Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve been curious about Shiver ever since I finished reading Lament and Ballad. I’ve heard mixed reviews about these books. Some say that Shiver is better than the faerie books but others say that Lament and Ballad are better. I decided to give it a try and see for myself.

Here’s the summary from Maggie Stiefvater’s website:

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolfβ€”her wolfβ€”is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay humanβ€”or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

I have to say that the cover for this book is just beautiful. Maggie Stiefvater has been lucky in the cover department. Her three books have simple covers which are nonetheless lovely and fit the content of each book. I’m sure there are people out there who bought her books based on those covers. I was in the middle of reading another book for one of my Goodreads groups’ monthly discussions when I checked out Shiver. I was only supposed to read a couple of chapters to get a feel of the book but the story sucked me right in and I kept reading because I wanted to know what happens next and surprise surprise, I finished the whole book. If I were asked to compare this with Lament and Ballad, I would have to say that I liked both Shiver and Lament better than Ballad. I’m starting to recognize Maggie Stiefvater’s brand of writing. Her books are mostly bittersweet with a lot of longing and wanting and with characters that are trying to make the most of the present because they don’t know what the future will hold.

I remember my cousin told me to read Shiver because “it’s like Twilight but better and with werewolves.” I can see where she’s coming from because at its core, Shiver is a love story. Grace and Sam alternate in narrating the story. Grace is very independent and she takes care of herself because her parents are absent-minded people, who don’t know how to take care of their child. Sam is sweet, sensitive and poetic. He loves to think in terms of song lyrics and he even made a song about Grace. I also like that under each chapter heading, the temperature is noted because it’s relevant to the story – Sam’s transformation is based on temperature. I’m a sucker for love stories and I really enjoyed reading Shiver. My favorite scene was when Sam and Grace were in the candy store! I would love to go to a store like that. I don’t think we have anything like that here. Plus they ordered hot chocolate laced with mint, which is my absolute favorite coffee shop drink. A romantic scene inside a store full of sweets, what’s not to like?

I recommend this book for urban fantasy or paranormal fans out there, I’m not really sure about the distinction. I’m definite going to read Linger but I liked where Shiver ended so I’m not in any hurry to read it. Now I can go back to the book that I was originally reading.

Here’s a lovely book trailer also available from Maggie Stiefvater’s website:

20 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Nooooo! I shouldn’t have read this before my planned trip to Fully Booked tomorrow.:( I will need to exercise a lot of restraint tomorrow!

    I’ve started Lament though, so maybe I will buy this if I like Lament.

    • Ooops, sorry about that! I don’t know if you’ll like it though. Do you like action in your books? Because I remember someone from Goodreads saying that she didn’t like Shiver because there wasn’t a lot of action in it. It’s a lot more quiet than Lament or Ballad. Read Lament first before you decide to get this! There’s no hurry naman because it’s available everywhere. πŸ™‚

      • Hmmm, of course I like action, but I don’t need it to enjoy a book.:)

        Of course, you’re right that Shiver is available everywhere. It’s just tempting with the 20% off promo.:)

      • I know! Everything is tempting with the 20% discount! You just want to grab as many books as you can. Good luck in trying to decide what to get tomorrow. πŸ™‚ And thanks in advance for picking up Jovah’s Angel for me.

  2. She does get lucky with her covers indeed. They are just perfect – and I loved the temp at each chapter. Although for some reason, this one didn’t stand out to me as much as Ballad (which was my favorite) – but I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    • Really? That’s funny because I liked both Lament and Shiver than Ballad. I think mostly because I’m not a huge fan of love triangles and Dee was pretty annoying in Ballad.

  3. Ah, the candy store….definitely my favorite scene as well. I’m glad you liked it! I agree about the ending. Thought it was just great as is. But I’ll read LINGER anyway. Cause I love Maggie’s writing.

    • It’s a great ending! I think it’s one those endings that will stay with you for a while. Me too, I’m still planning to read Linger because I’ve become a fan of Maggie’s writing. I hope she write more books soon!

  4. I do love the cover for this and Linger. I’m not a fan of paranormal books, but I’m so interested in these. Maybe…maybe maybe. I probably will. :]

    • You should definitely try reading one of Maggie Stiefvater’s books. πŸ™‚ I gave Holly Black, Cassandra Clare and Melissa Marr all a try and Maggie’s books are the best for me.

  5. Pingback: April 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

    • Hey, you remembered your WordPress login? πŸ˜›

      Yes, this book is pretty popular because it’s being recommended to Twilight fans. I enjoyed reading this as well as Maggie Stiefvater’s other books so maybe you should check it out too.

  6. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: Linger by Maggie Stiefvater « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. I am looking forward to reading this. Rikki from The Bookkeeper and I are doing a mini read-a-long of it in November. I came to look to see if you had read it and of course you had! πŸ˜› I love your review. Makes me more excited to read it!

    • Carin, I’m glad you’re going to read this one! Most paranormal YA books tend to feel the same but I really liked this one. I haven’t read the sequel though because I liked where this one ended and they say that the sequel ends on a cliffhanger so maybe I’ll wait for the third one before I read it.

  8. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  9. Pingback: Want Books: The Scorpio Races « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Shiver | One More Page

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

