Chachic's Book Nook

Of Blogs and Books

11 Comments

It’s June already! It’s funny because June marks the start of summer in the States but it’s the start of the rainy season here. It’s been a couple of months since I started this book blog so I thought I’d write about my book blogging experience so far. I’ve been blogging since 2003 but I only started to blog about books at the beginning of this year. My blog used to be in LiveJournal but I decided to move to WordPress a couple of months ago. WordPress has better blogging features for me and I like my current layout. I still cross-post some of my entries in case my LJ contacts want to read my post.

My biggest frustration has to be availability. We don’t have libraries here in the Philippines and I’ve never received an ARC for review although that’s probably because I’m still pretty new at this. And I keep saying that I don’t do this to get free ARCs, I just want to write about the books that I read. The books that I feature here were either bought or received as gifts. We do have several bookstores (I made a post about them before: bookstores in Manila) but it’s still hard to find certain books. Off the top of my head, some of the books that I want but are not available here are: the Kate Daniels books, Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken, Ellen Emerson White’s books, Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles, Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay, etc. I could go on but it might take me the whole day.

Sorry for the rant there, I realized that availability is not really a blogging problem but a reader problem. So on to more positive things! I already did a YA Thanksgiving post last April and I think it sums up all the positive things about book blogging but I still want to mention that I love being able to connect to other book lovers out there. πŸ™‚ I only have a handful of friends who love the same books that I do so it’s a lot of fun to find other people who feel the same way about the books that I like. My blogroll and Google Reader list has grown so much the past few months. I keep adding book bloggers that I want to follow. It’s a good thing I signed up for Twitter already because it makes things much easier. I don’t know why I put it off for so long.

I know I’ve said this before but I really love the YA community and how friendly everyone is – from the authors to the bloggers – and it’s such a great feeling to talk to them. It really is amazing how the internet can bring people from all over the world together. I also want to say that I’m thankful for my readers. I’m not very confident when it comes to my writing but I try to do my best whenever I post something. I know that I don’t have a lot of followers in my blog but I really appreciate those who read my reviews and those who comment. Comments make me happy. ♥ I also love it when someone reads a book that I recommended. I like persuading other people to read the books that I love (I call this “book pushing”) and this is one of the main reasons why I started a book blog. Whenever I recommend a book, I’ll just give the link of my review to that person so he/she can check it out.

So that’s it, that’s what I have for now. I’ll do another post if I think of more things to say. πŸ™‚ So far, I’m having fun and it looks like that will be the case for some time to come. What about you, care to share your blogging experience? Do you have comments or suggestions about my blog in general? Any particular thing that you’d like to see more of? I’d love to get feedback of any sort.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Of Blogs and Books

  1. Have you tried The Book Depostitory? http://www.bookdepository.com/
    They ship everywhere and FREE. It’s helped open my contests to international entries!
    Twitter is the best…..I get more referrals from twitter than anywhere else combined.
    Yes, the blog helps you find others – my husband can only listen so much about bks he has no interest in!! lol

    have a great day!!

  2. Googness, have you really only been blogging a few months? It seems much longer ago that I started reading your blog (in a good way!)

    And thank you for your frequent commenting at my blog–I agree that comments are very happy making!

  3. Hey Chachic,

    I just wanted to say you are doing a great job with your book blog with all the links and visuals. It makes your blog fun to read. Keep up the great work. πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Karen, the Book Depository doesn’t deliver to the Philippines. It really is too bad because I would love to order from them. I already sent them an email and they said they would look into it. I hope they include the Philippines soon! I know a lot of book lovers would appreciate it. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

    Charlotte, yes, it’s only been a few months. It doesn’t seem like it, right? Maybe because you’ve seen me around Sounis? I know that’s where I first found out about your blog. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your frequent comments too! I’m glad that you read my posts.

    Aww Ashley, thank you so much for the kind words! It always helps when I get feedback (more so if it’s positive!) and comments warm my heart. I’m glad that you think I’m doing a good job. πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Chachic. I would like to do your “We Love YA” questionaire. πŸ™‚

  6. Yay Ashley, I’ll send you an email about the “We Love YA” feature. πŸ™‚

  7. You’re doing wonderfully with your blog.:) Yours is the only one I check often because otherwise I would be spending the whole day reading all blogs and adding books on my wishlist.

    Keep the recommendations coming! I like your taste in books and so far have not been disappointed with any of your recommendations.:)

  8. Aww thanks Celina! I really appreciate that you always read my blogs and you follow my recommendations. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like the books that I push you to read! I really enjoy discussing the books that we read.

  9. It’s amazing that I never thought that there might not be free public libraries in other parts of the world. That truly breaks my heart for you. Seriously. But please know that I love stopping by your blog – I think we have similar tastes – to see what you are reading next. Thanks for becoming one of my ‘blogging buddies’ – this is the best group around!

  10. Michelle, I’m so glad you’re one of my blogging buddies too! Thank you so much for always dropping by and leaving comments. I remember that you used to check out my blog even when it was still in LiveJournal. As for not having free public libraries, it really is sad. But I am grateful that I have a job and I can afford to get the books that I want.

  11. Pingback: Availability and Such « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

