Chachic's Book Nook

My First Filipino YA Book

13 Comments

I have a confession to make, dear readers. I have never read a Filipino YA book, which for me means a YA book written by a Filipino and at least partly set in the Philippines. I know, ironic, right? I live in the Philippines and I love reading YA novels but I’ve never read a Filipino YA novel. I didn’t even know they existed! I have the wonderful Tarie, the blogger behind Into the Wardrobe and Asia in the Heart, World on the Mind, to thank for opening my eyes. I left a comment in her blog yesterday saying that I would love to read a well-written Filipino YA novel if it exists and she tweeted to say that it does exist and that the launch of the Philippine edition will be later that day. She was talking about Tall Story by Candy Gourlay. I’m so glad that Tarie invited me and that I was able to go to the book launch. She introduced me to bookish people who attended the launch. I am still amazed (and ashamed) at my lack of knowledge of Filipino publications. But I promise to become a better Filipino book blogger by reading more YA books by Filipino authors.

Here’s the summary of the book from the official site:

Andi hasn’t seen her brother for eight years and when he steps off the plane from the Philippines, she cannot believe her eyes. He’s tall. EIGHT FOOT TALL.

But Bernardo is not what he seems. Bernardo is a hero, Bernardo works miracles, and Bernardo has an amazing story to tell.

Please click on the link to check out the book trailer because for some reason, I can’t embed videos from vimeo here on WordPress (I tried searching for ways but couldn’t make it work). The cover on the left is the cover for the Philippine edition published by Cacho Publishing House and it’s special because there are some tidbits that weren’t included in the UK edition, not to mention that it has illustrations. The cover on the right is the UK cover, which has been released already. This book will be released in the US some time next year. I got a copy for myself and asked Candy to sign it and great news for you guys, I have a signed copy that I will give away as soon as I’ve read this book. I’m still in the middle of another book but I will read Tall Story as soon as I’m done.

Also, if you want to know more about the book, Tarie has an interview with Candy which can be found here. To anyone who’s interested, you can now buy Tall Story from The Book Depository, click here. The Philippine edition is available in Powerbooks and National Bookstore branches for P275.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

13 thoughts on “My First Filipino YA Book

  1. Thanks for the heads up! :) I’m on the search for books written by Filipino authors for a reading challenge, and it’s a plus if it’s YA :)

    And since you’re giving a copy away, I think I’ll wait before buying my copy. :p

  2. Woot woot for Filipino YA books!!!

  3. Just like you, I’m ashamed to admit that I’m clueless about Filipino YA. I’ve only read Confessions with My Sixteen-Year-Old Self by Gerese Axalan, and I really enjoyed that.

    I will definitely pick up this book, although it would be much better if I win a signed copy, haha!:)

    • I’m going to take note of that title that you mentioned and hopefully I’ll find it in one of the local bookstores. We really need to read more Filipino YA so we can recommend these books to other people. :)

      Hahaha, feel free to join my giveaway!

  4. hey chachic! thanks for the plug and i really hope you like the book! it’s an “all-read” my publisher in the UK says – so really, though teens may like it, younger kids hopefully will read it as well … and parents, and seniors, and …

    happy reading!

    candy

    • Candy! Thanks for dropping by my blog. I have a feeling I’m going to really like your book. I read the first few paragraphs while at the book launch and it looks hilarious. I’ll post a review when I’m done reading. :)

  5. Whoa I had no idea that there was such a thing as a Filipino YA book. I’ve heard of Tall Story but I didn’t know what it’s about. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Me too, Kris! And I live here. I’m glad you’ve heard about this one even if you didn’t know what it’s about because that means the book has been getting some buzz. I do hope you’ll be able to pick it up and read it.

  6. Pingback: In My Mailbox: July 25 « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Review and Giveaway: Tall Story by Candy Gourlay « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Before Ever After Book Launch « Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,244 other followers