In My Mailbox: July 18

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week. You can join this week’s meme by going to this post.

These are the books that I got this week, which I bought from different bookstores.

From Fully Booked:
Heroes of the Valley by Jonathan Stroud
On the Edge by Ilona Andrews
Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

I’m interested in Heroes of the Valley because I loved the Bartimaeus Trilogy by the same author. I love the cover of the edition that I got. I have the same reason for getting On the Edge, I loved the Kate Daniels books by the same author. I finished reading the first three books in the Sevenwaters series and I’m currently reading Heir to Sevenwaters. Juliet Marillier is another newly-discovered favorite author.

Powerbooks is on sale for a whole month so I got a bunch of books from them this week:

Looking for Alaska by John Green (only P37!)
Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs
Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs
Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

Can’t wait to read the Mercy Thompson books! I’m pretty new to the urban fantasy genre. I decided to read more books in that genre since I loved the Kate Daniels books (sorry if I keep mentioning them) and several book blogger friends recommended the books by Patricia Briggs. I’ve already read some of her epic fantasy books and I thought they were great so I’m looking forward to these.

I finally got my Better World Books order:

Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley
The Changeover by Margaret Mahy

My first order never arrived but they gave a refund so I decided to give them a try again. So far, Better World Books has the most reasonable shipping rates to the Philippines. Both of these are ex-library books. I’m a huge McKinley fan and I haven’t read Outlaws of Sherwood because it’s not available here so I’m glad I finally got a copy. I’ve heard that The Changeover is an awesome supernatural love story so I’m excited to read that one as well.

That’s it for me, how about you, what’s in your mailbox? πŸ™‚

50 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: July 18

    • I see that you also got Looking for Alaska this week! Hope you get to check out Powerbooks soon. πŸ™‚ But the sale will go on for a month so no need to rush.

  1. I have Moon Called on my TBR list as well.
    I will have to check out The Changeover. Thanks for the heads up.
    Rikki

    • I was trying to decide if I should just get the first book and then I thought, what the heck, I’ll just get the four of them. I hope to read them soon! Let me know if you get around to reading either Moon Called or The Changeover.

  2. I LOVE the Mercy series, I hope you like them as well! The first one took me a while to get into, but now I’m addicted:) Can’t wait to see what you think!

    • I have a feeling I’m going to like them! I liked the Patricia Briggs books that I’ve read so far and they say that if you love the Kate Daniels books, you’ll also love the Mercy Thompson ones.

  3. LOVE John Green. Looking for Alaska may just be my favorite of his, but An Abundance of Katherines is hilarious. Looking forward to your Heir to Sevenwaters review, too.

    • Looking for Alaska is my first John Green! I’ve been hearing so many good things about him and when I saw that book on sale, I grabbed it right away. An Abundance of Katherines is already in my wishlist. πŸ™‚ Still in the middle of Heir to Sevenwaters and I haven’t posted my review of Child of the Prophecy.

    • There are a lot of Juliet Marillier fans out there! My book blogger friends were the ones who recommended her books to me and since then, I’ve found several other fans in Goodreads. πŸ™‚

    • ME TOO! I first saw it in a blog post by Sarah Rees Brennan, where she talked about her favorite couples. She mentioned Howl and Sophie and Gen and Irene so of course, I had to add The Changeover to my wishlist when I saw it there as well. Can’t wait to read it. πŸ™‚ I plan to read it after I finish Heir to Sevenwaters.

      • So I just finished it and you are going to die!! It is A.MAZ.ING. Loved every bit of it. I’m just giddy that I finally discovered this one and can’t wait to tell others about it. Have you started in yet?

      • I’m just at chapter 3! Can’t wait to finish it. I wanted to read last night but other things got in the way. I’ll be waiting for your review. πŸ™‚ Do you have her other books? I also have The Haunting, which I plan to read after I finish The Changeover.

    • Yay, I look forward to reading it! I’m excited to read the Patricia Briggs books but I realized that I haven’t been reading YA lately so I decided to read some of the YA books that I already have before I continue with my non-YA stuff.

    • I will probably post a review of it when I’m done reading. πŸ™‚ Although I’m not sure when that’ll happen. I have so many books in my TBR pile.

