Aussie YA Reading Challenge

I haven’t signed up for any challenges for next year but since I plan on reading a couple of Aussie YA books, I thought I might as well sign up for this one. The Aussie YA Book Challenge is hosted by Nic of Irresistible Reads and Nomes of Inkcrush. Click on the link to learn more about it. The rules of the challenge are:

Australian participants – Read at least 12 young adult books by Australian authors from 1st January, 2011 to 31st December, 2011.

International participants – Read at least 6 young adult books by Australian authors from 1st January, 2011 to 31st December, 2011.

They can be old or new titles, however no re-reads. It is open to everyone. You don’t have to be a blogger but you MUST POST A REVIEW.

I’m planning to read the following books for this challenge:

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
The Ghosts of Ashbury High by Jaclyn Moriarty
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood
Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar
Good Oil by Laura Buzo

I’ve had my copy of The Book Thief since 2007 and I still haven’t read it! I know that it’s really good, I’ve seen so many glowing reviews so I don’t understand why I haven’t picked it up. I enjoyed reading Saving Francesca so I can’t wait to read The Piper’s Son. I’m so glad it’s going to be internationally available soon. I will be getting copies of the last four books in the list from a friend who’s coming home from Australia. Yay, so excited to get them. Aussie books are really expensive but at least I won’t have to pay for shipping.

That’s it for my starting post for this challenge. What about you, any Aussie titles that you’re planning to read next year?

14 thoughts on “Aussie YA Reading Challenge

  1. Oh – yay for joining! and how much do i love your picks for the challenge! you’ve listed all my fave authors!

    and – I know! our books are so expensive. what is with that? most paperbacks are pretty much $20. occasionally you can get them for $16 AU.

    • Nomes, most of the books on my list are there because of your glowing reviews! πŸ™‚ I don’t know if it’s a good thing that I follow several Aussie bloggers because I keep wanting to get so many Aussie books. Good thing my friend is coming home from there, otherwise, I don’t know what I’d do.

      I really don’t know why books over there are so expensive. The paperbacks cost just as much as US hardcovers.

    • Thanks for hosting the challenge! πŸ™‚ I’m so excited to read the books in my list. I’m actually jealous of Aussie YA nowadays because I’m hoping that Filipino YA will be just as awesome in the near future.

      • Not much! I’ve only read one Filipino YA novel this year – Tall Story by Candy Gourlay and that one is available internationally because it has a UK publisher. Most Filipino books are compilations of short stories, there aren’t a lot of novels out there. I don’t know why.

    • I’m really hoping it will! I don’t understand why Filipino writers aren’t writing more YA books when there’s such a demand for YA right now. Foreign YA books are selling like hotcakes.

      Yes, I had Tall Story in my Five Great Debuts list, I linked to my review there. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Aussie IMM: December 27 « Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Once Upon a Time V Challenge « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Good Oil by Laura Buzo « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

