Chachic's Book Nook

The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols

13 Comments

When I love a book, I have this tendency to look up the author’s other works and see if it might interest me as well. A few weeks ago, I read and liked Melina Marchetta’s other books because I loved Jellicoe Road. Now, I’m on a quest to get my hands on Jennifer Echols’ books because I loved Going Too Far. I finished reading Major Crush a few days back (click on the link to see what I thought of it). I called Fully Booked to ask if they had any copies of The Ex Games. Luckily, there was one copy left in one of their branches so I went over there to pick it up.

Here’s the summary from Jennifer Echols’ website:

Hayden and Nick used to be a hot item, but their brief affair ended with a highly publicized break-up. Now the two are “just friends,” excluding the occasional flirtation.

When Hayden wins the girls’ division of a local snowboarding competition, Nick is unimpressed, claiming that Hayden wouldn’t have a chance against a guy. Hayden calls Nick’s bluff and challenges him to a head-to-head boarding contest. Their mutual friends quickly take sides, the girls on Hayden’s and the boys on Nick’s, making for an all-out battle of the sexes. This friendly competition is bound to get heated – and if they’re not careful, they might end up igniting some old flames.

When Hayden first moved to Colorado from Tennessee during seventh grade, Nick immediately asked her out. They went on a couple of dates but things ended badly for their tween love story. Four years later, Nick and Hayden still get on each other’s nerves by continually trading insults. When Hayden’s two best friends start dating Nick’s two best friends, it seems like the perfect idea for Hayden and Nick to get back together. However, they can’t seem to stop arguing and one argument leads to a bet that one of them can best the other in a boarding contest.

Hayden is amazing at snowboarding which is ironic because she never got over her fear of heights, which she has because of a rappelling accident. She needs to let go of that fear because her dream is to become a professional snowboarder. Nick is handsome, rich and seems to have everything but he’s never dated anyone seriously. When I think of Hayden and Nick, what immediately comes to mind are lines from a Katy Perry song: “We fight, we break up/ We kiss, we make up” because that sums up how they deal with each other. They don’t mean to fight but you know how it is when you feel strongly for someone, every little thing seems like a huge deal and you get easily affected. Watching them both blunder along while they figure out if they really want to be together is part of the fun.

I enjoyed reading this book, especially since it’s the first one that I’ve read about snowboarding. I remember that the fact that I’ve never seen snow surprised a couple of members in one of my Goodreads groups’ threads. I hope to see snow someday and I know it’ll be amazing if I could try snowboarding (if I’m brave enough to try it) but for now, I have to satisfy myself by living vicariously through Hayden.

Another satisfying rom com from Jennifer Echols and I look forward to reading more of her books. Endless Summer has already been released in the States but it’s not yet available here. I hope it gets here soon because I want to read it!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols

  1. I just love reading your reviews because you have such a different perspective on everything! Never seen snow? Wow. No public libraries? Whoa. I never know what you’re going to tell us next! And I love it!

    Thanks for the fun review of this one, I’ll have to check it out as well.

    • Michelle, yay I’m glad that you like reading my reviews! I do wonder if people would find the random bits that I mention interesting. I want to see snow! But I don’t know if I could stand the cold. The coldest temperature I experienced was December in California. Now I know that’s not cold compared to other areas but I was freezing. Even though I always complain about the heat during summer, I think I’m more suited to tropical weather. And yes, do read Jennifer Echols’ romantic comedies! 🙂

  2. This book was fun, wasn’t it? I like reading blogs like yours in which you can really see a person behind words.
    I don’t know if I ever told you but I am italian (born and raised in Milan but I moved abroad years ago) well some people in my hometown have never seen the sea and technically we are a peninsula so there you go 🙂

    • Wow, you’re Italian! Can I just say that I love Italian food? 🙂 Aww I feel for those people who’ve never seen the sea. That’s not a problem over here because our country is composed of more than 7,000 islands. Okay, now I feel better about not having seen snow. I’m glad there’s another reader out there who’s read this book!

  3. I have this book in my TBR pile, I keep meaning to read it but something else always catches my fancy first. I’m going to have to make this a priority to read soon. I really enjoy Echols work.

    Great review!

  4. Pingback: June 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Endless Summer by Jennifer Echols | YA, Y NOT?

  6. Pingback: Forget You by Jennifer Echols « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book involving snow boarding either. Nor have I ever done it…no doubt if I tried to do that or ski I would break either my legs or my neck within minutes. 🙂

    This book does sound cute though, along with the other one you reviewed! Since I loved Going Too Far and her other drama reads are letting me done, maybe these will take up some of the slack.

    • LOL I’m willing to try skiing or snow boarding at least once in my life just so I could say that I’ve tried it. Although I have no idea when that will happen since I have to travel to a place where there’s snow.

      Hope you get to read Jennifer Echols’ romcoms! Her romantic dramas have been disappointing lately and I keep hoping for something that’s just as good as Going Too Far.

  8. i just started reading this book,. Tnx for the review,. 🙂

    and i want to see snow, too.. Haha 🙂 i wish..

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

