Chachic's Book Nook

Forget You by Jennifer Echols

16 Comments

Going Too Far is one of my favorite reads of this year so I’ve been eagerly anticipating Jennifer Echols’ next romantic drama, Forget You. I even read Jennifer Echols romantic comedies – Endless Summer, The Ex Games, Major Crush – just so I have something to tide me over while waiting.

Here’s the summary from Jennifer Echols’ website:

There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four-year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. With her life about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon.

But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all — the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug — of all people — suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life — a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug.

I was all set to fall in love with this one but it didn’t happen. I think the premise is intriguing and I would’ve liked the story a lot of if I didn’t get annoyed with Zoey and how she kept insisting that Brandon is her boyfriend when he’s obviously not. I mean there was Doug, the “beautiful, snarky, way-too-perceptive boy” (to borrow her words) who’s always there for her. Doug kept taking care of Zoey after the accident when Brandon was nowhere to be seen. I really felt sorry for Doug, he seems like such a great guy even if he has a bad boy reputation. I wanted to talk to Zoey just so I could tell her, “If you don’t want him, can I have him?” I understand that Zoey has a lot of problems and that she’s pretty confused about her life but trying to believe that she has a relationship with Brandon was just too much. It’s not like Brandon’s much of a catch anyway – yes, he’s hot but that’s all that he has going for him.

Still, I recommend this to anyone who’s curious about Jennifer Echols’ books or anyone who wants a light, romantic read. I know that other people may end up liking this book even if it didn’t work out for me. I did like the tension between Zoey and Doug even if she kept on telling herself that she doesn’t have feelings for him. Also, even though they both have different lifestyles – Zoey’s family is rich while Doug has to work hard in his dad’s business – they still have things in common like how awful their fathers are and how they’re both part of the varsity swim team. Before the car wreck, their interactions mostly involved arguments, which I think showed that they were trying to mask their attraction by fighting. Hello love-hate relationship!

I believe Jennifer Echols is writing another romantic drama due out next year and I’m still planning to read that one. If you’re looking for a more satisfying YA romance, I recommend Going Too Far or Perfect Chemistry.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
See Michelle Read
Angieville
Lurv a la Mode
The Book Smugglers
The Story Siren

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Forget You by Jennifer Echols

  1. I love “If you don’t want him, can I have him?” My sentiments exactly!

  2. Hi Chachic! I’ve been seeing this book a lot. It looks really good. Though I rarely read romance novels. but every now and then it’s nice to read something different. Nice review! God bless!

    • Hi Ruperto, it’s good that you’re willing to try YA romance. If you’re new to this kind of thing, I recommend you start with either Going Too Far or Perfect Chemistry. 🙂

  3. Aww, too bad this didn’t work for you, I know how long you’ve been waiting to read this.

    I will still read it though.:D

    • Celina, yes, you should still read it! I still read it even though I’ve seen reviews say that it isn’t as good as Going Too Far. I was still curious about it and I wanted to read all of Jennifer Echols’ books. 😛

  4. They have copies of this here now? I’m curious but so far the reviews I read aren’t really so good as compared to Going Too Far.

    Now that I realized it, I’m not one of the biggest fans of Going Too Far. I liked it, but I didn’t really love it. Maybe I need to re-read it to really appreciate it?

    • Still no actual copies! I kept bugging Fully Booked about it (sorry Fully Booked customer service people) and I got tired of waiting so I just read it in ebook format on the computer. I do that from time to time with books that I can’t wait to read but very rarely because of the eye strain. Plus ebooks usually cost just as much as actual books.

      You can order it on Kindle if you want. 🙂 But since you didn’t really love Going Too Far, I don’t recommend it for you because that one is better than this.

  5. “beautiful, snarky, way-too-perceptive boy” see that’s what I mean those adjectives shouldn’t be explicit, I should be reading the book and think “oh this character is snarky and perceptive”, I shouldn’t be told…having saying this I haven’t read this book so I can’t judge but I am sure you know what I mean 🙂

    • Hmm that was actually how Zoey described Doug. But yes, I get what you mean about coming to conclusions by yourself based on the character’s actions and not based on the narrator’s description.

  6. Sorry, Chachic. I thought about reading this but I’ve read one too many reviews of people annoyed at Zoey. I think I would be too. I haven’t even read GOING TO FAR, so I should probably do that first anyway.

  7. Pingback: Five Most Anticipated 2011 Titles « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Forget You by Jennifer Echols | Janicu's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Love Story by Jennifer Echols « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Forget You Jennifer Echols Book Review

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

