No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra

No Strings Attached is Mina V. Esguerra’s latest chick lit novel. As usual, it’s set in Manila, featuring a girl in her late twenties. I did a post about the book here when I bought it a few days ago. It’s available in all Book Sale, National Bookstore and Fully Booked for P150.

Here’s the summary from the back of the book:

Carla is a whiz at her job: she’s efficient, reliable, and a total genius when it comes to putting something together at the last-minute. The snag is she’s single and turning the big three-oh in a few months. Her girl best friend (yes, she’s married just like the other girls in Carla’s barkada) keeps trying to set her up with stable banker-types, while her guy best friend (single – the other single one) encourages her to play the field – no strings attached. Then, through no set up or extraordinary circumstance, Carla meets Dante. Hot, smug, sexy Dante. Definitely not a banker-type and seemingly too good to be true. So there’s got to be a catch. There is. He’s five years younger. Is the universe telling Carla to finally let loose and enjoy a fling with a younger man? Or is there a lot more to this awkward situation that she bargained for?

It’s funny because the main character in this one reminded me somewhat of the main character in Amazing Grace. I think it’s because they’re both in their late twenties and they’re both being pestered by friends to settle down and get married. That’s a pretty accurate portrayal, actually. I’m in my mid-twenties and three of my friends got married this year. I’d like to think that the Philippines is more liberal nowadays but most people still believe that a girl should be married by the time she reaches her thirties. Carla feels like she’s different from the rest of her barkada (group of friends) because most of them have their own families already. The only other single person in their group is her best friend Tonio and he’s single because he enjoys playing the field. Carla’s fed up with all the set-up schemes of her friends. Even if she’s turning thirty, she’s not exactly worried about finding someone to marry. Aside from that, her friends also keep telling her to move up the corporate ladder and that it’s not good to be stuck as an admin assistant forever. When she meets Dante, she agrees to date him on the condition that they should keep things simple – they should just have fun when they’re together and not worry about the future.

Carla thinks that her age gap with Dante is a big deal but I don’t think it matters that much. I think it’s funny that even though it seems like Carla and Dante don’t have much in common and they have different personalities, they still get along really well. I enjoyed reading No Strings Attached but Fairy Tale Fail is still my favorite out of all the local chick lit books that I’ve read. Even though Dante’s described as a hot guy, there aren’t that many kilig (swoon-worthy) moments in this one. The focus isn’t the build up of the love story but rather the complications involved in their relationship. It’s a quick and light read and the kind of book that you can finish in one sitting. Recommended for fans of chick lit. I hope Mina comes up with something new soon because she’s already in my auto-buy list.

Click on the images below to see my reviews of Mina’s other books, Fairy Tale Fail and My Imaginary Ex:

Other reviews: (manually generated)
One More Page
Ficsation
From Page One

26 thoughts on “No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. I think out of all characters in No Strings Attached, I am most similar to Mary in terms of being a “manang” to my friends. Heh. But like you, my favorite is also still Fairy Tale Fail. πŸ™‚

    • Oh hey, you know my friends and I describe ourselves are pretty manang too! Hmm I didn’t really think of Mary as manang-ish though. I didn’t like that she kept bugging Carla to settle down. And she wasn’t that supportive of Carla and Dante’s relationship.

      • Chachic, Tina,

        The next thing I’m working on is about a manang, heehee. Kind of.

        I have one other manuscript being evaluated by the powers that be, but the great thing is that whatever happens there’s always Amazon.

        Really appreciate that you’ve bought and read and reviewed na this early. πŸ™‚

      • Hey Mina, thanks for dropping by to check out my review! I’ll look forward to your next work because it features a manang character. I’m sure I’ll be able to relate to that. πŸ™‚

        Yes, you can always go with Amazon or Smashwords and that’s actually better for your international readers. It’ll be easier for them to get copies of the book.

      • Mary came off as a manang to me because of that reaction to Dante and Carla’s relationship. Guilty — I play Mary’s role sometimes to some friends. ^^

        Mina: OOH a manang story. Like Chachic, I’m looking forward to that. πŸ˜€

      • Tina, hmm I think Mary didn’t approve, not because she was being manang (how could she be when she herself got pregnant out of wedlock when she was 23?) but because it didn’t seem like Dante was the stable, settling down type kind of guy. If Carla had the same physical relationship with a stable guy that Mary set up with her, I’m sure Mary wouldn’t lecture Carla at all. LOL does that make sense?

    • Holly, don’t worry, I’ll send your copies within the week. I’m just hoping it doesn’t take too long to get there. πŸ™‚ They say outgoing packages move faster during the holidays while incoming ones take longer.

      • Yes, great news for you but not so good for me. Haha I’m still waiting for a couple of packages to arrive.

        I know, me too. I always have plenty to read but I still get excited when new books arrive. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: No Strings Attached | One More Page

  3. I didn’t know that this was already released! Something to look forward to the next time I’m in Manila. I think Mina will have another title out soon, called Love Your Frenemies. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Filipino Friday 21 « Filipino Book Bloggers

  5. Pingback: Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Interview with Mina V. Esguerra and Giveaway « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: No Strings Attached « I Think. I Say. I Feel

  8. Pingback: Snippets of an Interview with Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Mina V. Esguerra’s Latest Novel: That Kind of Guy | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

