Chachic's Book Nook

BBAW New Treasure: Interview Swap

24 Comments

I signed up for the BBAW interview swap and Reagan of Miss Remmers’ Reviews was assigned as my partner. Reagan teaches 9th Grade Reading at an AA High School in South Dakota and her mission is to instill in students a passion for recreational reading. As a result, she reads and reviews a lot of YA in her blog and I’m so happy that we have that in common. Please join me in welcoming the wonderful Miss Remmers!

Wow, so you’re a teacher who likes to recommend books to your students. What do you do to encourage your students to read?
It’s really important for me to have a list of books to recommend to students. Right now I’m recommending The Hunger Games, I Am Number Four, Before I Fall, 13 to Life, Hex Hall, and Need.

Has a student ever recommended a book that you ended up liking?
I have been keeping a list of books that students have recommended to me, however, I have yet to actually read one. It’s only the fourth week of school and I have a pretty hefty TBR pile. But hopefully, eventually, I will read my students’ recommendations.

Looking at your blog, I see that you read a lot of YA. I also read a lot of YA so I’m interested to know if it is your favorite genre or do you explore YA books for your students?
I really love reading YA and it is extremely convenient that it is also the genre my students’ prefer. πŸ™‚ I will sometimes be offered a fantastic book for review that is more Adult or Chick-Lit that sounds fantastic and I end up loving it. But I mostly try to stick to YA for my students’ sake (and for my enjoyment).

What are some of the best books that you’ve read this year?
Wow! Hard question! While I can’t pick just one, here is a small list: The Hunger Games, Before I Fall, I Am Number Four, Hush Hush, Beastly, Thirteen Reason Why, Some Girls Are, and Cracked Up to Be. Okay, that was a bit longer than I had wanted it to be. πŸ™‚

If someone’s experiencing reader’s slump, what’s a book that you’ll recommend to get that person back into the game?
Definitely The Hunger Games, if you haven’t read it already. It really depends on the person though. Right now my freshmen are really getting burnt out on vampires and werewolves so I’ve been recommending Need by Carrie Jones. I’m also a big fan of The DUFF. Right now I’m currently reading Matched by Ally Condie; it’s really fantastic, it’s a lot like The Hunger Games in terms of government and lifestyle. Whew, that was a hard question too!

Contemporary YA, epic fantasy, urban fantasy, science fiction or dystopian – what’s your preference?
I’m going to have to say Contemporary YA.

One of my favorite things about book blogging is the wonderful community. I don’t get to talk about books with my friends so I enjoy reaching out to fellow bloggers. What’s your favorite aspect of book blogging?
I would definitely have to agree with you, Chachic. I love being able to talk books, authors, and literature with other readers. I spend most of my time trying to persuade students to read, book blogging is a perfect way for me to relax and connect with readers who I don’t have to convince that reading is (and can be) a fun, relaxing, recreational activity.

Ever since I started blogging, I’ve become more aware of what’s out there and this lead to my TBR growing exponentially. Has blogging changed your reading habits? Do you read books that you normally wouldn’t read now that you have a blog?
Another fantastic question! Since book blogging I have read more books in the past year than I have in the previous three. Blogging has really kept me focused in my reading and given me goals to accomplish. Blogging has become a part of my life that I hope to never give up.

Since I live in the Philippines, I’d like to know what you think of international book bloggers?
I was really excited to read your blog and see that you were from the Philippines! I’ve never “met” an international book blogger! I think international book bloggers are setting a spark around the world that will eventually catch fire. From a teaching stand point, to me international book bloggers represent review diversity for my own students and students across the world. They bring a different kind of culture to their reviews and book thoughts, it’s extremely refreshing. As a fellow book blogger, I would love to see more international book bloggers; it would be a great way to connect with readers around the world.
___________________________________________________

Thank you for your thoughtful answers, Reagan! I enjoyed doing this interview with you and I look forward to being a guest reviewer over at your blog. To my blog readers, please drop by Miss Remmers’ Reviews to see my answers to Reagan’s interview questions.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

24 thoughts on “BBAW New Treasure: Interview Swap

  1. Great interview! I love learning more about other bloggers. I find that I read more YA now because of my son (13) who likes reading (yay!). He reads different types of books, but when it’s a dystopian novel like The Hunger Games or Lost (Hunger), I’ll join him.

  2. Hi Reagan!!! Wonderful to get to know you a little better. πŸ™‚

  3. What a great interview! It was nice to get to know Reagan a little better!

  4. I for one am always on the look out for international bloggers! I love the fresh perspectives and new books! Great interview with Reagan; I’ve always admired the fact she takes reading suggestions from her students.

    • Oh good to hear that you’re interested in international bloggers, Serena. πŸ™‚ I follow several Filipino book bloggers and several other international ones. I think it’s amazing that Reagan notes down the suggestions of her students.

  5. I need to pay more attention to YA bloggers since I’m trying to encourage my YA age children to read more. this is a good start!

    • Valerie, there are a lot of excellent YA blogs out there. πŸ™‚ I hope you get to explore them because of BBAW. I’m sure you’ll be able to find good recommendations for your YA children.

  6. Reagan’s project is such a great one and she has a wonderful attitude that will get kids reading. Thanks for this great interview!

  7. Wonderful interview guys!

    I wish I had a cool teacher like you when I was in high school. Can I ask a question? What books have your students recommended you? I’m curious to see what high school kids are reading these days. I can’t for the life of me get my 16 year old niece to read a book but my 13 year old niece loves reading. I think it’s great that you’re showing your students through your blogging how cool and relaxing reading can be. So true!

    I have read most of the books that you love to recommend and I can’t wait to read the ones that I haven’t read yet.

    I’m going to have to follow you because my preference is Contemporary YA as well.

    Thanks for the lovely interview ladies!

    • Thanks for commenting both here and in Reagan’s blog, Rowena. πŸ™‚ Me too, I wish I had a teacher like Reagan back in high school. We mostly read classics back then and I would’ve loved it if a teacher encouraged reading for pleasure.

  8. great interview-I was glad to hear Reagan was interested in international book bloggers-

  9. I admire you Reagen both for reading YA for yourself and your students. What a great cause. Great questions, Chachic. I heart international book bloggers – there’s definitely a need for more.

    • Yay, thanks for the support for international bloggers! I think it feels wonderful to know that someone from another part of the world loves reading the same books that you do.

  10. I love Reagan and her blog! Great interview! And Reagan – you’ve met me, and I’m Canadian, so kind of international for you πŸ˜‰

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

