Chachic's Book Nook

Retro Friday: The Changeover by Margaret Mahy

18 Comments

Retro Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Angie over at Angieville and focuses on reviewing books from the past. This can be an old favorite, an under-the-radar book you think deserves more attention, something woefully out of print, etc.

I decided to make my review of The Changeover by Margaret Mahy a Retro Friday post because it isn’t that popular. I first found out about this book from the amazing Sarah Rees Brennan, author of The Demon’s Lexicon and The Demon’s Covenant in her post about her favorite couples from books. Click here to check it out. I love the way Sarah does summaries, they are just so hilarious. She mentioned Gen and Irene in that post as well as Sophie and Howl! Well that did it, I had to read The Changeover then.

Too bad the book isn’t available here. I decided to order it from Better World Books and I’m glad they had an affordable ex-library copy. I’m so happy when it arrived! My copy is old but I love it because I feel like it has history. It says in the publication page that it’s a first American publication edition so my copy is even older than I am, it was published in 1984. Isn’t that interesting? The book is in good condition too, it doesn’t look like it’s 26 years old.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

When her little brother seems to become possessed by an evil spirit, fourteen-year-old Laura seeks the help of the strangely compelling older boy at school who she is convinced has supernatural powers.

The novel is set in the 80s in Gardendale, New Zealand, where Laura Chant lives with her mother, Kate, and her three-year-old brother, Jacko. The story starts with Laura getting a premonition, a warning of sorts that something terrible will happen. She tells her mother who shrugs it off as irrelevant. Laura is forced to ignore it and she goes to school. At the end of her school day, she picks up Jacko at the babysitter’s and they pass by an antique store on their way home. They go inside and meet Carmody Braque and Laura senses something wrong with this person. Carmody Braque looks particularly happy to see Jacko and proceeds to make his mark on Jacko’s hand by stamping an image of his face on it. Jacko then becomes increasingly ill and only Laura knows that Jacko is being possessed by Carmody Braque. Laura feels that she has no choice but to go to Sorensen “Sorry” Carlisle, the seemingly harmless seventh-form prefect at her school, for help because she knows that he’s really a witch.

I’m so glad I decided to read this even if I had to order the book from abroad because it’s totally worth it. I now have another book to add to my list of favorites. Even though it was written before I was born, I could still relate to this book and to Laura, as she undergoes changes that she’s still coming to understand. It’s not enough that Laura has to worry about adolescence, she also has to deal with the supernatural aspects of her life because of what happened to her brother. I love how Margaret Mahy handles Laura’s coming of age story. The prose in this one is just lovely, I haven’t read anything like it. The descriptions are very real and believable.

The subtitle of this book is A Supernatural Romance so give me a moment to dwell on Sorry and Laura. Sorry is not your typical male protagonist. Yes, he’s self-assured but his confidence really masks his fears. Because of bad experiences in the past, Sorry has chosen to be aloof and to curb his feelings. Laura even tells him that he doesn’t have a heart (Didn’t Sophie tell Howl something similar? I’m not entirely sure). But oh he is such a great character. He reads romance novels and is confused when his dealings with Laura don’t go according to those books. I think Sorry and Laura are good for each other. They both go through changes because of the other person and that says something about their relationship.

If it’s not yet obvious, I highly recommend this to other fantasy fans. It’s an oldie but goodie. Let me close this review with a tweet from Sarah. I tweeted her to let her know that I was reading The Changeover based on her recommendation. This was her tweet after that:

@sarahreesbrenna If I ever write a romance like Gen/Attolia Howl/Sophie & Sorry/Laura I’ll die happy even if my last words=Lots of alligators in this hatbox

I hope you do write something like that, Sarah! I will be delighted to read it.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Retro Friday: The Changeover by Margaret Mahy

  1. Yay! It sounds like you loved this book as much as I did! 🙂 My review is here. Isn’t Carmody Braque is one of the creepiest villains ever? I love the way he appears in such an everyday setting, further enhancing his spookiness. Margaret Mahy’s writing totally blew me away, and I can’t even describe how much I loved Sorry! I adore his awkward misplaced confidence, the way he feels uncomfortable embracing his humanity, and the simple way he calls Laura “Chant.” Such a great book with completely unique and believable characters! Margaret Mahy’s The Tricksters is in my current TBR pile & I am really excited to get to it. 🙂

    • Yes, I loved it! I’m going to check out your review in a bit. Carmody Braque is really creepy! He appeared out of nowhere. Margaret Mahy’s writing is amazing, isn’t it? I can’t even describe it properly. I love that Sorry felt like he had to close off the world but he can’t help but start to let people in because of Laura. I have Margaret Mahy’s The Haunting in my TBR! Let me know what you think of The Tricksters!

  2. Oh wow, I owned this book (with that exact cover) but never read it! It was assigned as a school text one year, though my teacher decided to do another novel instead and my mum ended up giving my copy away. Now I wish I would have read it!

    • Steph, really?! That’s too bad! I think it would’ve been great if this book was assigned as required reading when I was in school, I would’ve loved it then. I hope you can still locate a copy and read it.

  3. I always say that Sorry is one of my favorite male YA leads. When I read this in high school (in the 90s), Sorry was just as weird and inexplicable as I thought boys were. Alien creatures they are.

    This is my favorite Mahy though I also liked THE TRICKSTERS (though I can’t really remember it very well, it’s been so long), THE CATALOGUE OF THE UNIVERSE (has another cute romance in it), and ALCHEMY. Which is all the Mahy’s I have read.

    • They are indeed alien creatures. Even now, I still don’t understand how they think considering I have a lot of guy friends.

      So many other Mahy books! I will take note of them and ask around if they’re available over here. I wonder why her books aren’t that popular. I think they’re pretty hard to find.

  4. This was my first and only Mahy, and I loved it. I only read it this year, but it certainly won’t be the last one I read by her. I think I’ll be picking up The Tricksters next. I agree that the whole book is so relatable, even if it is old and a supernatural romance. And the prose! Oh my, I wish I could bottle it up and keep it on my shelf.

    • Just like you, this is my first and the only Mahy I’ve read so far although I’m taking note of the others. It’s funny that even though it’s set in the 80s, you could still totally relate to the book, right? That’s a mark of a good book, right there.

  5. I read this one after reading one too many absolutely glowing reviews of it. I’ve always really enjoyed the Australian and New Zealand YA writers and it was definitely a fun, unique story. I don’t think Sorry and Laura stood out for me as much as for most others who read it. But I’m definitely glad I know what they’re talking about now!

    • This is the first YA that I’ve read that’s set in New Zealand. Aww too bad Sorry and Laura didn’t make that much of an impression on you. I was wondering what you thought of this book while typing up the review because I know that you’re not a fan of Howl either and Sorry reminded me of Howl.

  6. Hmmm I love Gen/Attolia/Howl/Sophie I’ll have to find a copy of this book. Thanks for the recommendation!

  7. I’m glad you liked this one too. It was such a fun read for me. We must really be on the same page or something lately cause I was planning on writing about it for a RF post tomorrow too! 😉 Great minds think alike and all that!

    • Michelle, you should totally do a Retro Friday post of this book! I’d love to know what you thought of it (I mean aside from the fact that you loved it). I love it when we end up feeling the same about a book.

  8. Pingback: July 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Better World Books Free Worlwide Shipping! « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples II « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: The Changeover « By Singing Light

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

