Chachic's Book Nook

Ateneo In Lomo

19 Comments

Encouraged by what Emily said here, where she mentioned that she liked my Wow Philippines posts, I thought I’d share some more lomo pictures. I haven’t gone on vacation for quite a while so I thought it’ll be a good idea to share some old photos that I have. I already talked about lomo before but to those who don’t know, here’s a description from lomography.com:

It was in the early 1990s when two students in Vienna, Austria, discovered a small enigmatic Russian camera, the Lomo Kompakt Automat, and started a new style of artistic experimental photography of unorthodox snapshots. In the blink of an eye the Lomographic message spread around the planet.

Basically, lomo is playing around with lomo film cameras and shooting whatever is interesting for you. Lomo has this motto: “Don’t think, just shoot”, meaning you don’t have to spend hours trying to take a perfect shot. Just shoot at random and be happily surprised with what comes out. I used to love doing this, I would take my lomo cameras everywhere with me. But now I only take them when I go out-of-town because films are expensive! I thought I’d feature pictures of my alma mater today. Here are a couple of pictures of the Ateneo de Manila University, where I got my college degree. Click to embiggen any pictures.

Film: Kodak Elitechrome
Camera: Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim

I think my school looks even better in pictures than in real life. 🙂 So, so, so. Let me know what you guys think of these and if you want to see more of my lomo pictures.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “Ateneo In Lomo

  1. you’re from ateneo too?! cool!
    must be a more recent batch than i was though, because it was after i graduated that they erected the radioactive bamboo shoots. but earlier than most recent batches, because you were able to take a photo of the SECs without Matteo Ricci and Meron Lagoon/Pond =D

    • Yes, I’m from Ateneo! What batch are you? I’m technically batch 2007 but since I took up a five-year course (ECE), I always consider 2006 people my batchmates. By the time I got to fifth year, I mostly spent time with just my blockmates.

      The bamboo things aren’t there anymore! They were just part of a display for a while. And that picture of SEC was taken from Matteo Ricci! 😛 So sad that Meron Lagoon is gone now, there’s a building in that area now. I took these pictures after I graduated. I went back one day just to take pictures.

      • I’m batch 2006 =D ID number 02XXXX =D
        we’re from the same batch! and almost from the same school! my second choice was compsci, but I stuck with creative writing =)

        Thank God the radioactive bamboo shoots were taken down. As with the rest of the horrible “art” pieces. I thought they detracted from the beauty of the Dela Costa garden.

        And I didn’t recognize the Cat Walk! haha. I thought it was the elevated grass-y area between SEC B and C where Matteo Ricci now stands! =D

      • Hey, we’re batchmates! My ID number is 02something also! Oh so you’re from Humanities, right?

        I actually liked those bamboo things! Well, only for picture-taking. But yeah, dela Costa looks better without them and I guess more students can hang out in the benches there.

        That’s the walkway that leads to Matteo Ricci, it’s funny that you didn’t recognize it.

    • Yep, I was from the Humanities. =)

      Matteo Ricci rose on our fourth year, right? Because I remember a lot of orgs had to transfer there when they tore down Colayco to make room for MVP. And I’ve been back there so many times that I kind of forgot that the middle walkway never existed prior to Matteo Ricci’s existence. Haha. I kinda stopped going there after second year first sem, when I no longer had any science classes. =)

      Granted the radioactive bamboo shoots were nice to take photos of. And I would’ve liked it too, had it not been for the radioactive green disks that were lodged into the shoots. … I’m biased against the color radioactive green. haha.

      • Yes, Matteo Ricci was built during our fourth year but it looked like a warehouse than a proper building. It was a temporary area for the orgs. I was there a lot because I was in Sanggu. But I really loved Colayco. It had its own old building charm, didn’t it?

        Oh so that’s why, you just have something against radioactive green. 😛 It would’ve been weird if they put in any other color. At least green goes with the nature colors.

      • not that kind of green though. haha. =)

        Nowadays, Matteo Ricci looks the part it is supposed to play: a study hall/tambayan. But I agree that back when it was first built, it really did look like a warehouse. And almost everyone inside had to shout to be heard.

        You were in Sanggu? Cool! I was a member-for-a-day in our third year. I was tasked to transcribe the minutes of one meeting. I don’t even remember why I got roped into doing it in the first place. Haha.

        And I definitely prefer Colayco to MVP. The new building looks as if it’s trying hard to fill in the old-school charm — and failing. =/

  2. Love those pics! is that the nature surrounding your college? Quite impressive, mine looked like a jail compared to yours

    • Yes, there were actually a lot of trees inside the campus but now I think the place is full of buildings. A lot of new buildings were built after I graduated.

  3. Very beautiful, Chachic! I would love to see more pictures. And what a great place for a campus. Wow.

  4. Ok, I’ll have to admit this is really nice (considering what your pictures are of, LOL).:D But seriously, I love your lomo photos. More please.:D

    • Yeah nga pala, you’re from DLSU! Haha I’m glad that you still think they’re nice pictures. What happened to your lomo films, by the way?

      • Haha! Yeah, it’s good that Ateneo has bits of scenery inside campus.

        I had my lomo films transferred to CDs and posted the pics on my Facebook. Too many shots were blurry and dark though.:(

      • There are less green areas in Ateneo now though! More buildings and less greenery. Sad.

        Oh really? I’ll check them out when I log into Facebook. Don’t worry about your shots, mine were like that also when I first started. Now I know that lomo shots are better when you take them in bright sunlight. And I usually use slide film because of the color saturation.

  5. I didn’t know you were from Ateneo too! HIIIII 😀
    Wow, these photos are amazing. They actually make going to summer classes a bit more appealing for me, since I run from CTC to Bel every day, haha! Where is the lagoon-like place in the second photo located? Is it gone now?

    • You’re from Ateneo as well? What course? 😛 Goodness, I feel old! The lagoon-like place used to be Meron Lagoon. It used to be located where the new library is? Or the new Soc Sci building? Not too sure.

      • Oh, too bad. The lagoon really looked pretty. I thought it was in that foresty place behind the tricycle terminal. I’m in Health Sciences, which is under SOSE too! 😀

      • Now I feel older! Health Sciences is a new course, isn’t it? I don’t think we had that when I was studying in Ateneo because we didn’t have a med school back then. You can check out more Ateneo lomo pictures here.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