  4. Oh my…! You got Looking for Alaska for PHP 37? Wow, I really have to visit Powerbooks soon! My friends keep on recommending the book, but I haven’t come across one. Which branch did you buy it from? πŸ™‚

    • I got it from the Trinoma branch but it’s a dilapidated copy and there was only one copy there. Good luck in hunting down for it! I think Fully Booked has copies in certain branches. Fully Booked The Block and High Street are having sales this weekend. Maybe you can call them and ask about it? πŸ™‚

  5. Hi chachic! I see you around at julie’s and celina’s, and I knew that you had a book blog, but it took a google search for Juliet Marillier’s Seer of Sevenwaters to turn up the link to your blog. ^^;;

    Anyway, glad to see another Juliet Marillier fan in the Philippines. I’ve been reading her work since she was first published in the US (after I saw a review of Daughter of the Forest in the free store newsletter of B.Dalton, or was it B&N? during a trip to the US). It also helped that I was already a fan of John Jude Palencar’s work at the time. I immediately snapped up a trade paperback copy on my next trip to the US. I *had* a hardcover remainder copy of Son of the Shadows bought the year after that, but I lent it to a friend who lived in Marikina at na-Ondoy siya!

    Anyway, my replacement copy is a paperback but I’m still hoping to be able to find a hardcover copy used. I got a copy of Heir to Sevenwaters from a National tartan books table (same as Celina!), but I have to say that in this case I love the cover in your British edition (it has Cathal at the back cover! And Clodagh holding Becan in the front cover!) more than the rather static John Jude Palencar art in the US edition.

    Since you read YA books, I want to recommend a book that has a similar epic feel as Marillier’s books, but without the heavy drama. Sherryl Jordan’s Winter of Fire:

    A dangerous world…a powerful young woman.

    Elsha is one of the Quelled: a branded people, doomed always to mine coal to warm the ruling class, the Chosen.

    But Elsha has strange visions that set her apart — and a strong spirit that condemns her to death. Her life is saved when she is called to be Handmaiden to the Firelord, the most powerful being on the planet.

    Elsha is the first of her kind ever to be so honored — and both the Chosen and her fellow Quelled are stunned. But her powers and visions grow ever stronger, even in the face of extreme prejudice.

    Yet Elsha must learn the hard way that you can’t play with fire without getting burned.

    I’m not sure if it’s still in print though. I got mine new from National Bookstore more than 10 years ago (!). But it’s definitely worth looking into.

    • Hi Kim! Wow, thanks for searching for my blog. And here I thought it was easy to find.

      Yay, Juliet Marillier fans unite! She’s not that popular here in the Philippines, right? I’ve been trying to get Celina to read her books since she already has copies. Whoa, you’ve been reading Marillier way before! I only discovered her last year.

      All of my Sevenwaters copies are paperbacks but I believe Celina sold hardcovers of the first three books? I’d love to have hardcovers of all the Sevenwaters books but it’s not an urgent need. I can hunt down copies in the future.

      You know what, Winter of Fire’s plot sounds might familiar. I believe I’ve read this book before but I don’t remember the details anymore. Maybe I just borrowed it from someone because I don’t have a copy of it. Thanks for the recommendation though! If I ever get a chance to read it again, I’ll give it a try. Too bad it didn’t leave much of an impression the first time I read it.

      • Actually, your blog is rather easy to find, it’s just that I wasn’t looking for it (mea culpa!).

        I’ve been reading good YA fiction (and no, the Sweet Valley books all of my classmates were reading did not count, and yes, you can guess my approximate age based on that statement LOL) since I was in elementary school. But before the Harry Potter (and later Twilight) craze hit town, good YA and fantasy books were very difficult to find in mainstream bookstores. Those were the days before Page One/Fully Booked and the Powerbooks Greenbelt branch… So a lot of my books were purchased in the US during trips abroad with my grandparents.

        I was lucky to have a grandfather who encouraged my love of reading. He started it by giving me an old copy of Arabian Nights and the unabridged/uncensored Grimm’s Fairy Tales when I was in second or third grade, so you can imagine what fun I had grossing out my classmates with the “original versions” of well-known fairy tales.

