Love at First Click by Elizabeth Chandler

I Do and At First Sight by Elizabeth Chandler are my favorite books in the Love Stories series so it’s only natural that I gobbled up Love at First Click when I got the chance to read it.

Here’s the summary from the Harper Collins website:

I could no longer deny what the heat in my cheeks meant when I was around Flynn. I was falling for my sister’s boyfriend.

There’s just something about Flynn. Yes, he’s a tall, unbelievably gorgeous, dark-haired football player, but… he’s also sweet and nice and super easy to talk to. It’s lucky I’m the photographer for the school paper, because my camera likes Flynn almost as much as I do. Unfortunately for me, so does my sister, and there’s no way I can nab Flynn with her in the picture.

But could this be the real thing?

Hayley is the school newspaper’s photographer. She’s only a sophomore but she’s really good at what she does. She’s the only photographer allowed to cover football games because Coach says the team has to focus and not be distracted by other people. Hayley knows she’s no distraction. She’s not like her older sister Breeze, blond, green-eyed and a bombshell. Breeze suits her name because she flits from one guy to another. Everyone is surprised when Breeze gets dumped by her quarterback boyfriend. Although no one was surprised when Breeze starting going out with Flynn, the football star who also got dumped because he broke his arm in a game.

Suddenly, Hayley’s not so comfortable with her role as the not-so-popular sister. Hayley has a camera crush on Flynn, her camera hones in on him whenever she covers games. Now that he’s dating her sister, he’s too close for comfort. Is Hayley willing to admit that she has more than a camera crush?

This is a pretty thin book that’s perfect for a summer read, you can bring it to the beach and finish reading it in one sitting. Most of Elizabeth Chandler’s YA romances have similar plots – they usually have characters who love sports and the same is true in this one although Hayley is not an athlete. Hayley’s pretty easy to like, she’s a down to earth, easygoing type of person. Even though she doesn’t have much in common with Breeze, she tries to get along with her sister because their dad is spacey and their mom passed away when they were young. This is a fun book to read if you’re looking for something light but I still prefer I Do and At First Sight. The ending of this one was a little abrupt for me. I was hoping for an epilogue or something.

6 thoughts on “Love at First Click by Elizabeth Chandler

  1. I’ve read a book with a similiar cover but I don’t remember what the title is. It’s from harper Teen too, it’s about a girl and boy who get close practicing soccer with each other. I enjoyed it, it was light and breezy and just perfect for a few hours entertainment. I might check this out though it sounds like I’ve read something eerily similiar to this book. I can’t think of it though.

    • Hmm I wonder what was that book that you read. If you’re planning to read a book by Elizabeth Chandler, I recommend I Do or At First Sight because those are my favorites. 🙂 Also, Summer in the City was pretty good as well.

  2. OMG I remember the Love Story days from high school! 🙂 I Do had a cult pass-around status in my class, hahaha. Cool, she’s written pala outside of the series. Will look her books up 🙂

    • Most of my friends got hooked on the series when I was in high school. In college, my friends and I compared notes on what books were our favorites. 🙂 Both I Do and At First Sight were really popular. I also reviewed Summer in the City here if you want to check it out.

  3. Pingback: July 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Did you read this in hard copy? coz i agree the ending was abrupt. I read it as an ebook and i can’t help wondering if a part of the ending was missing. I also love i do at at first sight, i also like hot summer nights 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

