Chachic's Book Nook

Author Love

16 Comments

I’ve mentioned before that although I haven’t read all of Diana Wynne Jones’ books, I’m still a fan. I’m also a huge fan of Robin McKinley and I have copies of most of her books. When Neil Gaiman came here this year, I attended his book signing. So I was really happy to see Neil Gaiman’s tweet the day before yesterday and he even uploaded this picture:

It looks like Neil and Robin visited Diana Wynne Jones! I didn’t even know that they knew each other. Don’t you find it amazing when some of your favorite authors are friends? I think it’s great that they get together in real life. I have a feeling that so much awesomeness occurs when they do. Robin also wrote about the visit in her blog.

What do you guys think of this? Are you fans of all three authors? If you haven’t heard of them, I highly suggest that you look them up and try their books. I recommend that you start with Howl’s Moving Castle by DWJ, The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley and Stardust by Neil Gaiman. 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Author Love

  1. Woop! All those writers are on my TBR list–Dianna Wynne Jones is at the top of the three. That is very cool that Neil Gaiman came to the Philippines! Did I know that? You must have told me before. Very cool.

    • Yay, you can buy their books after your book buying ban! 😛 I’m not sure if I told you that Neil Gaiman went here. It was before I started my WordPress blog, I was still putting up posts in my Livejournal then.

  2. I read about this on Robin’s blog, and was bowed over by the coolness of it! And I was so happy to read that DWJ is holding her own.

    (and I’m very glad a meterorite didn’t choose that moment when all three of them were together to fall on DWJ’s house)

    • It really is cool, isn’t it? I know, I was so happy to find out that it looks like DWJ is doing better. I really felt bad when I heard the news about her cancer.

      I think fantasy fans all over the world would be devastated if that meteorite did fall.

  3. Yes, I love all three of them! Especially Diana Wynne Jones! The first book I read of hers was Archer’s Goon, and it is still one of my favorite books ever! I even convinced my brother (not a big reader) to read it, and he loved it too.

    I loved Deerskin because it was so haunting, so that is my favorite Robin McKinley title. Neverwhere is my fave Gaiman title, and it’s the first I read. It is so cool that they know each other!

    • I haven’t read Archer’s Goon! I have to catch up on reading all of DWJ’s books. I still have the rest of the Chrestomanci books to go through. It’s good that you were able to convince your brother to read Archer’s Goon.

      I haven’t read both Deerskin and Outlaws of Sherwood but I have copies of both. I’ve read Neverwhere though and I liked it as well but Stardust is still my favorite Gaiman.

      • Deerskin is a darker read, with one scene that is very, very disturbing. I read the book when it first came out, and I still haven’t forgotten it, that is how powerful it is. It will either make or break the read for you. I am curious to see how you feel about the book after you read it 🙂

        The Ogre Under the Stairs by DWJ is another one of my favorites, if you haven’t read it yet. I am so glad that they reissued so many of her books!

      • Really? Thanks for the warning then! I’m not sure when I’ll get around to reading that. I have so many books in my TBR pile and I’ll probably read Outlaws first.

        I haven’t read that but I probably have it on my wishlist already. After I finish with the Chrestomanci books, I plan to hunt down the Dalemark Chronicles (they’re currently not available over here).

  4. Ack. You know what you have started? From that, I ended up on Robin’s twitter, and then on her blog, where I tried to find the post which offered the giveaway, which took me to her blog, which took me to her facebook, and now it’s been 40 minutes and I have not done a single productive thing! Goodness. That was problematic.

    Anyway, that picture is great.

  5. oh wow, that’s so amazing! wouldn’t it be so awesome to hear what they talked about? imagine if they were talking about their favorite books and bouncing off story ideas off each other…

    • Anne! I’m so sorry I still haven’t sent the books to you. I will send them this coming week, I promise. I’ve been busy with other things so I haven’t had time to drop off the books in a 2GO branch.

      I know, it would be awesome to hear the conversation in that room. I bet a lot of fans are curious. I’m content with seeing a picture though. At least we have visual proof. 🙂

  6. pardon the double “off’s” please =P

  7. Pingback: Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

