to go to New York.

  4. It really is one of those books you can recommend to just about anyone. I adored this book! All the fantastic quotes and bookish love. It’s just stunning and the perfect holiday read, like you said.

    Perfect review! Love the quote you picked as well! So good!

    • Could totally relate to all the bookish love as well! Even if I haven’t read some of the novels that they mentioned. I’m so glad I got to read this during the holidays.

      Thanks, Danielle. 🙂

  5. Hey! I just wanted to let you know I am going to add your D&L review to a collection of D&L reviews I have going on. If you’d rather not be included just let me know!

  6. Pingback: Review Collection: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares « Jenny Likes Books

  7. Pingback: Book: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares « taking a break

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

