Chachic's Book Nook

Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

9 Comments

Iron Kissed is the third installment in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed reading the first two books in the series – Moon Called and Blood Bound and it’s a good thing I have the next books in the series because I could read them one right after the other.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it’s up to shapeshifting car mechanic Mercy Thompson to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not. And she’ll have to choose between the two werewolves in her life – whether she wants to or not.

If Moon Called was about werewolves and Blood Bound was about vampires, Iron Kissed deals with the remaining preternatural community – the fae. The fae have been forced to live in reservations ever since they came out to the public. Mercy’s former boss, Siebold Adelbertsmiter or more commonly known as Zee, goes to Mercy for help when a series of murders in one of the reservations stumps the fae. As with the other books in the series, Mercy agrees to help and ends up entangled in another mystery that leads her to have adventures a normal VW mechanic doesn’t usually experience.

The series just keeps on getting better with each book. There’s more worldbuilding and character development as we go along. Readers get to learn more about Mercy and her abilities as a walker and we also get to learn more about the people in her life. Samuel and Adam are, of course, present in all of the books. In Blood Bound, we learn more about Stefan and in Iron Kissed, we learn more about Zee. We also learn more about other secondary characters like Ben (the surly werewolf), Warren (the cowboy werewolf and Mercy’s close friend), Kyle (Warren’s boyfriend) and Jesse (Adam’s teenage daughter). I like that the love triangle finally got resolved in this one and it was done it such a way that there weren’t hard feelings involved. I’m not going to say anything more on that except that I’m happy with Mercy’s choice.

This one is a bit darker than the first two and by the time I read this, I was fully invested in Mercy and was rooting for her all the way. Which is why it’s hard for me when Mercy has a traumatic experience towards the end of the book. To those who’ve read the series, you know what I’m talking about. I really feel bad for Mercy and I may take some time off before I dive into the next book in the series. I don’t think I can handle more problems for her! But this is just me, I admit I get too involved in the characters that at times, it feels like they’re real friends. Another solid installment in an urban fantasy series that is worth watching for.

Warning: There are spoilers in the comments so don’t read them if you haven’t read this book.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

  1. Yep. That kind of experience is pretty traumatic and difficult to read and process, and I know that for some people it was a real turnoff to the series. But I think Patricia Briggs handles it with care and very realistically, especially with Mercy’s love life. I think you’d like BONE CROSSED.

    • I was actually surprised by my reaction. I don’t know why I minded it so much because I’ve encountered similar situations in other books and I don’t think I got this affected. I think it was handled really well but I guess I was just taken by surprise? I’m still planning to read Bone Crossed since I already have a copy but I’ll probably come back to it after reading some other YA books in my TBR.

  2. Yes, that’s exactly how I felt at the end of the book. I also still feel like the author could have changed the timing of things and Mercy could have escaped that fate. To be honest Briggs has had rapes of her protagonists in her books before and I don’t know how I feel about that (part of me wonders if it’s necessary, part of me acknowledges that this was a risky move by the author and she does handle it really well). Anyway, I do feel better about the books after this. I’m healing along with Mercy. I’m not sure I can reread this one though.

    • I also still feel like the author could have changed the timing of things and Mercy could have escaped that fate.

      Yes to this! I’ve been thinking about it and I think this is one of the reasons why I found it so hard to accept. I’ve read about similar situations before and yes I get affected by them but not this much. Like you, I also wonder if it’s necessary to the story but I do admit that she pulls it off well. Yes, it totally feels like I have to heal along with Mercy. I will read the next book but I just need some time away to accept this one.

  3. Chachic and Janicu, you may be right. I definitely see more purpose to the rape in DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST than the one here. If I was an author I’d avoid having any of my characters go through that experience unless completely necessary.

    • Holly, what a coincidence, I’ve also been comparing it to Daughter of the Forest and I kept wondering why I felt like it was more necessary in that one than here in Iron Kissed.

      I love that it looks like we all felt the same way about this book. I couldn’t stop thinking about why it bothered me so much.

  4. re our earlier conversation about other urban fantasy series that can compare well with ilona andrews’s magic, i agree that it’s difficult to come up with many examples. Mercy Thompson is good but not awesome.

    But I can give some examples of urban fantasy series that I consider kickass.

    1. Jaz Parks by Jennifer Rardin – James Bond meets Buffy-type. VERY fast paced. The romance is subtle and stretched out. It grew on me. Maybe you will like it, too.
    http://www.shelfari.com/series/Jaz-Parks

    2. Greywalker series by Kat Richardson – After being dead for two minutes, she found that she can travel the grey realms between the living and the dead.
    http://is.gd/eK7bx
    http://is.gd/eK7fd
    http://is.gd/eK7ha

    3. Twelve Treasures trilogy by Rosemary Edghill – Stumbling across a being from the world of Elphame, a mugging victim in New York City, student librarian Ruth Marlowe and her friends learn that the muggers stole a magical sword that changes mortals into Grendel-like monsters… One of those undervalued books. It has haunted me for years.
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0886776228/shelfari-20

    • Yay Michelle! Thanks for dropping by and listing the recommendations that you mentioned earlier today. What’s funny is you just had to post it in a Mercy Thompson review. 😛

      I’m going to check look all of these books up and add them on my wishlist shelf over at Goodreads. I’m still new to the urban fantasy scene so I’m interested in exploring other books.

  5. Pingback: Lizard Brain » Blog Archive » MLN on UF: Why Jayne Heller Won’t Get Raped

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

