Long Live the Queen by Ellen Emerson White

Long Live the Queen by Ellen Emerson White is the third book in the President’s Daughter series. The first two are The President’s Daughter and White House Autumn. I got the entire set by special order from Fully Booked and this one was worth P460. I think that the books can be read as stand alones although it’s a lot better if they’re read in order. The premise of this one is kind of spoilery so if you don’t want to know anything about the book, better skip this review.

Here’s the summary from Ellen Emerson White’s website:

Being the President’s daughter isn’t easy, but Meg’s getting used to it. She’s even starting to have a life again — okay, not a normal life, but things are beginning to fall into a routine.Then it happens — machine guns blast, a van screeches to a halt, and masked men grab Meg and take her away. Meg doesn’t understand what the terrorists want. She doesn’t understand how her security was breached. But she does understand one thing — they have no intention of letting her live — and she has no intention of dying.

It took me a while to pick this up because based on the premise, it seemed like something that isn’t easy to read. I was even warned that it has some trauma and that I should be prepared for it. Ellen Emerson White is an amazing writer but I feel like I have to be in a certain mood before I could read her books. Just when Meg feels like she’s starting to get used to being the president’s daughter, she’s forcibly taken by terrorists and she doesn’t even understand why. My heart was pounding the entire time I was reading Meg’s ordeal. Even though I already knew terrible things would occur, I was still scared because there’s no way that I could predict what would happen next. As a reader, I felt like I was with Meg every step of the way. It all felt very real. The storytelling is vivid and no detail is spared – all of Meg’s feelings and thoughts were documented. I actually wanted to jump forward in the novel to take a peek at how things will develop but it’s a good thing I waited. I admire Meg for being as strong as she was and she even keeps her unique brand of humor wherever she was.

One of the highlights of the novel (the entire series, in fact) is the distinct and realistic dynamics of the Powers family. You know they all love each other but they don’t really know how to act when they’re all together and as a result, most of their dealings are awkward. I don’t think I’ve read any other YA series that focuses on the character’s family as much as this one. Even the love story took a backseat. Also prominent in this installment is Beth Shulman, Meg’s best friend from back home. It’s a struggle for both Beth and the entire Powers family to reach out and help Meg as she continually pushes people away. I read this series because it’s been repeatedly recommended by both Angie and Michelle. I second (third?) the recommendation because this series is a different kind of YA but be prepared because the books are compelling but they’re not easy to read. I think the mark of a well-written novel is that it can make you care for the characters to the point that you don’t want anything bad to happen to them (or when bad things happen, you want them to overcome those situations). I have a feeling Meg’s recovery in Long May She Reign, the last installment in the President’s Daughter series, is going to be difficult but I’m hoping that good things will happen to her. She really deserves to be happy. I kind of wish she’d end up with a certain young and fashionable press secretary.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
See Michelle Read
Book Harbinger

9 thoughts on “Long Live the Queen by Ellen Emerson White

  1. HI, Ms. Chachic! I’ve missed your blog so much! :)) Anyway, I was looking around Fullybooked Gateway this afternoon when I saw a copy of this book! It was weird cause it’s placed along the SCI-FI section! :))

    • Hi Char, thanks for dropping by! 🙂 Really, you saw a copy of this one in Fully Booked? That means they bought extra copies when I asked them to order it for me. It’s just weird that it was located in the sci fi section.

  2. My heart was literally in my throat when I sat down to read your review, hoping that you’d love this one. And yay!! The storytelling is truly superb isn’t it? You mention that heart-pounding anticipation and let me tell you, it doesn’t dim with each reread. I still get chills every time I pick up these books. And yes, this is my favorite YA family portrayal – so incredibly layered.

    And ahhh yess… Preston. Oh boy. He is simply the best.

    • Michelle, such a strong reaction to my review! I’m glad I didn’t disappoint you. 🙂 Yes, excellent storytelling. Good to know that the books are just as good as rereads.

      *sigh* Preston… I wonder what’s in store for him in the next book?

    • Yes, I really liked both Beth and Preston in this one. I felt like they were there for Meg at the right moments. They’re both great friends and I’m glad Meg has them.

  3. Pingback: Friendship in Fiction « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

