Zambales in Lomo

I haven’t done a Wow Philippines post in a while so I decided to put up some pictures of my trip to Zambales last year. These shots were taken using my lomo cameras. Again, here’s a description of lomo from lomography.com:

It was in the early 1990s when two students in Vienna, Austria, discovered a small enigmatic Russian camera, the Lomo Kompakt Automat, and started a new style of artistic experimental photography of unorthodox snapshots. In the blink of an eye the Lomographic message spread around the planet.

I miss going to the beach! I’ve only been to the beach once this year, when I went to Coron, Palawan. Let me know what you guys think of these shots!

19 thoughts on “Zambales in Lomo

  1. Very lovely photos…especially now when here on the East Coast it is getting darker earlier and earlier and it is getting cooler and cooler…keep beachy thoughts!!!

    • If only you could pass on some of that cool weather to me here! Normally, it should also be getting cooler around this time of the year but it’s still so hot.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting about the photos!

  2. hey chachic! i love the picture with the trees. palm trees ba or coconut? anyways, i miss going to the beach too. pero not to swim but to read under a shade of a tree. hehehe. my relatives always complain that wherever we go for an outing or vacation i always read and not participate with their activities. well, that’s me hehehe.

  3. Those pictures are incredible. The Philippines looks so awesome. I really want to visit (but first I have to move away from this place that is hot all the time so I can look forward to hot and humid weather)! Actually, either way, I’d love to visit sometime. So much cool history in your country that I don’t know about and the sights seem very cool!

    • Yes, the Philippines really is a beautiful country! If I had a lot money, I’d go all over the Philippines and just explore the places that I haven’t been to. Note that most of the pictures that I post are outside Manila so I have to do a bit of traveling to go to these places so I don’t get to go as often as I’d like.

    • Ari, I think you should get a lomo camera! I’d love to see the photos that you come up with. Lomo is very low-key so that’s why I like it. You could get a cheap one first if you just want to give it a try. Do they sell lomo cameras in Ireland or in Italy?

  4. Beautiful photos! I especially love your photo of the coconut trees. The way it is framed by eye-shaped darkness gives the impression of waking up from a nap and blinking open an eye to find yourself in a tropical paradise. Lovely!

    • One of the things I love about lomo is the vignettes (that darkness that you mentioned that usually appear in corners of the picture). I love how you described the picture, so creative!

  5. Ah beach! Love these photos, Chachic! I’m not a photographer, so I can only appreciate shots like these, not take them. πŸ˜›

    I propose a reading vacation by the beach with other Filipino bookworms. πŸ˜›

    • Tina, it’s pretty easy to take shots like these using lomo. The motto for lomography is, “Don’t think, just shoot” πŸ˜› I guess I’m just lucky because I’m used to my cameras and the kind of film that we use.

      LOL let’s get the first meet up over with first and then maybe we can explore an out of town trip later on.

  6. Pingback: Beach Lomo Shots « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

