Chachic's Book Nook

Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

11 Comments

You all know I’m a huge fan of the Kate Daniels series. I’ve talked about those books several times here on the blog. I love the power couple Ilona Andrews so much that I plan to read all of the books and novellas that they’ve written (and will write in the future). Bayou Moon is a book in the Edge series and the sequel to On the Edge, which I read and loved a few weeks ago. I love that we can now watch out for books from two different series written by these wonderful authors. So glad I was able to grab a copy from Fully Booked for P315 after I called a couple of times to inquire about the book.

Here’s the summary from Ilona Andrews’ website, and you can even read an excerpt there:

The Edge lies between worlds, on the border between the Broken, where people shop at Wal-Mart and magic is a fairytale – and the Weird, where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny…

Cerise Mar and her unruly clan are cash poor but land rich, claiming a large swathe of the Mire, the Edge swamplands between the state of Louisiana and the Weird. When her parents vanish, her clan’s long-time rivals are suspect number one.

But all is not as it seems. Two nations of the Weird are waging a cold war fought by feint and espionage, and their conflict is about to spill over into the Edge — and Cerise’s life. William, a changeling soldier who left behind the politics of the Weird, has been forced back into service to track down a rival nation’s spymaster.

When William’s and Cerise’s missions lead them to cross paths, sparks fly — but they’ll have to work together if they want to succeed… and survive.

William was a pretty interesting secondary character back in On the Edge so I think it’s great that he got to have his own story. At 447 pages, this one is a lot meatier that its predecessor. The first one focused more on the romance while this one is a little darker and a bit grittier. The worldbuilding is just as creative and I like how we’re presented with a different area of the Edge – the Mire. Clans fight in feuds to determine supremacy in a grim and swampy land where they have to eke out their living. Here’s an excerpt early on:

“That had to be the craziest thing he’d heard. At some point they must’ve looked around and said, “Hey, what do we have a shitload of?”
“Mud! It’s cold and wet. I know, let’s burn it!”
“Well, it ain’t good for nothing else.”
What the hell? He supposed if fish could have legs, then mud could burn. Spider or no Spider, if their cats started flying, he would be out of here like a rocket.”

As you can see, there’s plenty of wit and humor in the book. I love how William and Cerise banter and how they enjoy teasing each other. William spent most of his life as a soldier. Because of his nature as a changeling, he was trained from his early years to become a lethal fighting machine. As a result, he has to constantly keep himself in check. Also, he’s been lonely most of his life because he doesn’t have a family. Lo and behold, he meets Cerise and becomes tied up in her family’s business. The Mars are a pretty crazy bunch of people. As evidenced by the cover, Cerise is an excellent swordswoman. She fuses her magic with her sword so she has a unique fighting ability. She’s also smart and funny, definitely my kind of female protagonist! I had a lot of fun reading this book and even though it was pretty thick, the pages just flew by. As expected, there’s nonstop action and adventure for the two main characters. The story is layered with intrigue as William pursues his quest against the creepy spymaster of a rival nation. Spider is a pretty scary villain not just because he’s evil but because he believes he’s doing the best that he could to serve his country.

Another awesome urban fantasy novel from Ilona Andrews – espionage set in an interesting swampy landscape with broken but lovable main characters and distinct secondary characters in the form of the Mars – highly recommended to all fans of the genre. According to the authors’ blog, the next Edge book will be about Kaldar. I’m really looking forward to that because I loved Kaldar’s character in Bayou Moon. Most of you know I’m a fan of reprobates and thieves. 🙂

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Angieville
Janicu’s Book Blog
See Michelle Read
Dear Author
For What It’s Worth

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

  1. Ahhhh. Yes. Didn’t you just love how LONG this one was? So very wonderful. And thanks again for the heads up about Kaldar. That sounds very, very promising.

    I’m just grinning over here thinking about you and your thieves 😉

    • Yes, I loved that it was a lot longer that the first book. There’s much more for us to sink into. I hope the next one is just as meaty! Can’t wait to see Kaldar’s story. Thieves are awesome, aren’t they? 🙂

  2. I’m so happy about the news that Kaldar’s next.

  3. Ditto on the Kaldar news. I’ve really liked his character so far. I’m about halfway through it now. This one has seemed more nuanced than THE EDGE. Maybe it’s just the grit. And I do love a damaged protagonist. So much room for development. 🙂

    • Yes, it’s much more layered than the first book, right? I already loved the first one but this one is even better because William is a much more complex character than Declan. I think in the first one, the romance was the main focus of the story. This one has more character development and worldbuilding. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts. 🙂

  4. OK…this review made me even more excited to read this series. I’m going to start on it next week. I can’t wait to talk to you about it! Hopefully I can get through both books next week, but if not, I’ll get through at least On the Edge. Nice review. I’m looking forward to reading it!

    • Carin, I’m excited for you to read the Edge books! 🙂 Lucky you, you get to read them one right after the other. No need to wait. Let me know when you get around to reading them because I’d love to know what you think.

  5. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Fate’s Edge « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Review: Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews | Bunbury in the Stacks Review: Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews | One has the right to Bunbury anywhere one chooses. Every serious Bunburyist knows that. ~ Oscar Wilde

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

