Chachic's Book Nook

Coron in Lomo

20 Comments

This another picture-heavy post. I got my films processed the other day and I thought I’d share some of my favorite shots from the set. For non-lomo pictures of Coron, please click here. To those who don’t know, lomography (lomo for short) is photography using point and shoot film toy cameras. Here’s a little background info about lomo from lomography.com:

It was in the early 1990s when two students in Vienna, Austria, discovered a small enigmatic Russian camera, the Lomo Kompakt Automat, and started a new style of artistic experimental photography of unorthodox snapshots. In the blink of an eye the Lomographic message spread around the planet and people from North to South were screaming for Lomo LC-A’s. So they hopped on a plane, flew to St. Petersburg and negotiated a contract for the worldwide distribution of this fantastic little camera.

Click on any of the pictures below to see larger images.

Here’s the view from my seat in the plane (Camera: Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim, Film: Fuji Sensia):

The cross on top of Mt. Tapyas, which was totally worth the more than 700 steps we took to get there (Camera: Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim, Film: Fuji Sensia):

The next one is a shot of the beach in Calumbayan Island (Camera: Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim, Film: Fuji Velvia). I like the effect of the branches of the trees and the shadows that they cast:

And since I loved Malcapuya Island, here are two pictures of that place. First one was taken using my Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim with a Kodak Elitechrome film and the other was taken using my Fisheye2 and a Fuji Sensia film.

Hope you like these shots! Comments are always welcome. 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Coron in Lomo

  1. Those are some pretty epic clouds!!

  2. I wish I were on that beach right now, instead of home with a cold in a cold and draughty house…

  3. These are great lomo photos! I agree with you on the branch effect…love it!

    • These are only my favorites. I actually have a lot because I finished off five rolls during the trip. Maybe I can post some of them later on when I’m feeling nostalgic. 😛

  4. Beautiful photos! I am not familiar with lomo photography, but I love the way you’ve captured the texture of the clouds. And that beach-through-branches pic makes me long to go on a vacation. 🙂

    • Basically, lomography is just photography using lomo cameras (toy film cameras) and the results are vintage-looking pictures. The picture with the branches is one of my favorites! I was trying to capture the shadows of the branches and I’m glad that it turned out so well. 🙂

  5. Nice pics! Just had my first roll of film taken with my Holga developed. They’re nice except for a few black spots on every picture. I think it’s ’cause the film was damaged somehow in the time between taking the pictures and having them actually developed. 😦 Oh well.

    • Hi Kri! I have a Holga as well but I don’t use it anymore because it’s harder to find 120mm film and I think it’s more difficult to use compared to the Fisheye2 and Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim. Did you upload your pictures somewhere? 🙂 I’d like to check them out.

  6. Hey. Yeah it’s difficult nga to find 120mm film. The Vivitar UWS pics are really nice. Maybe I should buy one too. Haha. Re uploading, no actually, not yet. I’m still looking out for the cheapest place to have them developed, scanned and also printed. Where do you have your film developed?

    • Yeah, the Vivitar pics are really pretty! And it’s not as expensive as the other lomo cameras. I think it’s currently priced at around P1,600? But the name is different. It’s already called Super Fat Lens and manufactured by Superheadz. Sayang nga because now they have a variety of colors – black, white, yellow, pink, blue – and mine’s just the plain silver from before. I’m tempted to get one!

      All my films are scanned to CD at Digiprint (http://www.digiprint.com.ph/), I only have a handful of prints. Most of my friends have their films processed their too because that’s the only store we know that does film to CD. Good luck with your pictures! 🙂

  7. chachic, i like your shots! Coron is one of the most beautiful places i’ve been to in the our country. 🙂

    Vivitar UWS is really a great camera (and cheap too) for film lovers. 🙂 just add film and click away!

    • Thanks! I know, I agree. Coron is really beautiful. I’d like to go back there someday!

      And yes, I love my Viv! It takes great shots! I usually use just the Viv and my Fisheye2. I also have a Holga 120CFN but it’s so hard to get 120mm films so I don’t use it anymore.

  8. Pingback: Not Only Books | Emily and Her Little Pink Notes

  9. Pingback: Ateneo In Lomo « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Zambales in Lomo « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Visiting here from your other post! Coron! ❤ One of my favorite places in the Philippines!

  12. Pingback: Beach Lomo Shots « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