        I think my comfort reads during the time that I actually *was* a young adult included C.S. Lewis (at least he was relatively easy to find in Natio! I couldn’t say the same for Tolkien at that time), Robin McKinley (I own a copy of the “old school” Hero and the Crown edition you commented about at Celina’s), Patricia McKillip (after I bought the remaindered hardcover copy of Winter Rose that started my ongoing interest in both Patricia McKillip and Kinuko Y. Craft), Patricia Wrede (National only had Dealing With Dragons, so I bought the rest in the US), Ursula le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Lloyd Alexander.

        I also kept going back to Winter of Fire because at the time I felt that it was such a philosophical/political/thought-provoking book. When I reread it as an adult, I saw that it was rather heavy-handed about delivering its message, but if I had a kid, I’d still rather give him/her something like that than a throwaway book packager series like, say, Gossip Girl (or even Twilight).

        Anyway, if you don’t mind a few more book recommendations, I’d like to suggest two trilogies:

        L.J. Smith’s The Forbidden Game trilogy. I generally find L.J. Smith’s vampire books to be much better written than Twilight (although, my sister bought the new Vampire Diaries books that she wrote to continue the original series, and they didn’t even read like L.J. Smith anymore, what with all the randomly inserted fangirl Japanese phrases and the inclusion of kitsunes as antagonists), which is why I always recommend them to any Twi-hards that I meet. I also emphasize that L.J. Smith is not a copycat, as she’d been writing since the early/mid nineties. But my favorite L.J. Smith books are The Hunter, The Chase, and The Kill from The Forbidden Game trilogy (which has been reprinted into a TPB omnibus available at Powerbooks). It’s the series that got me interested in Norse mythology, it has nods to Alice in Wonderland, and it was my first encounter with cyberpunk. And considering that Archway was the book packager arm of Simon and Schuster at the time, the quality of the writing and the themes covered were rather unique and would probably have been better off in a full-blown dark/urban fantasy.

        Also recommending Jan Siegel’s Prospero’s Children, The Dragon Charmer, and The Witch Queen. The first book was also reviwed in the same newsletter I discovered Daughter of the Forest from, and since I’m a sucker for anything Atlantis-related, I gave it a try. It’s the only one in the trilogy that can be classed as YA though, I find books 2 and 3 to be a bit too dark.

      • You can also follow my updates on Twitter or the blog’s Facebook page if that’s more convenient for you. There are buttons in the sidebar for following.

        LOL I read the Sweet Valley books when I was younger because my cousins passed on their copies to me. I also read the Babysitters Club. When an aunt found out that that’s what I was reading, she gave me Newbery books and I fell in love with them. I started collecting all of the Newbery books available in National. You’re right, it’s amazing how easy it is to get books nowadays compared to a few years back. That’s why I’m thankful for Fully Booked, Better World Books and the Book Depository.

        I think I’ve read all of the authors that you mentioned – McKinley, McKillip, Wrede, le Guin, L’Engle and Alexander. I plan to reread some of their work so I can review them here on the blog.

        Well, there are so many YA books out there that you can recommend to a kid, and more are coming out everyday. You don’t even have to bring up Gossip Girl or Twilight. YA has become such a hit the past few years and I’m grateful because it’s a genre that I enjoy reading. Have you tried reading YA books that were released recently?

        Thanks again for the recommendations. L.J. Smith isn’t a big priority for me right because I read the first Vampire Diaries book and didn’t like it. I feel bad for her though because they’re taking away the series from her hands. She’s not going to write the rest of the books in the series, right? 😦

        Prospero’s Children has been recommended before but I haven’t had a chance to check it out. I get most of my recommendations from fellow book bloggers. I’d recommend that you check out other blogs too because you might discover more people who have the same taste as you do when it comes to reading choices. πŸ™‚

      • Hmmm. For the newer YA releases, I’ve only read Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series, Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted spin-off books, and Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series (not done with them yet! But I was around back in the day when Cassie Clare was a hot topic in HP fandom because she plagiarized another fanfic writer’s work).

        Any new book by Diana Wynne Jones is also on auto-read/buy. I also read Francesca Lia Block and Holly Black when I can get my hands on their books.

