Five Great Debuts

Adele of Persnickety Snark is hosting the FIVE Challenge. Click on the link to learn more about it. Today’s theme is Great Debuts and you can see Adele’s picks here. There have been so many good debut novels this year so I decided to participate in today’s challenge. Here’s my list:

Mistwood by Leah Cypess (my review) – This debut is recommended for fans of Tamora Pierce, Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner. SOLD! It didn’t disappoint – it has notable characters and a plot full of intrigue that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Tall Story by Candy Gourlay (my review) – I’m so glad that this YA novel by a Filipino author has a UK publisher. It makes it easier for me to recommend it since it’s available internationally. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one because I could relate to the Filipino aspects of the novel. It’s also such a heartwarming story about friendship and family.

Plain Kate by Erin Bow (my review) – A Russian-flavored fantasy about a girl who struggles to make her way into the world. Erin Bow’s lyrical writing makes this book a perfect read for fans of fairy tale-like stories. This book is surprisingly complex and bittersweet, you can’t help but cheer Plain Kate on through her adventures.

Jane by April Lindner (my review) – I should be thankful to Jane because it made me read Jane Eyre. I wouldn’t have read the original story by Charlotte Bronte if my curiosity wasn’t piqued by the retelling. Jane is a faithful retelling that would appeal to everyone who enjoys a good romantic story, regardless of whether they’ve read Jane Eyre or not.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (my review) – No surprise here, this book has been making waves in the blogosphere. It has even been recommended several times by YA author John Green. It has a swoon-worthy male lead, a very realistic development of a love story and is set in one of the most romantic cities in the world – Paris. What more could you ask for?

That’s it for my picks. How about you, what 2010 debut novels would make it to your list?

16 thoughts on “Five Great Debuts

    • I have a feeling Anna and the French Kiss will make it to a lot of FIVE lists. 🙂 I do hope you get to read the others on this list.

      It was really hard to pick just 5! So many good debuts this year. I’m hoping 2011 will be just as awesome.

    • It’s good that we have at least one book in common. 🙂 I hope you get to read Anna soon. I was itching to read it because of all the glowing reviews that I saw and I’m glad that it’s available locally.

    • It certainly deserves more attention! Not a lot of people read Plain Kate so we should recommend it more often. Can’t wait to see what Erin Bow comes out with next. 🙂

  1. I enjoyed Plain Kate, it was just a ad slow for me. But a definite strong debut! I have never even heard of Tall Story but I’m very intrigued which is always a promising thing.

    • Oh good that you’ve read Plain Kate! I was fine withe the pace, I think I was more affected by the overall feel of the book because it isn’t a happy one.

      Yay, it’s always good when someone’s interested in Tall Story. It’s partially set in the Philippines and the UK.

    • Jane was lovely! I recommend it to anyone who’s curious about Jane Eyre, even if they’ve never read the original. Oh I hope you get to read both Plain Kate and Anna soon. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Five Great Covers « Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Five Most Anticipated 2011 Titles « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.