The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie by Jaclyn Moriarty

The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie is the third installment in the Ashbury series by Jaclyn Moriarty although the books are just loosely connected and they can be read out of order. I’ve read and liked the first two Ashbury books – Feeling Sorry for Celia and The Year of Secret Assignments. I decided to pick this one up since it’s available in Fully Booked for P420.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Bindy Mackenzie believes herself to be the smartest, kindest girl at Ashbury High. Unfortunately, she is alone in that belief.

To prove her likeability, Bindy decides to document her life in transcripts, essays, and e-mails. What this reveals is a girl who’s funny, passionate, hilariously self-righteous… and in danger.

Someone wants to kill Bindy Mackenzie. The clues are in the documents. The detectives are the very students who hate her most. And time is running out.

This one is different from the other two because it doesn’t concentrate on the “Joy of the Envelope” letter exchange program between the two schools, Ashbury and Brookefield. Instead, the story is told from Bindy’s point of view through her diary entries, reports about her Friendship and Development (FAD) sessions and her random musings. Bindy is the type of character that you’d either really love or really hate. At the start of the book, she’s pretty easy to dislike because she’s so full of herself. However, I found her funny because she’s such a character! If you don’t take her seriously, I think you’ll see that she’s hilarious. She’s puzzled most of the time because she doesn’t understand other people. She lacks social skills so she doesn’t have friends and she’s totally focused on school work. The first part was pretty slow for me but things started to pick up in the second half of the book and by the time I reached the last few chapters, I knew I had to stick with it until the end – meaning I had to stay up until past 1am even though I wake up at 5am for work.

As with the other two Jaclyn Moriartys that I’ve read, this one is about friendship. I like how the three books deal with different kinds of friendship. In Feeling Sorry for Celia, it was all about best friends. In The Year of Secret Assignments, it was about the loyalty of a small group of three friends. In this one, it’s about forming friendships with a whole group. Like I said, Bindy doesn’t really have any friends and she thinks the FAD sessions are a waste of valuable time because she’d rather study. This book is all about Bindy and how she learns more about herself by reaching out to her fellow classmates. Another humorous installment in Jaclyn Moriarty’s Ashbury series. What’s good about this one is that it gives glimpses of the main characters in the first two books – Elizabeth from Feeling Sorry for Celia and Emily from The Year of Secret Assignments.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
The Book Smugglers
Attack of the Book
Vulpes Libris
Becky’s Book Reviews
Young Adult Book Reviews

11 thoughts on “The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie by Jaclyn Moriarty

  1. hi chachic! gosh, this book looks really interesting, as i’ve said before, i love school themed books. it holds a great place in my heart. i hope you can recommend other school themed books to me. i know YA books have loads, gossip girl, IT girl, the clique series but i’m looking for a story without these perfect girls on the cover.you know. hehehe. cheerz! ☺

    • Hi Ruperto, I hope you give Jaclyn Moriarty’s books a try. I linked my reviews of the other two books in the series in the first paragraph of this post if you’re interested in reading them. I think I read a couple of Gossip Girl books back in college when I borrowed them from a friend but I didn’t really like those books. Most contemporary YA books are set in schools, I have a list of favorites over here. πŸ™‚

    • Holly, I know you weren’t a big fan of Ghosts of Ashbury High but I hope you get to read Jaclyn Moriarty’s other books because you might like them better. Bindy is really funny, I think you’ll like her. πŸ™‚

    • The only one I have left is Ghosts of Ashbury High so I hope that one becomes available here soon. I’m sure you’ll get around to reading Bindy one of these days. I won’t be surprised when it turns up in one of your IMM posts. πŸ˜›

      • It’s funny because that was the first Moriarty that I wanted to read but then it wasn’t available here. I’ll keep my out for it!

        In other news, I got a copy of Grimspace yesterday! It was out of stock for a while and I was surprised that it was available. I remember you had a giveaway of the latest book in that series. I will probably do an IMM post this Sunday.

  2. This series is totally new to me but I love humorous YA books & Bindy sounds like an entertaining heroine, so I should probably add it to my TBR. Thanks for sharing your review! πŸ™‚

    • Hey Violet, I’m also a fan of humor! You should give Jaclyn Moriarty a try. I decided to read her books because other book bloggers kept recommending them. You could read them out of order but if you’re just starting, you should check out the earlier ones. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

