Chachic's Book Nook

North and South

18 Comments

Last night, I was trying to work on more items for Bloggiesta when our internet connection started acting up. I couldn’t log on to any of the sites so I decided to put the revisions on hold and just watch North and South, which I’ve been wanting to watch for the longest time. North and South is BBC mini-series based on Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel about Margaret Hale, a middle class southerner who is forced to move to the northern town of Milton. Here’s a brief summary from IMDb:

This series operates on many levels. At the heart of the series is the tempestuous relationship between Margaret Hale, a young woman from a southern middle class family who finds herself uprooted to the north, and John Thornton, a formerly poverty-stricken cotton mill owner terrified of losing the viability of his business. Around them are class struggles between the workers and mill owners and ideological struggles between the industrial North and the agrarian South.

I can’t remember where I first heard about this mini-series but I’m pretty sure it’s from one of the book bloggers that I follow. I know that both Angie and Chelle are fans and I’m sure there are others out there. I was hesitant to watch it because I haven’t read Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel but you don’t need to read the book to understand the movie. To further cement my decision to watch this, it was brought up in one of my Goodreads group discussions. Since it’s a long weekend over here, I thought it would be good to settle down at one point and watch a movie that I’ve been eagerly anticipating. I wasn’t planning on watching the whole thing in one sitting. It has four parts and each is around an hour or so. I ended up staying up until 2am to finish the whole thing because I wanted more of Richard Armitage. ♥ This movie has a Pride and Prejudice vibe, with the main characters getting the wrong first impression of each other. Mr. Thornton also has the dark and brooding male protagonist down pat. The movie might seem a little grim because of the setting and the struggles of the workers but it has its sweet moments. My favorite scenes include the handshake, the “Look back” moment and the ending. If you’ve seen this, you know what I’m talking about. πŸ™‚

Here’s a hilarious conversation between Mr. Darcy and Mr. Thornton that Angie posted a while back. Now that I’ve seen the movie, I can appreciate it more. Which reminds me, I haven’t seen the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice! I’ve only seen the more modern movie adaptation and of course, I’ve read the book. So maybe I should watch it also before the weekend is out?

Look, I found this wallpaper from this site:

Oh Mr. Thornton! Doesn’t that make you more curious about the movie?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “North and South

  1. I think this mini-series is fast becoming a “If you haven’t seen this movie and you’re a woman, you must turn in your woman card now” kind of thing. I have never met any woman that hasn’t swooned when the name Richard Armitage is said. I watched Strike Back with him just recently and while the mini-series was kind of bad (the first two hours were ridiculous), it got better toward the end. I kept watching because really…he’s a beautiful, beautiful man! LOL!

    North and South was a great series. I actually liked it WAY better than the BBC Pride and Prejudice.

    • Hahaha I know what you mean! Kind of like reading Pride and Prejudice, right? It’s sort of a requirement now. This is the first time that I’ve watched Richard Armitage! I’m curious about his other movies because of this. Really, North and South is better than the BBC Pride and Prejudice? But I’ve heard so many good things about it.

  2. Swooned, Carin, swooned? Ha ha, me too! You know, he also was in the children’s series Robin Hood as the Sheriff’s help, a very unpleasant man dressed in black leather. I watched it with the kids. Well, you know, because they wanted to watch it. Eh, right?

    • Maybe I should look into Robin Hood as well. Although I don’t want to watch him being unpleasant.

    • Yes swooned! LOL! You know…I’ll get skewered for saying this, but he was the worst part about Robin Hood (and I wasn’t liking the long mullet hair he had–I’m a short hair fan for men). I thought this acting was um…not so good in Robin Hood. I loved the show though! It was great fun. Will Scarlet was one of my favorite characters (oh, and he’s going to be in HBO’s Game of Thrones–so excited about that!) as was the Sherriff.

      He was actually pretty good in Sky TV’s Strike Back (which I’ll admit I downloaded because it will never show in the U.S.–it made us look well, kind of not so nice so I think people would be put off by it. I could be wrong though. The first two episodes of Strike Back were painfully bad, but the last four were good.

      Other things I’ve seen him in: Vicar of Dibley (that show is hilarious) and a Shakespeare Retold (where I didn’t really notice him because he was vastly overshadowed by James McAvoy). Both shows are worth watching. They are really good!

  3. Ah, Chachic. Did you love it? And you haven’t watched the BBC Pride and Prejudice? Go. Watch. Now. I wish I could fly over and have a GNO with you.

    • Oh Holly, I loved it! I kept replaying the last scene over and over again, it still gets me every time. I just finished watching the first episode of the BBC Pride and Prejudice. I have a feeling I should have watched this before North and South because now I keep thinking that Richard Armitage looks better than Colin Firth.

      If only it was that easy to get together! Maybe we can have a virtual GNO one of these days? πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Bloggiesta Finish Line « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Isn’t North & South lovely? Richard Armitage is definitely swoon-worthy! I have watched that train station scene more times than can possibly be healthy. πŸ˜‰ And I love the ‘look back at me’ moment! I also really enjoy all of the scenes between Mr. Thornton & Nicholas Higgins, particularly their talk about how Higgins seemed unable to leave his brain at home. Such a great miniseries!

    I watched the first two seasons of Robin Hood just to see more of Richard Armitage. The show is cheesy and his character is vile, but I still continued watching it just for the brief glimpses of Mr. Armitage. If you can’t decide whether to watch it or not, this short clip from season two may help you make that decision —> Richard Armitage as Guy of Gisbourne.

    • The third season has his character come full circle in storyline. You learn why he is a horrible human being. Keep watching!

    • I keep watching that train station scene too! It really is lovely. πŸ™‚ I’m glad I found out about it from fellow book bloggers because no one else knows about it over here. I need to remedy that situation.

      Me too, I enjoyed the scenes between Mr. Thornton and Nicholas Higgins. What’s great about this movie is that it doesn’t solely focus on the love story. Thanks for the clip of Robin Hood, I will check it out!

  6. OH MR. THORNTON! Love, love this show. Need to re-watch.

    *runs to dvd player*

  7. You already know I’m thrilled you watched (and loved!) this one. πŸ™‚

    And you mentioned two of my favorite scenes. But I also adore the scene between Thornton and his mother during which he insists that Margaret could never want him. Oh, my goodness! His vulnerability in that scene slays me every time I watch it. *sigh*

    You should totally watch the episodes of Vicar of Dibley that he’s in – they are beyond fantastic! And don’t get me started on the videos in which he reads children’s books. Seriously. Don’t get me started. πŸ™‚

    • Aww poor Mr. Thornton, so sure that Margaret will turn him down. He really is a great character!

      Really? I’m going to look up that show, you’re the second person who’s mentioned it. He does readings of children’s books? Definitely have to look that up! Maybe another Richard Armitage fan post is due, Chelle? πŸ˜›

  8. Pingback: Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe by Hazel Osmond « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