        I’ve been meaning to get around to reading Jonathan Stroud’s Bartimaeus trilogy and Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games, Alex Flinn and Shannon Hale’s books, but my TBR pile is about a mile long as is since YA isn’t the only genre I read. I do a lot of traditional regency romances as well as urban fantasy/paranormal, not to mention the manga series I follow as well…

        Oh yeah, since you read a lot of Newbery books, have you read Elizabeth Marie Pope’s The Perilous Gard? It’s a retelling of the Tam Lin folk tale set in the Elizabethan era. After reading Winter Rose I went around looking for other Tam Lin inspired novels, and this one and Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin were among the best of the crop. Haven’t been able to get my hands on Wynne Jones’ Fire and Hemlock though, so I can’t comment on that book yet (but usually anything by Diana Wynne Jones is good anyway). I also liked Janet McNaughton’s An Earthly Knight (published in 2003/2004), but not as much as Perilous Gard (maybe because the medieval period isn’t my favorite era?).

    • I forgot to ask, does Book Depository ship to the Philippines? I remember someone recommending that I get my Magic Realist Press tarot decks from there, but when I checked I couldn’t find the Philippines in the drag down list for countries (which usually means they don’t accept Philippine credit cards).

      For L.J. Smith, Vampire Diaries was actually my least favorite series from her body of work. A bit too soap opera-ish for my taste. Forbidden Game has a completely different atmosphere and really does read more like a drak fantasy than a twee vampire romance, so that’s the one I recommend to the non-Twilight readers that I want to introduce L.J. Smith to. ^_^ And yes, I think the “new” Vampire Diaries books must have been written by a ghostwriter, because the writing style and even the voice of the old characters seems completely different.

      • The Book Depository does ship to the Philippines, our country is included in this list. Several Filipino book bloggers have already ordered books from that store. I wrote about my Book Depository experience here. You can also check out Better World Books, I’ve ordered from that site twice already.

        Oh I meant that the current Vampire Diaries are all written by L.J. Smith but I heard from the blogosphere that she doesn’t actually own the series and they’re planning to take her away from the whole thing. The next books in the series will be written by a ghostwriter.

      • Hmmm. So shipping to the Philippines is a relatively new development then? That’s great! And the books get delivered straight to your door? Even better! I hate ordering stuff that I have to pick up from the post office later. Those customs people are eeeeeeeeevil. Books are supposed to be tax free right? There was a time where I ordered remaindered books and they calculated “taxes” based on the cover price and not on the invoiced price! Plus, they tend to pay extra attention to packages that arrive in an amazon.com box as well.

      • Yep, the Book Depository started delivering to the Philippines late last year. Better World Books used to have an international shipping fee but now it’s free. Orders from both are delivered straight to your house and they’re efficient when it comes to refunds when the order doesn’t arrive (I’ve experienced that).

        Books aren’t taxable, post offices should know that. I’ve never been taxed for the books that I pick up from the post office.

      • I must be really unlucky with the post office in my area then. I know I’m supposed to pay the 50 peso storage fee, but like I said, the customs people in my post office really take note of anything in an amazon box. And when you argue that books aren’t taxable by law, they insist that they don’t know anything about that. Since then I’ve never had books shipped here from the US. Kinakarga ko nalang sa balikbayan boxes na pinapadala ng cousins ko.

        Speaking of books, would you believe that last night I was able to score a used copy of Diana Wynne-Jones’ Fire and Hemlock at Booksale? And on the same day that I told you that I’ve been looking for a copy for ages! Meant to be talaga. ^_^ Anyway, I’d better stop posting comments in this post before it turns into a bulletin board rather than a blog post!

      • Really? That’s weird! You should print out copies of the law (I Googled it before but I forgot to take note of what law it is). It’s weird that they don’t recognize it in your post office. I guess I should feel lucky that they do in the post office near my house. In any case, you can give Book Depository and Better World Books a try. πŸ™‚

        Congrats on getting a copy of Fire and Hemlock! I don’t have a copy of that one yet but I have other DWJ books in my pile. LOL feel free to comment in other posts or in the blog’s Facebook page.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

