Chachic's Book Nook

Jane by April Lindner

18 Comments

I mentioned in my review of Jane Eyre that I read it because I was curious about Jane by April Lindner. Yay, so glad I decided to read the original first before this one. I feel like it adds more depth to my understanding of the story. I’ve been looking forward to reading Jane ever since the triumvirate of my favorite bloggers (namely Angie, Holly and Michelle) gave such glowing reviews of it. Also, would you look at that cover? Isn’t it lovely? More reason to pick up the book to see if the inside is just as beautiful as the outside.

Here’s the summary from April Lindner’s website:

Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance. But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love? An irresistible romance interwoven with a darkly engrossing mystery, this contemporary retelling of the beloved classic Jane Eyre promises to enchant a new generation of readers.

I love retellings. I like seeing how authors make the story their own while using another story as the foundation. Jane is a faithful retelling – all of the major events in Jane Eyre were there but April Lindner found ways to insert some new scenes to make the story more believable (loved the pool scene). What I really liked about this book is it found a way to seamlessly modernize a classic story while keeping the essence of the original. Jane is still very much a plain Jane – practical, studious and hard-working. She’s a no non-sense kind of girl who has no interest in celebrities of any kind. This makes her the perfect nanny for the reclusive rock star Nico Rathburn’s young daughter. Mr. Rochester as a rock star is such an original and very fitting concept. It goes well with his past as a wild, young man, determined to cruise through the highs of life. Now that he’s a little older, he’s learned from his mistakes and is trying to live a much simpler life. I think it’s great that Nico’s age doesn’t reduce his overall appeal because he’s still totally hot – hello rich, brooding, reformed, rock star! What’s not to like?

My favorite line in the novel is probably this: “Jane, you get me. And I think I get you.” This one line perfectly describes the romance between Jane and Nico. In spite of the age gap and all of their differences, the only thing that matters is that they understand each other and they’re both comfortable in each other’s presence right from the start. Their story captivated me. Oh and it’s funny that in this novel, their first meeting can be considered a meet cute. Even knowing what will happen in general, I was excited to move along, trying to think of how the story will develop in this new setting. I can see old fans of Jane Eyre falling in love with this charming retelling. What’s good about it is I think it will also attract new fans because you don’t have to read the original to recognize how well-written this debut novel is. Can’t wait to see what April Lindner writes next.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Angieville
Book Harbinger
See Michelle Read
Good Books and Good Wine
Steph Su Reads

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Jane by April Lindner

  1. When I read it, I found myself wondering about a couple things, most notably financial things; why didn’t Jane get financial aid? There are scholarships for orphans, and grants and loans. And where did all her wages from working for Nico go? She’s not an indulgent techie who blows her money on stuff she doesn’t need, and she doesn’t pay room or board while she’s there.

    I do agree that you do not have to read Jane Eyre to appreciate Jane and I’ll definitely be reading more by April Lindner if/when she writes more.

    • Hmm financial aid didn’t occur to me, probably because I don’t live in the States so I’m not really sure how things work over there when it comes to scholarships and student loans. As for her salary, I think it went straight to her bank account and she had her ATM with her when she ran away but she was afraid to withdraw money because she knew she could be traced if she did that. Err that’s what I remember from the book, not sure if it’s correct.

      • I think you’re right about her being phobic of using her ATM card. Hmmm.

        But yes, most students here (unless they come from very wealthy families) use at least *some* financial aid to go to college.

      • I remember her freaking out about getting money from her ATM and thinking of going back to close her account.

        So Jane’s parents must have been upper middle class (or even somewhat rich) if they could afford to pay for her tuition without financial aid.

  2. Ah, Nico. And the pool scene was my favorite, too! I thought there was not an equivalent in the book for it but it’s been awhile since I’d read the original. You would know for sure. 🙂 I’m just so happy that you loved both this and Jane Eyre.

    Btw if you didn’t know, Lindner is working on a Wurthering Heights retelling right now.

    • It was really funny when Jane was checking out to see if anyone from the house was watching her and Nico suddenly appears. I don’t think there’s an equivalent scene in Jane Eyre for that one.

      Ooooh Wuthering Heights! I’ve actually read that one but I may need to reread it before digging into a retelling.

  3. Wonderful review. I need to read my copy of Jane Eyre soon and then this retelling 🙂 It sounds very good.

  4. Hooray! So pleased you fell in love with it as well. And after just having read JANE EYRE, too. The pool scene is such a good one. That’s when I really bought them together. No looking back from there.

    • It’s so good, I want to recommend it to all of my friends who’ve read the classic. Or actually recommend it to just about everyone. 🙂 Hey, you’re right. The pool scene signaled the start of their relationship.

  5. So happy to hear you liked this one. I really, really need to buy a finished copy so I can have that lovely cover sitting pretty on my shelf.

    And yes, love that You get me, and I get you bit. It’s true, that works so nothing else matters between them. le sigh.

    • Michelle, you should get a finished copy, it’s so pretty. 🙂 I love that bright pink of the font and how that matches the inside covers.

      That’s what it all boils down to, right? I mean the fact that they really get each other. I love how they both don’t care what the rest of the world thinks.

  6. I stayed up all night to read this and it was totally worth it. Like you, I decided to read Jane Eyre before trying this one out, and I think reading the two books one after the other actually helped me to appreciate both of them.

    I will also definitely be reading whatever Lindner writes next.:)

    • Oh you finished reading it already! Just yesterday you were saying it’s right beside your bed, tempting you to read it. Good to know you stayed up late to finish it because I did that the other day for The Sugar Queen. 😛 Let’s spread the word about this book so more people will read it.

  7. Oh, I love retellings!
    I think I might have to check this. I also think the cover is beautiful!

    Thanks for the review!

  8. Pingback: Five Great Debuts « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Five Great Covers « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

