Chachic's Book Nook

Chasing Adarna

10 Comments

I know I’ve mentioned Filipino Book Bloggers several times already here on my blog but I’m just so excited because the site got a makeover this weekend. To those who don’t know, Filipino Book Bloggers is a site that I created to encourage all Filipino book bloggers around the world to come together and get to know each other better. As long as you’re Filipino and you blog about books, you’re welcome to sign up.

I already wrote about this over at Filipino Book Bloggers but I just wanted to share this with my blog readers as well. My friend, Ronjo Solis has graciously designed an artwork for the site’s banner, entitled Chasing Adarna. Click on the link to check it out. Here’s the full version of the image, click to embiggen and see the details:

So, what do you guys think? Gorgeous, right? 🙂 Here’s Ronjo’s explanation about the artwork:

The main focal point of the artwork is the kids soaring through reading. We are at our highest and our happiest when we do the things we love. Kids well represent that sort of pure happiness, so that’s what I thought to draw. 🙂 The text in the book spine is Alibata for Filipino = Pilipinu.

I definitely agree with what Ronjo said, we are at our happiest when we do what we love and I know that in most of our cases, that’s when we read. I love the artwork and message behind it, how it represents the idea that we can soar through the skies (or wherever we want to go) using our imagination and the books that we read. It’s like a magic carpet ride, only instead of a magic carpet, we have the magic of books. I also like that the kids in the artwork look Filipino and that Ronjo used Alibata (a pre-Spanish Philippine writing system) for the book spine.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Chasing Adarna

  1. Love the artwork. That would be an awesome mural on a bedroom wall or personal library for a book lover.

  2. The picture is beautiful! I love the concept, especially the girl trying to catch the feathers.

    Just to let you know, I have an award for you here:

    http://wings-of-daedalus.blogspot.com/2010/08/my-very-first-award.html.

  3. work of art! I love it! a real Filipino theme. Proud to be Pinoy! I remember Superbook hahaha!

  4. Yes I agree with you Chachic, Filipinos are talented. I make it as my wallpaper in PC it looks great! very inspiring to read books

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

