Some Light Reading

I picked up both Summer in the City by Elizabeth Chandler and Major Crush by Jennifer Echols from Fully Booked the other day. I bought Summer in City because I loved At First Sight and I Do, both books written by Elizabeth Chandler for the Love Stories series. I collected that series back when I was in high school and I still have several copies of the books but my favorites are the ones by Elizabeth Chandler. I bought Major Crush because I’ve become a fan of Jennifer Echols ever since I read Going Too Far. I’m more than willing to read any of her books and I can’t wait to get my hands on Endless Summer.

Here’s the summary of Summer in the City from the Harper Collins website:

Athletic Jamie isn’t sure about spending the summer in the city with her romance–novel–writing mum. But when she meets irresistible Josh, Jamie realizes she could probably use all the romance advice she can get!

Lacrosse camp 9 a.m.–noon (can’t be late! “Coach” Josh will freak out)

Basketball camp 1:00–4:00 (so many screaming kids. . . )

Shopping with Mona 4:30 (finally a break)

Date with Andrew 7:30 (he’s so perfect. . . isn’t he?)

Elizabeth Chandler’s love stories are always fun to read because they revolve around two characters who are athletic and very good at their chosen sport. In Summer in the City, Jamie is a basketball player who got a scholarship to play in college but she decided to give lacrosse a try while spending summer vacation in Baltimore. Josh, an incoming sophomore and lacrosse team player in one of the colleges in the city, is the coach for her lacrosse summer camp. There was a lot of tension between these two. Even though they’re attracted to each other, they were both trying so hard not to fall in love. I loved the summer tone of the whole book. You can actually feel the heat and humidity as the characters down bottles of water after sports or drink iced tea while hanging out.

Because I re-read I Do and At First Sight countless times, I noticed a lot of similar scenes from those books and even a couple of identical lines in this one. Nonetheless, it’s still a really enjoyable read.

Here’s the summary of Major Crush from Jennifer Echols’ website:

Tired of the beauty-pageant circuit, Virginia Sauter tosses her tiara, pierces her nose, and auditions for the most unlikely of roles – drum major of the high school marching band.

Virginia wins, but is forced to share the title with Drew, whose family has held the position for generations. Sure, Drew is hot, but because of his superior attitude, he and Virginia are constantly arguing. That is, until they share more than just their half-time salute…

But as the drum majors’ heated competition turns to sizzling romance, explosive rumors threaten everything – including the band’s success. Love seemed to be a sure hit, but Virginia and Drew may be marching straight into disaster.

In Jennifer Echols’ website, Going Too Far falls under the label of “romantic drama” while Major Crush falls under “romantic comedy”. I would definitely agree with the comedy part because this book made me laugh out loud a couple of times. I haven’t read a lot of teen romance books with band members in them and it was interesting to know that there’s a lot going on in a school band. In a small town where the school band is a big thing, the most popular guy in school is the drum major (the leader of the band) and not a jock.

Virginia was previously a queen of beauty pageants but she decided to pierce her nose, run around barefoot all the time and pursue her passion for drums. She decided to run for drum major because a girl has never gotten that position. She didn’t expect to win or to share the glory with last year’s drum major, Drew. Even though Virginia has a huge crush on Drew, she doesn’t want to work with him and she knows Drew doesn’t want to share the role of drum major either. Forced to play nice with each other, sparks fly and they discover that there’s more to the other person than meets the eye.

There you have it, folks. Two light reads from teen romance veterans, which are perfect for the summer. Although technically, summer is already over here in the Philippines, I’d have to say we still qualify because we only have two seasons anyway: hot and hotter. There’s nothing like a bit of romance to make your summer sizzle. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Some Light Reading

  1. All of this Jennifer Echols is driving me crazy! I need to read something by her. She’s everywhere.
    I’ve heard of Summer In The City quite a few times. It sounds cute. 😀

    • Robby, you really should give Jennifer Echols’ books a try! 🙂 I’m sure you’ll enjoy them. Both of these books are fun reads so I recommend them both.

  2. Thanks for the review on the other Jennifer Echols book. I’ve only read Going too Far so far.

    And I get you on needing some light, summer reads: I just finished Faking it and Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Cruise. Both were funny and light. Just what I was looking for! I’ll have to try Elizabeth Chandler next, I’ve never read her stuff.

    • Endless Summer is already out so you can check that out. 🙂 I’m waiting for it to become available here. I’m going to start looking for Ex Games.

      Ooooh I haven’t read Faking It but I have a copy. It’s sort of the sequel to Welcome to Temptation, right? I should finish reading the Jennifer Crusie books that I have.

      • Yes Faking It is Davy’s story and WTT is his sister Sophie’s book. I really liked both – although WTT was a stronger ‘romance’ in my mind.

        I do wish Ms. Cruise will return to the family sometime and finish a a book for the youngest sister Amber.

        It’s so nice to find other Cruise fans. I’m a new convert myself, but soooo very much love her books!

      • Oooh I should read that soon! I should stop buying books and work on my current TBR pile.

        Me too, I wish she has another book for the last sibling. I’m pretty new Crusieholic as well. She’s been recommended several times in the past. I don’t know why it took me so long to try her books.

  3. Pingback: The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: June 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Forget You by Jennifer Echols « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

