Chachic's Book Nook

Libreria Bookstore in Cubao X

23 Comments

There’s a new bookstore in town and it’s called Libreria, located in the quirky and artsy Cubao X. This is where the second meet up of the Filipino Book Bloggers was held but more about that on another post. I wanted to highlight Libreria because it’s new and you can’t find a lot about it when you Google the name of the bookstore. To those who’ve never been to Cubao X, here’s the full address:

CUBAO EXPO
Gen. Romulo St.,
Araneta Center, Cubao QC, 1109

Libreria doesn’t have a sign to indicate its presence so when you enter Cubao X, just go straight until you find a vacant area then go inside and you’ll see a bright blue door. That’s the entrance to what Tarie has dubbed the Filipino Book Bloggers’ new headquarters.

Triccie, the owner of Libreria, is really nice and friendly. The place has a homey feel to it because some of the books are from Triccie’s own collection. She has a houseful of books and when she realized that she wouldn’t get to read a lot of the books that she owns anytime soon, she decided to put up Libreria. The books in the store aren’t covered in plastic like in other commercialized bookstores so customers can read samples while browsing. The books are very affordable especially since some of them are pre-loved. There’s even a bargain section where all of the books are just P50 each. I was glad to see that there are books in Libreria that aren’t available in other local bookstores. I bought a hardcover edition of The Spell Book of Listen Taylor by Jaclyn Moriarty for only P100 and a trade paperback of I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith for only P75. To the other Filipino Book Bloggers, please leave a comment listing the books that you bought to give people an idea of what’s available in Libreria. :)

I’ve always envied my American friends their indie bookstores and now I have my own favorite indie bookstore to patronize. Libreria is open everyday, 3pm to 8pm but on weekends, they can extend up to 11pm. Cubao X caters to a nocturnal crowd and I quote Honey in saying that Libreria is “a haven amidst teenage angst.” They also serve freshly brewed, refillable coffee for only P50.

Follow Libreria through its Facebook page.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

23 thoughts on “Libreria Bookstore in Cubao X

  1. *sigh* This is the kind of place I want to have someday. I’ll definitely drop by Libreria soon.:)

    • Celina, me too! It’s my dream to have my own small bookstore/coffee shop. I think Triccie made a great choice when she put up Libreria in Cubao X. Yay, it’s in QC so more accessible for me.

  2. “a haven amidst teenage angst.”

    yun talaga most unforgettable line e. :)

  3. I hope you love I Capture the Castle! I loved that book so much!

    • Have you read The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice? I loved it and when I read reviews, some people mentioned that it’s a tribute of sorts to I Capture the Castle.

      Hey, did you buy anything? :P Please list them here so other people will know what kinds of books they’ll find in Libreria.

  4. Pingback: In My Mailbox: November 14 « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Hi, Chachic. Libreria was an awesome hostess but you were a fantastic moderator. I noticed that you kept the conversation going and effortlessly stepped in with observations and questions when there was danger of dead air. It was a day well spent for me.

    My book haul from Libreria:
    The Ring by Jorge Molist P100

    The Bitterbynde Books 2 & 3 by Cecilia Dart-Thornton
    - The Lady of the Sorrows P320
    - The Battle of Evernight P320

    The Buried Circle by Jenni Mills P380

    Kenneth gave copies of the Philippine Genre Stories’s 2009 Christmas issue. Thanks Kenneth!

    • Aww Michelle, thanks for the compliment! :) I just didn’t want us to have awkward silences so I picked up the conversation when it felt like it was lagging. Good thing I’m talkative so I had no problem doing that.

      Oh wow, you got 4 books! Thanks for listing them down. I can’t wait to go back to Libreria, even to just hang out and read.

  6. i didn’t know you guys were meeting up in a bookstore. the place reminds me of meg ryans’ bookstore in you’ve got mail.

    sama ako pagbalik mo!!! =)

    • I texted you to join us! Maybe next time. :) Let’s go here sometime. We can eat at Bellini’s and then hang out in Libreria.

      Yes, exactly, I was reminded of Meg Ryan’s bookstore in the movie You’ve Got Mail. I’m actually jealous of Triccie’s store because it’s been a dream of mine to own a small, independent bookstore.

  7. You’re so lucky to find this amazing place… ahhhh living vicariously through you. If I could win the lotto… I’d either open a bookshop or a HUGE LIBRARY in my house.

    • Hey PK Reeves, where are you based? :) If you’re in the US, then you probably have an indie bookstore near your place. I’d do the same thing if I win the lottery although maybe I should bet first to increase my chances of winning.

  8. Pingback: FBB Meet Up in Libreria « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Hey, that looks so cool. :) speaking of bookstores, have you been to Bookay-Ukay at UP village? They have a pretty good collection of books there if you don’t mind them not in being perfect condition :) it’s in the same bldg as tomato kick and 55 tinta.

    • You should drop by Libreria when you’re here for a vacation. I haven’t been in Bookay-Ukay, the store is closed whenever I pass by there. I added them in Facebook but I haven’t found a book to buy from them.

      • Bookay-Ukays is also cool, in a bohemian sort of way. The shop is open in the late afternoon to 10 or 11pm. The guys manning the shop are usually avant-garde artists and musicians, and nocturnal.

        You should try to drop by. I don’t see books i like in the selections they post online but when I do drop by I always see books I want, in a corner or two.

        If you’re lucky the tambays there will give an impromptu musical performance, haha.

        The shop accepts orders or wishlists.

      • Oh so Bookay-Ukay is better in person? I should try to drop by there next time I’m in the area. Some of my friends want to try out the restaurants in Maginhawa St. so I hope I get to drop by soon.

  10. Pingback: Meet Up With Marianne Villanueva « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Hi! Can you tell me the directions going here? Thanks :)

  12. hi. i wanna date this special girl and she’s a book lover. just wanna ask if this is a bookstore-coffee shop. thank you! :)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,239 other followers