Chachic's Book Nook

Characters I’d Set Up with My Friends

14 Comments

Inspired by Angie’s post of characters she’d let her daughter date and Michelle’s post of characters she’d want her son to be friends with, I decided to come up with my own list. Since I don’t have any kids and I don’t even have a boyfriend, I thought I’d come up with a list of characters I’d set up with my friends. You see, dear reader, now that my friends and I are in our mid-twenties, we get asked from time to time if we’d be willing to be set up on a blind date. So now I think it’s fun to list fictional characters that I’d set up with my friends if they were real. Please note that I’m being generous here because I’m willing to introduce these guys to my friends when I’d rather have them for myself. πŸ™‚

Here goes:

Eugenides from the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner – I’m sure no one will be surprised by this choice. I go on and on about how I love Gen and all of Megan Whalen Turner’s books. Gen is smart, funny and intensely loyal. He’s a good liar but you always know when he’s telling the truth.

Vidanric from Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith – The strong and silent type, he keeps the court mask firmly in place at all times. Which makes it even better when you find out his feelings.

Corlath from The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley – A handsome warrior king who has glowing eyes when he gets angry, what’s not to like? Obviously he has magic, which is always a good thing, in my opinion.

Curran from the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – The proverbial cat, he likes to play around and he has a temper but is always there to help out when there’s a crisis. Plus, he’s a very polite person. He likes the phrases “please” and “thank you”.

Red, also known as Hugh of Harrowfield from Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier – He’s steadfast and a born leader and he has his whole life planned out but gives all of it up for the love of his life.

I have a runner-up candidate because I just can’t stop at five:

Jonah Griggs from Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – Ahh Jonah Griggs, the scary leader of the cadets, who would’ve thought that you’re really a softie. Who can’t help but love you with these wonderful lines “I’m here because of you. You’re my priority. Your happiness, in some fucked way, is tuned in to mine. Get that through your thick skull. Would I like it any other way? Hell, yes, but I don’t think that will be happening in my lifetime.” Jonah is a fighter and he’s willing to fight for those he loves.

I may be having a wonderful reading year if the last three names in this list can serve as an indication. I read those three books this year and all of them have earned a spot in my list of favorites. So that’s my list, do you agree? Any other fictional hunks that you’d like to add? πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “Characters I’d Set Up with My Friends

  1. I don’t know any of those characters!

    I would definitely set my friends up with:

    F’nor from Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books. I have a MAJOR crush on him.

    I can’t think of any others at the moment. I will read Magic Bites soon. I promise!

  2. pick one for me! hahaha!

  3. Carin, you’ve got to remedy that situation! I hope you get to read some of these books. I’m glad you have Magic Bites in your TBR. Thanks for recommending F’nor, is he in any of the Pern books that I have in my TBR? I should bump those up now that you mentioned that you love them.

    Apple, pick any of the guys in this list! I’d love for you to read any of these books. πŸ™‚

  4. I got dibs on Vidanric! Ha, I’d intentionally lose a race for him *heart*

  5. Awwww, what a cute idea Chachic! Lovely post πŸ™‚

  6. Haha, no surprise on Gen. I don’t know any of the others though…I really should read more.:)

  7. Evert, remember the line “How about a wager?” – that one’s a winner.

    Steph, like I said, I got inspired by Angie and Michelle. πŸ™‚ This list was pretty fun to do.

    Celina, I was thinking of adding Howl! But he was bumped off the list by the others. Don’t worry, you’ll know these characters soon enough. You know how I love to recommend books that I love.

  8. This is fun, Chachic. And Vidranic? I’m reading Crown Duel right now. πŸ˜‰

  9. Holly, I really had fun making this list. πŸ™‚ Oooh so glad to hear that you’re reading Crown Duel, it’s one of my favorite books and I’m a huge Sherwood Smith fan. Let me know what you think when you’re done reading it.

  10. “He likes the phrases Please and Thank You”

    I. Died. Laughing.

    Wonderful list!!

  11. Michelle, I was laughing when I wrote that! I couldn’t put the entire line in there because it’s spoilery so I had to come up with another way to mention it. Glad you liked it. πŸ˜›

  12. Yes, yes, yes! I agree wholeheartedly. And what a fun twist to put on it! I am already musing about the guys I’d set my friends up with. Hehehe. And, yeah, Curran would be at the top of the list. Rowr.

  13. Thanks for this idea, Angie! I enjoyed doing it. I’m going to put up a second list today, female characters I’d like to set up with my guy friends. πŸ™‚ And yes, Curran is amazing. Have you read the scenes from his POV? Ilona uploaded it here in Smashwords.

  14. Pingback: Characters I’d Set Up with My Friends (Part 2) « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

